Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis tears up the music world in `56
Eighteen months after bursting into the music world with "That's All Right," Elvis moved from the indie Sun label to the major leagues of RCA. A month-and-a-half later, in January 1956, he entered the a Nashville studio and began a year that included two chart-topping albums (Elvis Presley and Elvis), three chart-topping singles (five, if you include the Country chart),...
Published on September 28, 2011 by hyperbolium

versus
27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHERE IS THE DVD OF ALL 6 "JIMMY & TOMMY DORSEY STAGE SHOW" PERFORMANCES?
RCA continues to release CD after CD of Elvis Presley's earliest, AND BEST, recordings, but they have failed to release remastered video of all six of his appearances on "The Jimmy & Tommy Dorsey Stage Show" which pre-dated all the RCA recordings, and which are more exciting than the Ed Sullivan Beatles performances. They were already stars when they appeared on Ed...
Published on October 27, 2011 by Arthur Mensor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis tears up the music world in `56, September 28, 2011
By 
This review is from: Young Man With the Big Beat (Audio CD)
Eighteen months after bursting into the music world with "That's All Right," Elvis moved from the indie Sun label to the major leagues of RCA. A month-and-a-half later, in January 1956, he entered the a Nashville studio and began a year that included two chart-topping albums (Elvis Presley and Elvis), three chart-topping singles (five, if you include the Country chart), several more top-fives and fifteen total chart entries among two dozen singles. That's in addition to live and television performances that made him the most famous person in the world. Five decades later, according to RCA, he remains the best-selling artist of all time, with over a billion records sold. He's certainly among the most reissued, but with a catalog as lengthy and rich as Elvis Presley's, it's rewarding to view it from multiple angles.

RCA/Legacy's 5-CD set focuses solely on the transformative year of 1956, collecting its the first two discs the thirty-nine master recordings Elvis issued that year. The original track lists of Elvis Presley (which combines seven sides cut expressly for RCA and five previously cut for Sun) and Elvis (cut in three September days in Hollywood) start discs one and two, respectively. Each of these discs is filled out with non-LP singles, B-sides and EP tracks. Elvis minted a lot of gold in `56, including the chart-topping hits "Heartbreak Hotel," "Don't Be Cruel," and "Love Me Tender," the iconic "Blue Suede Shoes," "Hound Dog," and "Love Me," lower-charting treats "Money Honey" and "Paralyzed," and non-charting sides that include a stellar rockabilly cover of Ray Charles' "I Got a Woman" and the gospel-styled "We're Gonna Move." The music just poured out of Elvis and his combo, their roots still intact and raw, and Elvis' magic in full-bloom on the ballads.

The set's third disc combines live material from the last night of Elvis' two-week run at the Frontier Hotel in Las Vegas, a May performance in Little Rock, Arkansas, and ten previously unreleased tracks from a December concert in Shreveport, Louisiana. Elvis gave it his best in Las Vegas, but by closing night his funny, witty, sarcastic and self-deprecating stage patter ("we got a few little songs we'd like to do for you, we have on record, in our style of singing, if you wanna call it singing") reflected the lukewarm reception he'd received from the middle-aged audience. The May and December dates find Elvis greeted by screaming fans, and he returns the favor with fevered rock `n' roll. The tapes are all quite listenable, though the Little Rock show is a bit rough in spots, and the Shreveport show a bit muffled. Shreveport had been instrumental in launching Elvis with his appearances on the Louisiana Hayride, and his bond with the city and its fans is evident.

Disc four opens with outtakes of "I Got a Woman," "Heartbreak Hotel," "I'm Counting on You" and "I Was the One," from his first Nashville session. In addition to alternate versions of four great Elvis tracks, listeners get to hear how fresh Presley and his band remained from take to take. The remainder of the disc becomes the province of collectors and completists as it unspools the February 3rd sessions for "Lawdy, Miss Clawdy" and "Shake, Rattle and Roll." In addition to multiple takes of each tune, you get bits of studio chatter, moments of vocal rehearsal and instrumental noodling. The disc concludes with a half-hour interview conducted by Robert Brown at New York City's Warwick Hotel. Brown introduces fans to Elvis by discussing his career, hobbies, favorite singers (Sonny James, Frank Sinatra, Mario Lanza), current films ("Helen of Troy," "The Man with the Golden Arm," and "Picnic"), foods and clothes. Elvis comes across as thoughtful, humble and exceedingly thankful for his success.

The fifth disc closes the set with an additional hour of spoken material, including an interview session with TV Guide, an interview of Colonel Tom Parker, the spoken-word "The Truth About Me" (which was originally included in Teen Parade magazine, and appears to explain Elvis to both his growing teenage audience and their parents), an interview recorded on the film set of Love Me Tender, and a pair of ads for RCA record players. Elvis handles tough questions that recount critical press accounts of his talent and performances, politely showing confidence in himself and his fans. He doesn't seek to explain or excuse his music or dancing, but notes that he and his audience share an understanding and appreciation of what's passing between them.

The 12"-square box set includes an 80-page book stuffed with photos and ephemera (ticket stubs, record company memos, fan letters, record charts, magazine covers, etc.), a thorough discography and sessionography of 1956, and is highlighted by a day-by-day chronology of Elvis' recording dates, concerts, television appearances and personal events throughout the year. The box also includes reproduction 8 x 10 photos, posters and a concert ticket stub. For those only interested in the core master recordings, the first two discs of this set (minus, as Steve Manassas points out, three tracks from the Love Me Tender EP: "Let Me," "Poor Boy" and "We're Gonna Move") are being released separately as the Elvis Presley: The Legacy Edition. This two CD set includes Elvis' first two albums, and nearly all the non-LP A's, B's and EP tracks included here. [©2011 hyperbolium dot com]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another terrific box set, September 29, 2011
By 
steve_manassas (Manassas, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Young Man With the Big Beat (Audio CD)
The previous reviewer stole my thunder, although I would like to make a couple of corrections: the Elvis Presley: Legacy Edition does not contain the last three tracks from the LOVE ME TENDER EP: "Let Me," "Poor Boy," and "We're Gonna Move." Otherwise, both sets have the same track listing for the master recordings. Note to Amazon: your track listing for the Legacy Edition omits "Blue Moon," which was on the original album and is on the new CD; this needs to be corrected. UPDATE: It has been.)

Even if you own this material on other collections (such as The King of Rock 'n' Roll: The Complete 50's Masters), it's nice to have all of the material from the King's first big year in one collection, including the first two albums in their original running order (The King of Rock 'n' Roll: The Complete 50's Masters presented the material in the order that it was recorded), plus live recordings, studio outtakes, and interviews that were not on the former set. There are even pictures of some of Elvis' UK and other foreign releases that appeared on EMI's His Master's Voice (HMV) imprint, which had a licensing agreement with RCA that dated back to the earliest days of the Gramophone Company, Ltd. (which merged with the Columbia Graphophone Company, the former UK subsidiary of the U.S. Columbia, to form Electrical and Musical Industries, Ltd. (EMI) in 1931, and the Victor Talking Machine Company (which merged with the Radio Corporation of America (RCA) in 1929). In 1957, RCA terminated the EMI/HMV agreement and set up the UK RCA Victor label, which was distributed by UK Decca until going independent in 1971, was subsequently sold to BMG (after the GE/RCA merger) in 1986, and then merged with Sony in 2004. The first Elvis release on the new RCA UK label was a 10-inch vinyl version of the Loving You soundtrack album. Not that EMI bureaucrats cared about losing HMV and Elvis; the company had purchased Capitol Records by then.

Not much else I can add. This set looks and sounds really great. What will Legacy come up with next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're a fan you already own this...or you will., February 1, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Young Man With the Big Beat (Audio CD)
Casual fans would be content with the box sets such as the complete 50's, 60's and 70's. By casual I mean those who love the music but aren't necessarily a collector. Superficial fans will most likely by the 30#1 hits and 2nd to none and be happy. But, boy look what they are missing out on. Anyone who knows me knows I love music. When I die, I'd love to leave my collection to someone who appreciates music as much as I do and will add to it. My music represents my life, my tastes and everything I love. Elvis has always been the one thing mostly everyone in my family could have in common, we grew up listening to Elvis. When he died, it was like losing a family member. That being said, I am obviously biased towards his music, but that doesn't mean I'm an easy sell. This collection impresses me. Sure we may have some or most of this music on different compilations. Sure we do. But, do we have everything from that year compiled in one place showcasing the birth of not only Rock but of the most celebrated artist of our time? or any time for that matter? I love this as it is a time capsule. Taking one year of the man's life and distilling it down to the albums, the singles and the photos. We get to live that year with him. Given details of all the major steps in his blossoming career. Many today see so many artist make it big, have huge record sales and then die off, they have never really been witness to the rise of a true star with staying power. He had real talent and charisma and a stage presence that is second to none. aside from maybe Prince, who nowadays is known for their live shows? who's shows consistently sell out? and how many of them can actually perform with such a high level of energy and NOT lip sync? No one. That is why 56 years later I'm writing this review on a collection of his work of that year. I always love the little extras. I remember buying a four pack of elvis dvds in a tin that looked like a movie film cannister and I loved how it had the extra photos that came with it. Now we get photos, a book, interviews and all sorts of other goodies. It seems that Elvis' vault is filled with so much material that things like this will probably be coming out forever. I do not mind the added tracks of alternate takes. I love hearing the background chatter, the conversations and the human interaction in between and during takes. it's an audio version of behind-the-scenes. When I watch the movies, knowing how the scene was constructed doesn't make the movie magic disappear it just makes it more interesting. I can sit and hear a song and love it, then listen to the alternate take, and see more closely all of the work and thoughts that went into making it. It makes it more real to me. And Elvis was great at interviews as well, so hearing him talk about music is great. I get tired of people saying what Elvis might have said or thought I'd rather hear it from him. And this collection is the best way to do that. It's like you get a window into the past, a look into one really powerful year in the birth of rock n' roll. To paraphrase my friend's son, he "Owned it". This will be a definite centerpiece for any music collection. It's about time we get back to talking about music and showing/sharing it with friends (face to face) rather than downloading it. Invite friends over, listen to it together. Some of my most happiest memories in my life revolves around moments where I was sharing music with friends or family. And this is definitely something others will find uniquely interesting and musically exhillerating. So for those of you on the fence, it's worth every penny. Fortunately for me it did go down in price since it first came out (though I still would have bought it, just later). But I am sure you'll find something in this that you'll love too. Remember some of the stuff may be be available in different, cheaper ways, but this is a time capsule of one terrific year in one of the most amazing careers that still ressonates today. Pick it up. You won't be disappointed. (p.s. I didn't want to review the song collection, as it's basically everything released for the whole year, so it's not missing anything, and second if you are reading this you know most of the songs already and if you don't, well if you love Elvis' music in any way shape or form, then this music will impress you, and it's worth listening to the music itself rather than listening to me giving too many details as I love this music, and I really can't say anything bad about the music here)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHERE IS THE DVD OF ALL 6 "JIMMY & TOMMY DORSEY STAGE SHOW" PERFORMANCES?, October 27, 2011
By 
This review is from: Young Man With the Big Beat (Audio CD)
RCA continues to release CD after CD of Elvis Presley's earliest, AND BEST, recordings, but they have failed to release remastered video of all six of his appearances on "The Jimmy & Tommy Dorsey Stage Show" which pre-dated all the RCA recordings, and which are more exciting than the Ed Sullivan Beatles performances. They were already stars when they appeared on Ed Sullivan's show.

Elvis was only a rising star, and only in the rural south where he had performed, when Jimmy & Tommy Dorsey signed him up for a then unheard of 6 weekly performances for an unknown celebrity. Anyone who has seen those performances, and I saw them LIVE, and I have a bootleg DVD of them, can see the rise of this unbelievable performer with each successive performance. It is unbelievable what happens between the first and the sixth shows.

I know RCA has the material, about 3 or 4 of the performances, which total 12 songs over the six week period, on their 'Elvis Greatest Performances" VHS, laser disc, and DVD sets over the year.

It has now been fifty-five (55) years since those performances. Jackie Gleason Enterprises, who produced and owned the "Stage Show" programs, may own the original masters, but if someone doesn't release them soon, their retail worth diminishes every single year with people like me, who saw those shows live and remember the far better early Elvis compared to his cookie cutter 60's years and then the disappointing 70's, dying off.

RCA - Jackie Gleason Enterprises: GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER, RELEASE THIS DVD AND MAKE YOUR MONEY WHILE YOU STILL CAN AND LET THE REST OF US STILL ALIVE WHO KNEW ABOUT ELVIS DURING THOSE YEARS SEE A DECENT REMASTERED DVD OF THOSE PERFORMANCES.

Why do I have to be the one to tell them this?????????????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Box Set from Elvis!!, September 27, 2011
By 
This review is from: Young Man With the Big Beat (Audio CD)
This is truly a compact time capsule which gives the listener an opportunity to follow one of the most important years of Elvis' career step by step, moment by moment. Every song recorded in 1956 + outtakes, interviews, and live cuts. It's as close as you could get to being there in person. Beautiful artwork along with recreations of concert posters, adds, tickets, etc make this collection a submersive and comprehensive experience that will delight the owner for many years to come. You can feel good about buying this!! WOW! I hope they continue to make these sets for The King!

**These tracks are re-mastered and cleaned up by audio engineer Vic Anesini***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS 1956 SUPER STARDOM.BOX SET, January 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Young Man With the Big Beat (Audio CD)
Well I won't bore you of what has been written already about this box set. I'll make it short and sweet. I was hesitant to get this box set, having so many Elvis other releases that contain material on this box set. Finally, gave in and bought it. I must say it is truly a great package for the Elvis fan. 1956 captured with Elvises first two 1956 album releases and all his single releases for 1956. Outakes which can be overkill to some, to me listening to these outakes I got a kick out of hearing the studio chatter during these remarkable sessions, it is like being their. Interviews galore, truly great packaging, Linear notes, this box set has been nothing but a listening pleasure. Listening through the 5 cds,I actually got what this Box set was trying to accomplish to the listener, a trip through Elvis breakthrough year 1956. Truly great remastering.... Sony Legacy gives the King 1956 a truly great release Enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in recording session with Elvis the king of rock and roll, October 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this is Elvis the king what a way to go behind the scenesI love listening to this s*** it's like being in the session with Elvis thanks great music great one great piece of work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST!!!, December 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Young Man With the Big Beat (Audio CD)
As an Elvis fan I was so eager to get this and let me tell you that it lived up to all my expectations. It is a must for any fan of music. Elvis was remarkable and listening to this you get more of an understanding on why he is still as big as he is. The man was so talented and for being so young so polished. Think about what goes into today's young talent, Elvis didn't have anyone dressing him, choosing his sound, teaching him how to move, it all came from HIM.. This man was brilliant beyond belief. I will be an Elvis fan/fanatic until I die...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He loved it! A must have for any Elvis fan, August 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Young Man With the Big Beat (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift for a family member. He loved it! A must have for any Elvis fan! This is the King at his very best! The Elvis we all should remember!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great to have these recordings!!, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Young Man With the Big Beat (Audio CD)
lp sized packaging is ok; but bmg isn't consistent in their packaging of ELVIS product!!! NOT EASY; for buyer to store/shelve; so many different size ELVIS RELEASES!!!!! THIS IS ALSO TRUE OF THE OTHER COMPANIES RELEASING ELVIS MUSIC; & ALSO BOOKS; WE DON'T NEED ALL THESE DIFFERENT SIZED BOOKS TO CONTEND WITH!!! THERE SHOULD BE SOME STANDARDS ADHERED TO!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Young Man With the Big Beat
Young Man With the Big Beat by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.