Your Kingdom Come [+digital booklet]

January 5, 2010 | Format: MP3

Also available in CD Format
Song Title
Digital Booklet: Your Kingdom Come
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: January 1, 2010
  • Release Date: January 5, 2010
  • Label: Centricity Music (CEY)
  • Copyright: (C) 2010 Centricity Music
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:13:50
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B003147PBY
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #116,019 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 9 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Andrew R. Allen on March 9, 2010
Format: MP3 Music
Two things stand out in listening to Matt Papa's album "Your Kingdom Come." One, that he walks closely with God and two, that he knows and reads the Bible, a lot. The songs proclaim the attributes, mysteries, and praises of God as well as weaving Biblical truths throughout (ex:"Every Knee Will Bow"). The overarching musical style is guitar driven rock with a tasteful dose of piano in the mix.

Some bands or musicians use formulaic musical techniques but Papa has a plethora of interesting things going on musically (listen closely and you may hear a harpsichord on one song). The bulk of the album is filled with songs you can enjoy like a juicy steak, both flavorful and something to chew on.

One album theme is the missional call to go out to the world sharing Christ's love heard in: "Your Kingdom Come," "To the Least of These," and "Here am I, Send Me."

"Hallelujah, Our God Reigns" is a rocking declaration of God's holiness and attributes as if a rock band of angels got together and rocked the praises straight from Revelation. The radio single and one of my personal favorites on the album is "Open Hands" which shares of learning to live a surrendered and unselfish life with open hands so as to tell the world of how Jesus loves, died, and sets us free.

"God of Grace" celebrates God's provision for people in all sorts of life circumstances and His sacrifice and love for us as we are. The song "You Can Do Anything" is primarily in the pop punk genre but is the only song on the album in performed in this style. "Hymn in C" is a great declaration of Christ's love and sacrifice for us and the transformation that occurs because of a relationship with Him. "Alive" has a Christmas feel to it reminiscent of Paul McCartney's "Wonderful Christmastime.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kevin Davis TOP 1000 REVIEWER on August 25, 2009
Format: MP3 Music
As an artist who isn't interested in simply making music for music's sake, Matt Papa writes songs that center around God's word and doesn't consider his job done until the lyrics have taken permanent residence in a listener's head. "If you can write a song that's full of God's word, and that song gets in someone's head, that's a powerful thing," Papa says. "I often don't remember a sermon I heard yesterday, let along a year ago. But with songs, there's a hook, and people remember it. So that's why I want to write about Scripture. I don't want to waste time."

Staying right on point, the call to live intentionally is a theme that resonates deeply through the songs of Papa's new Centricity Music release, "Your Kingdom Come". First song "Hallelujah, Our God Reigns" is one of my favorite songs of the year and it grabs your attention immediately with its piano intro and rock beat. The song is epic and has the best guitar riff I've heard in a long time. Matt said he wrote the guitar part and wanted to find a way to sing the words of Revelation 19, "All Glory and honor be unto the Lamb, Forever and ever and ever, Amen". Check out the song and you'll be hooked. Title song "Your Kingdom Come" keeps the praise and worship going in the style of worship leaders Matt Redman, David Crowder and Delirious?.

The idea of being flexible and available to do whatever God calls us to do is what inspired the album's central thesis and first single, "Open Hands". "You have to live before God with open hands. We may have our plans and ideas, but at any moment, Christians, unlike the world, have to be ready to drop anything and totally do something else if God is calling us to," Papa says. Some other highlights for me on the album are "Trinity" and "Here Am I, Send Me.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: MP3 Music
On Your Kingdom Come Matt Papa is bold in every way. He incorporates Scripture to declare who God is and challenge believers. He touches on social justice issues, but goes further in songs like "Here Am I, Send Me," reminding listeners that acts of compassion are not enough. "The world must hear the Gospel," he says. "They must hear the name of Jesus. And we, the Church, must surrender all we have and go tell them!" He counts his recent marriage to Lauren, who "has always had a big heart for missions," as a major influence.

And if you are challenging people to look beyond themselves to a world in need, it doesn't hurt to have fast and furious guitars adding punch. Whether the speed is fast or mid-tempo, the style brings to mind Delirious, although a few songs are enlivened by a punk influence. Think Relient K leading the song portion of a church service. This is raw and raucous modern worship that can also be melodious. It's broken-up by a few brief but delightful acoustic songs. The production and execution make this a pleasure provided you can handle sound and lyrics that are aggressive.

Papa's words challenge. "Where is the Difference" and "Woe to You" are confrontational, somewhat similar in style to Derek Webb and the late Keith Green. "Open Hands," a song of surrender, which also happens to be the first single, is more along the lines of Jason Gray in content and sound.

If you like modern worship, and you want something that is a little edgier than the norm, this is worth checking out.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category