Industrial Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Ty Dolla Sign egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now HTL

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on November 13, 2007
This book is right up there with A Girlfriend's Guide to Pregnancy. Rather than presenting panicked, or patronizing, information, the authors present useful information to the newly pregnant woman. It fills a void that What to Expect and all the other pregnancy books try so hard to gloss over: you don't have to become the Virgin Mary once you're expecting. Those crazy dreams and fantasies don't make you a terrible mother and (if you're healthy) an orgasm isn't the end of the world!

The authors of this book play guides to moms- and dads- to-be, reminding her of her inherent sexuality (she must be or she wouldn't have gotten pregnant). This primarily serves as a way to allow women and men to accept sexual feelings during pregnancy-if you're healthy enough for sex and you're mind is on it, why not. And for those with partners not so willing to oblige, there's plenty of information for a woman going solo. In a world where everything must be monitored during a pregnancy, it's nice to essentially be given permission to have the thoughts, ideas, and fantasies that sometimes spring up in pregnancy (and came as a surprise to me during mine).

I'm assuming that anyone willing to get this book is open-minded to begin with, but it should be pretty obvious that this book isn't for the prudish. Oh, an constantly using words like hot mama, prego, and the like got fairly old, and the authors aren't always as funny as they'd like to be. But given the complete lack of information out there (or at least, the lack I noticed 5 years ago when I was pregnant), this is a great book. And, on the plus side, they don't constantly couch what they're writing with "if you feel up to it," or "if your doctor says it's OK" or "if you're comfortable with it," or constantly saying different forms of spouse, husband, girlfriend, etc. That can get old quickly. They cover that in the first chapter and just have fun the rest of the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on February 12, 2008
Your Orgasmic Pregnancy was written with several goals in mind: first, to dispel the socially constructed notion that pregnancy and sex are mutually exclusive; and second, to explain the various forms such sex can take. The book adopts a light, informal tone that will keep it accessible to the lay reader, but doesn't shirk on providing factual information. The authors deserve kudos for stressing that there is nothing inherently wrong with sexuality during one's pregnancy (assuming the absence of medical complications), that it is important to be receptive to the various ways in which one's changing body can enhance or alter one's sexual tastes and experience of the act itself, that there are many ways to achieve satisfaction aside from vaginal intercourse, and the importance of constant communication with one's partner throughout. They also take pains to make sure that the information they provide is gender-neutral so that both hetero- and homosexual expecting couples can make use of its content. Cavallucci and Fulbright are to be commended for repeatedly stressing the need to take care of one's own wants and desires, not just the health of baby(-to-be), in order to ensure the wellbeing of all involved in the pregnancy.

I found the information accessible and useful (although the authors sometimes went overboard on the buddy-buddy tone, and in one section the suggestions for erotic dialogue were more ridiculous than sexy). The intimacy-positive tone should go a long way toward helping the reader to maintain a positive attitude toward her pregnancy in general and sex life in particular, making this addition to the books-for-expecting-mothers literature well worth any future family's time.

Please note: I have chosen to give this title three stars *only* because I cannot comment on the usefulness of the illustrations, as they were not included in my advanced reader's copy. I may revise my rating once I see the finished product.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 19, 2012
This was a nice book to read through. Had I not been on my third pregnancy, it would've had some good information. As it was, everything in the book was something I had already dealt with and figured out in my prior pregnancies. I recommend it for first timers, not so much if you have been pregnant in the past.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 26, 2013
Finally- a hip book about pregnancy!!! Stay and feel sexy. It's an easy read- totally accessible and makes me so happy they wrote it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
I like this little book. it is short and very easy to read. it feels as if you and your girls are having a night in with wine and chick flicks as they talk to you about how to keep the sexy in your life while knocked up. Despite the overuse of words like hot mama and prego this book does a good job of taking about what you can do and what your partner can do to not let the pregnancy make you feel ugly. For that reason alone it is worth the look. It also has different sexual positions to try for each trimester and what to do during postpartum sex too. Try'll like.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
This is an amazing book! Besides the great and helpful advices that I found while reading it, I also understood that it's not only amazing to be pregnant, but it is also ok to find yourself sexy, embrace your changes and " share it in the steamy fun between the sheets". I highly recommend this book for all the pregnant ladies or for the ones that are getting ready for it. Loved it!! Great job!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 3, 2012
Too often, our society tends to ignore the sexuality of pregnant women. For some reason, we all seem to want to pretend that sexy, sensual ladies will suddenly stop craving physical intimacy for nine months! But for those of us who know that being pregnant doesn't stop the sex drive (it may even enhance it!), Your Orgasmic Pregnancy provides an entertaining and educational guide to having great sex even with a bun in the oven.

Your Orgasmic Pregnancy is an upbeat and engaging read
At about 175 pages paperback, Your Orgasmic Pregnancy isn't an intimidating medical volume that is set on giving you all the technical details of childbirth. Instead, this engaging and quick-reading book gives a great relational look at how pregnancy and childbirth can affect the sex drive and ways to best enjoy the sensuality of a pregnant partner.

Your Orgasmic Pregnancy gives a good look at what aspects of pregnancy can be sensual. It gives the low-down on each trimester and its effects on the body in casual, easy language, and also includes a section on sex after pregnancy. Helpful sidebars help the pregnant partner understand what their long-term partner may be feeling during the pregnancy, and likewise other subsections directed at the non-pregnant partner give advice on what can be done to help the pregnant partner emotionally, mentally, and physically.

While the book has a nice relational focus, a good portion of it will also be helpful for pregnant ladies who are single or in (a) casual relationship(s). Additionally, Your Orgasmic Pregnancy gets a huge thumbs-up from me for embracing a variety of sexualities and forms of sexual expression. The language doesn't assume a particular gender for the pregnant lady's partner, and illustrations and examples throughout the guide portray both same and opposite-sex partnerships.

Overall, Your Orgasmic Pregnancy is a highly recommendable read for pregnant women and their partners. It's short, easy to absorb, and has lots of good advice for lovin' all throughout the pregnancy, as well as afterward!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 24, 2010
This book is great.

It has some illustrations for the reader to experiment with the different positions.

Easy to read and the author seems to know what she is talking about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2009
I wish I would have had this information with my first child! Fabulous insight! A must read for every pregnant woman!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 10, 2009
For some reason, all of our reviews have evaporated. So, I'm here to let you know that this little book has a gaggle of medically supported advice presented in a fun and accessible way for women and their partners to achieve maximum physical, emotional and sensual fulfillment during the miraculous adventure of becoming parents. You will receive expert advice on diet, movement, emotion and staying connected without the stuffy and stifling language of its predecessors. This is the modern mama's must-have guide to making the most of her body and her pregnancy!
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Pregnant Sex (Masterclass)
Pregnant Sex (Masterclass) by Rachel Foux (Hardcover - May 31, 2008)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.