Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blake Shelton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$8.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 22, 2013
This movie is truly one of a kind! For everyone that hated it - watch it again with the mindset that it is a horror/COMEDY and you'll change your tune! I was confused at first, but seeing this movie was one of the funnest movie experiences I've ever had! One of the best parts was quoting the movie afterwards. Lines that seemed ridiculous at the time, are now one of the main reasons I'm buying this DVD.

This movie had everything I wanted as a fan of the horror/comedy genre: originality, satire of cliche home invasion movies, great lines, and best of all - crazy, over the top, unique ways of killing someone.
You gotta love it.
1010 comments|75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
My new favorite horror movie. Brutal,Vicious and unexpectedly Cunning wrapped in an airtight horror bag of a death Burrito. A movie reminiscent of the good old days of hack them up and send them home movies. If you're a true fan of horror - you will savor every bit of this movie. Best advice. Buy two bottles of steak sauce for this one.
66 comments|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
This movie is fun. Definitely entertaining. It doesn't take itself too seriously and keeps the viewer entertained and on the edge of his seat. Has some great "yeah!" moments as well. I actually saw this in the theater and then rented it again to watch with my wife. She enjoyed it as well. Would recommend.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
i found the over-saturation of previews for you're next to be tiresome, and was not particularly drawn to it. then a friend highly recommended it, so he, my brother, and i set down to watch it.

instantly, I was drawn in. earlier in the day, while heading out to a budhist temple in the country, my family drove through super affluent, mansion-riddled neighborhoods and i started fixating on the notion of a horror movie set in such an enclave. the opening shots of this movie are gorgeous, establishing the setting, and letting us know exactly what our victims are like. a typical bickering, dysfunctional, rich family gathers to celebrate their parents' anniversary, bringing together the children and their various romantic partners. one brother establishes himself as the alpha bully, systematically targeting his sibling's boyfriends and girlfriends about their careers and life choices. and then...

BOOM!

when this movie get's rolling, it's like a breath of fresh air. instead of spending 40 banal minutes getting a rote intro to the characters and their relationships, you're next lets us get to know them while they are under assault, unseen, unknown, unexpected. quickly, the family begins to show its' true stripes, the cowards cowering, and the heroes rising. the family scrambles to escape, survive, and prepare. it is in the films first arc, that you're next is thoroughly disturbing and unsettling; the bf's and gf's don't engender too much sympathy, but watching family members weep over their loved ones is excruciating, particularly one death early on that shows that this movie is serious about its' mission: to be uncompromising.

so, as the family struggles to survive their unseen assailants, whom we see dressed in animal masks and using a variety of weapons (it's really slasher heaven), we are assaulted by a variety of sounds and instruments, bowel-loosening tuba blasts, and hackle-raising string assaults. and then...

this dark and disturbing movie changes tone with complete deftness. the dark, close-up camera that gives unbearable purview of the victims and survivors, gives way to something more energetic, more eighties, and more rousing. it's so brilliantly done, and my brother, friend, and i looked at each other at the exact same moment and said "did you see that? did you see what they just did" the music is a major propulsion in this change, and you start to hear the inspiration and influence of john carpenter and goblin as the score becomes synth-based. it's just beautiful. a rapid fire succession of very clear references to a nightmare on elm street, halloween, escape from new york, dawn of the dead, rear window, the evil dead, and zombi pile up on one another in 5 minutes of inspired brilliance.

one character in particular, erin, played by sharni vinson, really establishes a smart, resilient presence, so much so, that she is an obvious amalgam of fright cinema's proud tradition of final girls, most notably nancy thompson, laurie strode, and kirsty cotton. vinson will have you on your feet, and appreciating director adam wingard's understanding of clover's trope, and the awesomely 80's-esque execution of it. vinson is totally powerful, displaying resourcefulness, toughness, smarts, and just general a$$-kickery. verily, she was awesome.

wingard is really working it, and you're next is just 90 efficient minutes of awesome. the camera is superb, delivering beautiful exterior shots, beginning with a bunch of voyeuristic close-ups before the animals are out in the open, and then perfect wide shots that deliver very clear presentations of the ratcheted-up action.

i loved this movie. it was fresh and an exciting, and did some really nice, courageous things. and when it was straight slasher, it really pushed the envelope in nice directions. dynamic and vibrant, you're next was a complete joy.
22 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
Started off with some promise but then segued into the too far-fetched, dumb-victims formula. The only character I found myself giving a damn about was the female lead character, Erin, whose survival skills are a thing to behold against several murderous goons. Although the film has its moments and is entertaining, it seriously lacks a certain amount of exposition and character development to be an effective and smart horror film through and through.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 24, 2013
Note: This is a theatrical review and there may be spoilers.

In what continues to be a darn good year for horror films, add this Adam Wingard chiller to the list. Those looking for a traditional home invasion slaughter-fest should be satisfied but really that's being somewhat myopic.

Wingard invites several of his director/writer/producer buddies to have significant roles in the film. Most prominent is Joe Swanberg as Drake, one of 4 siblings invited, along with their significant others, to their wealthy parents second home for their 35th wedding anniversary. Along with Drake and girlfriend Kelly (Margaret Laney) are brothers Crispian (AJ Bowen), a college professor and his former student now girlfriend Erin (Sharni Vinson), and Felix (Nicholas Tucci) and his goth-girl Zee (Wendy Glenn). There is one sister, Aimee (Amy Seimetz) and boyfriend Tariq (horror filmmaker Ti West).

You don't have to wait around long for things to get interesting. We see a couple neighbors "down the road" get wacked for no apparent reason. Maybe practice. The home invaders all wear animal masks, for reasons not clear for most of the film. Family and friends begins to drop one by one with a variety of unusual weapons. No guns around which is ironic as the father, Paul (Rob Moran) is a retired defense contractor.

The emotional reactions seem to be mostly screaming hysterically or in dazed confusion. Erin, for reasons explained midway through the film, isn't one to sit around and wait to be executed however. Using some ingrained Australian survival skills and common smarts, she refuses to be a victim. There are some interesting twists that make this film different from most of its ilk. Think about all those horror/thriller styled movies where the bad guy is put down, but you just know that one little old bullet or one little blow to the head isn't going to keep him from rising and attacking again. Erin leaves no question as she turns the tables on the antagonists.

If you have time to catch your breath, you will have to ask the question why, and most experience film-goers will figure it out, but that only increases the fun factor. If the film has a weakness it is that some of the acting is a bit hammy and contrived. But like all good films of this genre, there is also a goodly dose of dark humor. In one scene one couple debate the idea of have sex in a bed occupied by the corpse of a close family member. Hey, I said it was dark humor. This is an above average horror film. Think "Home Alone" meets "High Tension." I wasn't disappointed.
55 comments|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
(May contain spoilers)
When it comes to horror fans, people either love or hate the home invasion sub genre. I myself am a fan, so take that into account.

I found the film to be chilling, but with some dark humor. The main character, Erin, was refreshing because A.) she was a woman who wasn't a Scream Queen and B.) she fought back. While there were some moments that were predictable, the final twist had me gasping then chuckling. We see not only an unusual twist in a horror film, but some dark humor and Erin kicking butt as well. This was a film that stayed with me for quite a while after watching. It has more realistic characters and poked fun at typical horror stereotypes.
All in all, it's a good night in with a home invasion horror flick that is a new take on the sub genre. I would definitely recommend You're Next.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
Home invasion movies are my personal creepout. We all have our button and this particular genre is mine.

The boogety-boogeties in "You're Next" are terrifyingly metaphored in their eyeless animal masks, but not supernatural. They have motive. They have means. They are formidable without being invincible.

The logic of this movie "plays fair."

The protagonists of "You're Next" are neither ineffectual trip-at-the-last-minute, throw-perfectly-good-gun-at-villian-who-merely-drops-to-a-knee-after-being-shot-in-the-shoulder (I'm looking at YOU, Jennifer Lopez in "The Boy Next Door"), nor are they John McClain.

Again, "You're Next" respects the viewer and plays fair.

My only ding is a couple of instances of "Scooby-Do"ing: "I'm going in this part of the scary house by myself. You go to that part of the scary house by yourself and we'll meet back here in a few minutes." Yeah. You do that, Copernicus. Say hello to Darwin for me.

The gore is doled out judiciously and for-effect only. Some of the trope-y characters you want to hate are not missed when they meet their maker. Some of the trope-y characters you want to hate turn out to have more dimensions than you gave the writers credit for.

I'm not sure how I missed this movie for so long. I dig it. I recommend it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
The perfectly married humor and cynicism in the second half makes this film stick out as a special kind of twisted even with an intentionally predictable plot twist. If you like, might also enjoy other comedy/horror such as Sliver, Cabin in the Woods, Zombieland, God Bless America, Dale and Tucker, and most notably Severance.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
All around this was a good movie, it is not a real horror movie. If you are not a fan of dark, horror comedys , than you may not like it. The casting was very good, they got horror goddess Barbara Crampton, of Reanimated to be in it. The only thing that I did not care for was the brief nudity in a few scenes. The violence is brutal, bloody and grotesque, but still the movie was very entertaining . I laughed more than ever getting grossed out or scard.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.