Customer Reviews


598 Reviews
5 star:
 (183)
4 star:
 (181)
3 star:
 (113)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (75)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy/Horror at it's finest
This movie is truly one of a kind! For everyone that hated it - watch it again with the mindset that it is a horror/COMEDY and you'll change your tune! I was confused at first, but seeing this movie was one of the funnest movie experiences I've ever had! One of the best parts was quoting the movie afterwards. Lines that seemed ridiculous at the time, are now one of the...
Published 15 months ago by alyssa

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Chills Though Most Of The Characters Are Forgettable
Started off with some promise but then segued into the too far-fetched, dumb-victims formula. The only character I found myself giving a damn about was the female lead character, Erin, whose survival skills are a thing to behold against several murderous goons. Although the film has its moments and is entertaining, it seriously lacks a certain amount of exposition and...
Published 6 months ago by Erin King


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy/Horror at it's finest, November 22, 2013
This review is from: You're Next (DVD)
This movie is truly one of a kind! For everyone that hated it - watch it again with the mindset that it is a horror/COMEDY and you'll change your tune! I was confused at first, but seeing this movie was one of the funnest movie experiences I've ever had! One of the best parts was quoting the movie afterwards. Lines that seemed ridiculous at the time, are now one of the main reasons I'm buying this DVD.

This movie had everything I wanted as a fan of the horror/comedy genre: originality, satire of cliche home invasion movies, great lines, and best of all - crazy, over the top, unique ways of killing someone.
You gotta love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Home Alone" meets "High Tension", August 24, 2013
By 
This review is from: You're Next (Audio CD)
Note: This is a theatrical review and there may be spoilers.

In what continues to be a darn good year for horror films, add this Adam Wingard chiller to the list. Those looking for a traditional home invasion slaughter-fest should be satisfied but really that's being somewhat myopic.

Wingard invites several of his director/writer/producer buddies to have significant roles in the film. Most prominent is Joe Swanberg as Drake, one of 4 siblings invited, along with their significant others, to their wealthy parents second home for their 35th wedding anniversary. Along with Drake and girlfriend Kelly (Margaret Laney) are brothers Crispian (AJ Bowen), a college professor and his former student now girlfriend Erin (Sharni Vinson), and Felix (Nicholas Tucci) and his goth-girl Zee (Wendy Glenn). There is one sister, Aimee (Amy Seimetz) and boyfriend Tariq (horror filmmaker Ti West).

You don't have to wait around long for things to get interesting. We see a couple neighbors "down the road" get wacked for no apparent reason. Maybe practice. The home invaders all wear animal masks, for reasons not clear for most of the film. Family and friends begins to drop one by one with a variety of unusual weapons. No guns around which is ironic as the father, Paul (Rob Moran) is a retired defense contractor.

The emotional reactions seem to be mostly screaming hysterically or in dazed confusion. Erin, for reasons explained midway through the film, isn't one to sit around and wait to be executed however. Using some ingrained Australian survival skills and common smarts, she refuses to be a victim. There are some interesting twists that make this film different from most of its ilk. Think about all those horror/thriller styled movies where the bad guy is put down, but you just know that one little old bullet or one little blow to the head isn't going to keep him from rising and attacking again. Erin leaves no question as she turns the tables on the antagonists.

If you have time to catch your breath, you will have to ask the question why, and most experience film-goers will figure it out, but that only increases the fun factor. If the film has a weakness it is that some of the acting is a bit hammy and contrived. But like all good films of this genre, there is also a goodly dose of dark humor. In one scene one couple debate the idea of have sex in a bed occupied by the corpse of a close family member. Hey, I said it was dark humor. This is an above average horror film. Think "Home Alone" meets "High Tension." I wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow!!! I actually stood up and applauded., December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My new favorite horror movie. Brutal,Vicious and unexpectedly Cunning wrapped in an airtight horror bag of a death Burrito. A movie reminiscent of the good old days of hack them up and send them home movies. If you're a true fan of horror - you will savor every bit of this movie. Best advice. Buy two bottles of steak sauce for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't feed the animals, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You're Next [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i found the over-saturation of previews for you're next to be tiresome, and was not particularly drawn to it. then a friend highly recommended it, so he, my brother, and i set down to watch it.

instantly, I was drawn in. earlier in the day, while heading out to a budhist temple in the country, my family drove through super affluent, mansion-riddled neighborhoods and i started fixating on the notion of a horror movie set in such an enclave. the opening shots of this movie are gorgeous, establishing the setting, and letting us know exactly what our victims are like. a typical bickering, dysfunctional, rich family gathers to celebrate their parents' anniversary, bringing together the children and their various romantic partners. one brother establishes himself as the alpha bully, systematically targeting his sibling's boyfriends and girlfriends about their careers and life choices. and then...

BOOM!

when this movie get's rolling, it's like a breath of fresh air. instead of spending 40 banal minutes getting a rote intro to the characters and their relationships, you're next lets us get to know them while they are under assault, unseen, unknown, unexpected. quickly, the family begins to show its' true stripes, the cowards cowering, and the heroes rising. the family scrambles to escape, survive, and prepare. it is in the films first arc, that you're next is thoroughly disturbing and unsettling; the bf's and gf's don't engender too much sympathy, but watching family members weep over their loved ones is excruciating, particularly one death early on that shows that this movie is serious about its' mission: to be uncompromising.

so, as the family struggles to survive their unseen assailants, whom we see dressed in animal masks and using a variety of weapons (it's really slasher heaven), we are assaulted by a variety of sounds and instruments, bowel-loosening tuba blasts, and hackle-raising string assaults. and then...

this dark and disturbing movie changes tone with complete deftness. the dark, close-up camera that gives unbearable purview of the victims and survivors, gives way to something more energetic, more eighties, and more rousing. it's so brilliantly done, and my brother, friend, and i looked at each other at the exact same moment and said "did you see that? did you see what they just did" the music is a major propulsion in this change, and you start to hear the inspiration and influence of john carpenter and goblin as the score becomes synth-based. it's just beautiful. a rapid fire succession of very clear references to a nightmare on elm street, halloween, escape from new york, dawn of the dead, rear window, the evil dead, and zombi pile up on one another in 5 minutes of inspired brilliance.

one character in particular, erin, played by sharni vinson, really establishes a smart, resilient presence, so much so, that she is an obvious amalgam of fright cinema's proud tradition of final girls, most notably nancy thompson, laurie strode, and kirsty cotton. vinson will have you on your feet, and appreciating director adam wingard's understanding of clover's trope, and the awesomely 80's-esque execution of it. vinson is totally powerful, displaying resourcefulness, toughness, smarts, and just general a$$-kickery. verily, she was awesome.

wingard is really working it, and you're next is just 90 efficient minutes of awesome. the camera is superb, delivering beautiful exterior shots, beginning with a bunch of voyeuristic close-ups before the animals are out in the open, and then perfect wide shots that deliver very clear presentations of the ratcheted-up action.

i loved this movie. it was fresh and an exciting, and did some really nice, courageous things. and when it was straight slasher, it really pushed the envelope in nice directions. dynamic and vibrant, you're next was a complete joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovative Home Invasion Horror Film!, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
(May contain spoilers)
When it comes to horror fans, people either love or hate the home invasion sub genre. I myself am a fan, so take that into account.

I found the film to be chilling, but with some dark humor. The main character, Erin, was refreshing because A.) she was a woman who wasn't a Scream Queen and B.) she fought back. While there were some moments that were predictable, the final twist had me gasping then chuckling. We see not only an unusual twist in a horror film, but some dark humor and Erin kicking butt as well. This was a film that stayed with me for quite a while after watching. It has more realistic characters and poked fun at typical horror stereotypes.
All in all, it's a good night in with a home invasion horror flick that is a new take on the sub genre. I would definitely recommend You're Next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is fun. Definitely entertaining. It doesn't take itself too seriously and keeps the viewer entertained and on the edge of his seat. Has some great "yeah!" moments as well. I actually saw this in the theater and then rented it again to watch with my wife. She enjoyed it as well. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a run of the mill, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The perfectly married humor and cynicism in the second half makes this film stick out as a special kind of twisted even with an intentionally predictable plot twist. If you like, might also enjoy other comedy/horror such as Sliver, Cabin in the Woods, Zombieland, God Bless America, Dale and Tucker, and most notably Severance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Chills Though Most Of The Characters Are Forgettable, August 12, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You're Next (DVD)
Started off with some promise but then segued into the too far-fetched, dumb-victims formula. The only character I found myself giving a damn about was the female lead character, Erin, whose survival skills are a thing to behold against several murderous goons. Although the film has its moments and is entertaining, it seriously lacks a certain amount of exposition and character development to be an effective and smart horror film through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cure for what ails jaded horror fans, February 23, 2015
This review is from: You're Next (DVD)
It's easy to get jaded if you're a fan of horror films. We've seen it all before: Slasher kills girl's family, girl meets slasher, slasher dies only to be resurrected in a sequel. "You're Next" is a refreshing twist on the tired slasher tropes.

The first sign that "You're Next" is different is in how director Adam Wingard treats his characters. Five minutes in, we are invited to judge a relationship without understanding what's going on: an older man and a much younger woman having sex. That early scene communicates volumes. Our camera perspective peering into the bedroom makes their lovemaking look more like violence. The girl is clearly unsatisfied. Padding out of the room while her lover takes a shower, she sets up a five-disc CD player of music on repeat that will be integral to the rest of the film. Then she dies.

As our protagonists enter the next scene, driving up to a house nearby ad offhandedly explaining that the double homicide we just witnessed was a professor who left his wife for a college student. Do we feel better about their deaths as a result of their moral transgressions? While that question bounces around, we discover that our protagonists Crispian (A.J. Bowen) and Erin (Sharni Vinson) are in a similar relationship. Do they deserve to die too?

The rest of the film is a running battle between three men in masks wielding crossbows and a WASPy family reunion gone sour. Erin and Crispian don't know each other that well, and the film cleverly juxtaposes the horrors of navigating a boyfriend's family with a slasher film. There's the frail mother, the overbearing father, the little sister who battles for attention, and the bullying older brother who is jealous of everyone else's happiness. All of these family members come with their respective spouses, who are equally clueless and disengaged. All the non-family members (Erin included) also look curiously fake -- Erin and Zee (Wendy Glenn) look like they're wearing wigs. In "You're Next" the killers aren't the only ones wearing masks.

As the assault progresses, we get an explanation for why the bad guys do what they do, and "You're Next" gleefully wallows in the utter depravity of its villains. It throws the sins of the family in stark relief -- they're bad, but they're not murderers. Or are they?

Erin certainly is. In a refreshing twist, we discover that Erin is no shrinking violet. She uses survival tactics worthy of any prepper compound. There's something viscerally satisfying about her increasingly ferocious counterattack as each character's morals (or lack thereof) are brutally unmasked.

"You're Next" is filled with plot holes in service to the genre. Nobody seems to have any guns. The killers can barely see thanks to their ridiculous masks and they refuse to take them off when anonymity is no longer an issue. And the murder plot is flimsy at best. But "You're Next" isn't about realism. It's about really, really hating your family. If you can't find the humor in that, this movie may not be right for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good!, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Will this movie win any awards such as an Oscar or a Grammy? No, it won't, but this was actually a pretty good entertaining slasher film.

How I loved Erin, now that's who you should want on your team when dealing with masked murderers.

Oh...and..

I did not see that twist coming at the end. Very nicely done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

You're Next [Blu-ray]
You're Next [Blu-ray] by Adam Wingard (Blu-ray - 2014)
$19.99 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.