Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is mayhem, romance and suspense rollicking through this one.
Georgia is known for its sultry summers and provides the perfect backdrop to Ms. Garey's newest addition to the Nicki Styx series. Garey is getting a reputation for smart plotting, fast pacing and sassy characterization, and this book delivers a powerful three punch combo.

Nicki's humorous take on life, and the afterlife, continues to mature in the third book...
Published on February 24, 2009 by Rachel P. Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ..Ghostly ride with all these fun twists and turns.
After almost dying, Nicki Styx' came back to life with a new talent: the ability to see ghosts. Just when she is getting used to having them around, and having also having a new boyfriend, the ER doctor Joe Bascome, who saved her life, things go to hell - literally! -when The Devil shows up, with more than a little neighborly interest in Nicki. He moves next door and is...
Published on October 18, 2009 by Wendy C.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is mayhem, romance and suspense rollicking through this one., February 24, 2009
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Georgia is known for its sultry summers and provides the perfect backdrop to Ms. Garey's newest addition to the Nicki Styx series. Garey is getting a reputation for smart plotting, fast pacing and sassy characterization, and this book delivers a powerful three punch combo.

Nicki's humorous take on life, and the afterlife, continues to mature in the third book in the series. She's facing the questions we all tackle as we grow into a relationship, and as with everything else, Nicki does a full body tackle once she's made up her mind. She's also dealing with a whole new kind of teenage angst and taunting temptations when Sammy Devine, The Devil in Disguise, moves in across the street from her vintage clothing store. Sammy is no Devil in a Blue Dress; he's all man, all sex and once you've danced with him, you understand why The Bad Boys are oh so tempting. On the side of Good, Nicki's boyfriend, Joe Bascombe, is making a case for commitment. Unfortunately, Joe's plans are getting derailed by a vengeful teenage spirit.

The supporting cast doesn't let the reader down in this book, either. Ms. Garey's tackles some heavy subject matter in a respectful, light-hearted manner, sneaking a few good messages into the story. Nicki's long time best friend and business partner, Evan, deals with issues surrounding maintaining a loving relationship with his boyfriend, Butch. Nicki also turns to her "grandmother" for help; grandma just happens to be a cross dresser, but when she's in full drag, no one is the wiser. Grandma Bijou is a member of a ladies afternoon coven, and they come to town in full regalia to come to Nicki's aid. Ms. Garey addresses the touchy subject of religion and personal views in a very savvy manner. She brings it to the common denominator level: there are good guys and bad guys on both side of the religious fence. She portrays the witches and the Christians, and everyone that falls somewhere in between, in a very realistic, respectful way.

In You're the One that I Haunt, Nicki and Joe come face to face with a teenage ghost named Crystal. Nicki also deals with the Devil, rolling the dice with high stakes. There is mayhem, romance and suspense rollicking through this one. Ms. Garey also plants the seeds for an interesting mythology that I hope to see more of in the next books. Her take on the original Bad Boy and his secrets makes for interesting reading and should provide readers with fodder for some wild speculation.

As in the past, this book leaves me very satisfied, and wanting more. Luckily, the next treat will arrive just in time for Samhain, better known as Halloween to most.Silent Night, Haunted Night hits bookstores October 27, 2009. Ms. Garey is following her own heroine's advice, much to my delight: "If you've got it, haunt it."

Reviewed at Bitten by Books Paranormal Fiction Review Site by Justine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ..Ghostly ride with all these fun twists and turns., October 18, 2009
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
After almost dying, Nicki Styx' came back to life with a new talent: the ability to see ghosts. Just when she is getting used to having them around, and having also having a new boyfriend, the ER doctor Joe Bascome, who saved her life, things go to hell - literally! -when The Devil shows up, with more than a little neighborly interest in Nicki. He moves next door and is determined to make her life a living hell until she agrees to be with him.

To make things even more complicated, Nicki founds out she's got a new relative. Which might be closer than she thought. And her boyfriend, Joe, wants to take their relationship to the next level, but between dealing with ghosts, the Devil, and this new relative, Nicki's may finally be over in her head.

You're the One I Haunt is the third installment in the Nicki Styx Series. All the wonderful characters are back and better than ever. Nicki's still her quirky self, and her best friend/co-owner of her store, Evan, is still as super funny as ever. Ms. Garey's writing is lively and and she takes us on a ghostly ride with all these fun twists and turns. While at first, things were a little slow, it definitely didn't stay that way. I thoroughly enjoyed You're The One I Haunt, it's an entertaining, funny story and look forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Review: You're The One That I Haunt, May 18, 2009
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
YOU'RE THE ONE I HAUNT (Nicki Styx, Book 3)
TERRI GAREY
Paranormal Romance
Avon
Sensuality Level: Sexy

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

Nicki Styx can see dead people. But that's not her only problem. Sammy (aka The Devil) wants her to direct the spirits to the dark side--and he's not above playing dirty (like putting sexy images of the two of them together in her head) to get her to join his side. Nor is he above using a vengeful spirit in teenage Crystal to try and push her and her boyfriend apart.

A fun enjoyable paranormal read, YOU'RE THE ONE I HAUNT has quickly earned a spot on my keeper self and has me looking for the earlier two books in this series. The action starts right away with Nicki coming in contact with the wayward spirit of Crystal and the set up for trouble soon begins. The chemistry between Nicki and her ER doctor boyfriend Joe is sizzling all the way through the book. What I liked best about Nicki was her personality. She won't back down from her fight for staying away from Sammy, even when he goes out of his way for deliberately trying to provoke her. Some of the best scenes in the book were between Nicki and Sammy, like the time he shows up at her house and gets her to go for a ride with him.

Fans of fun paranormal would no doubt enjoy this tale. Look for the next in the series to release October 2009.

A Southern girl with an overactive imagination, Terri Garey grew up in Florida, always wondering why tropical prints and socks with sandals were considered a fashion statement. She survived the heat by reading in the shade, and watching cool shows like the The Twilight Zone and the classic gothic soap opera, Dark Shadows. Visit Terri Garey online at her website, [...]

Lisa
Enchanting Reviews
March 2009
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun urban fantasy chick lit, February 25, 2009
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
In her twenties in Atlanta, Nikki Styx suffered heart failure. However instead of passing on, she is sent back to earth to help those dead unwilling to move on. She co-owns Handbags and Gladrags with Evan, who is despondent because his lover Butch is cheating. Nikki has had commitment phobia issues until she met Joe six months ago when she nearly died and he was her ER surgeon; Joe is also her sister's ex husband.

At the Moon Beam Coffee Shop an angry ghost Crystal accuses Joe of killing her. Sammy the devil arrives to inform Nikki and Joe that Crystal is his apprentice unless Nikki wants the position as he wants her to go dark. Sammy has opened up an Indie music store Divinyls nearby. Crystal leaps inside Nikki taking control of her and shouting that Joe killed her; Sammy tapes her outcry. Nikki forces Crystal out of her body. Afterward, she asks her sister Kelly in Savannah for help. Kelly promises to research possession and their transvestite "grandma" Bijou heads to Atlanta with the Savannah Garden Club members. Meanwhile Crystal's mother encouraged by Preacher Jimmy Boyd sues Joe and Columbia Memorial Hospital for wrongful death. As Crystal refuses to move on encouraged by Sammy, she possesses her again; Nikki realizes the dead woman cannot depart until she is assured that her twelve year old sister is safe, but to persuade the mom seems impossible.

The strong relationship between the lead couple is terrific as Crystal's possession and a hospital lawyer causes problems for Nikki and Joe. The strong support cast enhances the plot especially the Savannah posse, Sammy, and Crystal. Although the plot is thin especially the climax, urban fantasy chick lit fans will enjoy Nikki's latest caper (see A MATCH MADE IN HELL and DEAD GIRLS ARE EASY).

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This one is a keeper!, March 20, 2009
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought the first two Nicki Styx books were pretty good, but I didn't think they were standouts. "You're The One That I Haunt" may just change my mind. In the third installment, Nicki is momentarily taken over by the ghost of a recently deseased girl, who happens to have just died at the hospital. Guess who was her doctor? Joe Bascombe, Nicki's boyfriend, of course. When Nicki in her possessed state, declares that Joe killed Crystal, on tv, all you know what breaks loose. Of course all of this is being helped along by the Devil himself, Sammy, who has decided he could use Nicki's seeing the dead powers for nefarious purposes. The highlights of this book are always the scenes where Nicki is dealing with ghosts. However, the supporting cast was stronger in this installment. I had previously stated that Even, her gay best friend, was too cliche. In this book, he is a hoot and his devotion to Nicki shines through. Tranny Granny is back in a couple of great scenes as well. Showing up a little less this time, is Nicki's sister, who I am not overly fond of anyway. This book never slowed down. Nicki's belief system, while never being preachy, is sweet enough to have us wishing all the ghosts hurry up to meet the light. Ms. Garey seems to have hitten her stride here, and I can only hope she continues to keep the hauntings coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun with Nicki!, March 9, 2009
By 
kazza (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This third installment in Terri Garey's series is just as much fun as the first two. We see Nicki, the back-from-the-dead-I-see-dead-people vintage boutique owner, growing more comfortable with her paranormal gift, but just wanting to live a normal life and pursue her still-budding relationship with her dreamy doctor, Joe. This is not to be, however, as the devil/demon (?) Sammy Devine is back and still wants Nicki for his own. He brings along baggage in the form of Crystal, a dead anorexic who has made a deal with Sammy for revenge against Joe, who pronounced her DOA at the hospital. Joe is innocent, but the drama surrounding Crystal's death, her "possession" of Nicki, legal troubles for Joe, and the dirty secret in Crystal's past all prove to be more than Nicki can handle. Enter Bijou, Nicki's transvestite "grandmother", who arrives with her coven from Savannah to help Nicki sort out the mess.

Will Joe get tired of the trouble that follows Nicki everywhere? Will Nicki finally give in to the intense heat Sammy generates whenever he shows up? Garey writes another easy and fun read that makes you want to gobble up these novels one after the other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're the One that I Haunt, May 14, 2010
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Nicki Styx has a new neighbor: The Devil. He has decided he wants her, in more ways than one, and if she fights him, well he is after all The Devil. Nicki's life was just getting sorted out, and what person wants all these extra problems? The ghost and boyfriend issues are quite enough, thank you very much. The Devil, that is just adding a wee bit too much to the mix.

You're the One that I Haunt is creative and ingenious, while managing to be impish and fun. Terri Garey continues her series on Nicki with an engaging style that includes some character thoughts and actions that make a reader smile with delight.

Emma
Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For me, a slow start but a good story, October 19, 2009
By 
Victoria Karns "wannabe1" (Hollidaysburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved the first two Nicki Styx books and shared them with several friends who are hooked on Nicki too. The books always grab me from page one but this one didn't. About half way through I began to appreciate the nasty girl ghost storyline and would definately recommend the book. On the positive side, Joe and Nicki are still a great couple and their relationship is growing solid without being boring. Nicki taking on the creepy preacher was great. On the other hand, a little to much Sammy and I kept hoping Kelly would do more than give some advice over the phone.
I will definately be reading the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Coming of Age Story, April 19, 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (West Des Moines, IA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Entertaining book, very good. A "coming of age" story of sorts, as Nikki learns to be less impetuous while dipping a toe in the dark side, realizing nothing is black and white.

Though usually classified as "paranormal romance," this series doesn't follow the typical formula. While there is a budding romance in the first novel that is continually tested in the sequels, the story focuses more on Nikki's communications with the dead and the adventures the dead send her on. The overall feeling of the book is light, but the material is still dramatic, and though-provoking. I'm really liking this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're the One That I Haunt, May 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
In this third installment of the Nicki Styx series, the Devil himself has gone from sexy tempter to well, a Devil of wrath and retaliation. I haven't read a Nicki Styx book yet that wouldn't get five stars. In fact, I named our cat after Nicki, though I spell the kitty's name Niki. This series continues to be sexy, exciting, and enthralling. Be warned: Once you start a Nicki Styx novel you will not sleep until it is finished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3)
You're the One that I Haunt (Nicki Styx, Book 3) by Terri Garey (Mass Market Paperback - February 24, 2009)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.