Robin non-member

Buy New

Includes FREE MP3
version
of this album.
or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$0.32 + $3.99 shipping
Sold by Round3.

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Yours, Mine & Ours
 
See larger image
 

Yours, Mine & Ours

Pernice BrothersAudio CD
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35 customer reviews)

Price: $11.38 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
 : Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
   Provided by Amazon Digital Services, Inc. Terms and Conditions. Does not apply to gift orders.
Only 10 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Tuesday, July 15? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Complete your purchase to save the MP3 version to music library.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 10 Songs, 2003 $5.99  
Audio CD, 2003 $11.38  

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Samples
Song Title Time Price
listen  1. The Weakest Shade of Blue 3:07$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  2. Water Ban 3:08$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  3. One Foot in the Grave 3:15$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  4. Baby in Two 3:36$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  5. Blinded By the Stars 4:56$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  6. Waiting for the Universe 3:33$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  7. Judy 3:30$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  8. Sometimes I Remember 2:45$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  9. How to Live Alone 3:43$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen10. Number Two 5:39$0.99  Buy MP3 


Amazon's Pernice Brothers Store

Visit Amazon's Pernice Brothers Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Includes FREE MP3 version of this album Here's how (restrictions apply)

Frequently Bought Together

Yours, Mine & Ours + Overcome By Happiness + Discover a Lovelier You
Price for all three: $39.78

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 20, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ashmont Records
  • ASIN: B000095J6M
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #94,965 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

Some artists spend their entire careers exploring the tension between gorgeous melodies and depressing lyrics. Former Scud Mountain Boy Joe Pernice has demonstrated that he deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as such the masters of the field as Scott Walker, Stephen Merritt, and Morrissey. On his first seven albums, Pernice crafted lovely, dark, and often funny pop- and country-tinged ballads with choruses like "I hate my life." He made videos where his band rescues Death from the side of the road, then plays Frisbee with him. But on his eighth album, Pernice allows something very strange to creep into his music: joy. "Won't you come unbury me" he sings on the power-pop opener, "Weakest Shade of Blue." No, he hasn't suddenly morphed into Christopher Cross (there is that chanting chorus of "Cut the baby in two"), but this is largely a happy album. The backing musicians, meanwhile, have discovered an adventurous meeting place between the Smiths' guitar-driven anthems, the Zombies' vocally intricate garage-pop, and melt-in-your-mouth '70s Quaalude rock. --Mike McGonigal

Product Description


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 only because its not long enough June 20, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Joe Pernice has got to be one of America's best songwriters. I don't think he has done a bad song yet. Either alone or with the Scud Mountain boys. He is a true treasure everyone should know about.
1) The weakest shade of blue: perfect example of a "no depression" style think Jayhawks. Killer hooks, catchy as hell chorus.
2) Water Ban: once again killer hooks, brilliant harmonies.
3) One foot in the grave: rockin, catchy, excellent tune, top down driving in the summer. Great!
4) Baby in two: The highlight of the CD. Possibly one of the best songs to come out in 2003. Just killer!
5) Blinded by the stars: not missing a beat here killer hooks, choruses that stay in your head forever. Perfect.
6) Waiting for the universe: rockin tune, great hook.
7) Judy: another gem, second best on the CD. lonely, in love.
8) Sometime I remember: switched up a bit, Wilco like, but still good.
9) How to live alone: saddest song I have heard. Great, amazing melody, beautiful.
10) Number two: perfect finish, saying good-bye to the day. Warm, soft, longing, painful, beautiful.
This CD is obviously hook laden and just feels like summer. sorry for the repetitive review, wish i could say more, but it truly is just one amazingly catchy, singable, intelligent batch of songs on par with their prior CD. lyrics are amazing, funny, twisted but all beautiful. Its sort of a blend between the smiths, the smithereens and the Jayhawks. Buy this CD now
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps Getting Better May 23, 2003
Format:Audio CD
The sad truth is that no one will appreciate what a wonderful songwriter Joe Pernice is until he's sitting in a rocking chair sucking on ice cubes. It'll be the year 2063 and some crappy band called Astrobutt will cover one of the gems on "Your Mine & Ours" and suddenly every pretentious Rolling Stone, Spin, and CMJ writer will gush about how great and under appreciated he was. The truth is that since the Scud Mountain Boys "Massachusetts" (one of the top 10 albums of the '90s, you can't argue that) through Big Tabacco and the Pernice Brothers "The World Won't End", Joe Pernice has consistently provided us with some of the best broken-hearted-emotive-cry-in-your-beer pop songs.
"Yours Mine & Ours" continues Joe's run as the best thing you haven't heard of. If you're thinking of buying this album, do it. You'll be happy you did. The album is chock full of the 70's AM radio melodies that you just can't get out of your head delivered in Pernices trade mark breathy/throaty vocals. It's guitar pop that's true to itself. It knows what it is and why it's good. It doesn't try to convince you that it's hip or wry or clever. Why this record isn't being added to radio playlists all over the country as an antidote to the soul crushing mediocrity of Cold and Kelly Clarkson will be a mystery that haunts Joe Pernice into his rocking chair days.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop Music Never Sounded So Good June 2, 2003
Format:Audio CD
When I hear someone say "pop" music I usually think of the homogonized recapitulated garbage that is on the current and never-changing playlist at any of the zillions of radio stations in the US. Clearly Joe Pernice doesn't care. If you thought it would be hard to top 2001's "The World Won't End" and it's lush, even orchestral arrangements, you were correct. Guess who did it? The Pernice Brothers. "Yours, Mine & Ours" is a step away from the simple-sweet overtones in TWWE. The album boasts more great songs from lyricist extrodinaire Pernice. Even better is the production by band member Thom Monahan. Though the melodies have changed from TWWE, "Yours, Mine & Ours" offers a great variety of emotion and sound.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The name says it all May 25, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Joe Pernice is definitely one of the best songwriters alive today. Yours, Mine & Ours is another great album in his catalog (could even be the best, although I will see how it stands the test of time). From the first listen, you know you must own this album. The opening track, Weakest Shade of Blue, is reminiscent of many songs Joe has penned before, except he is now allowing little rays of happiness creep into his music...and the fun does not end there. As with most of Joe's albums, there is not a bad song anywhere to be found and it leaves struggling amature musicians, like myself, wondering how it comes so effortlessly for Joe. For fans, you already have this..but for newbies to the Pernice world, or anyone else interested in good, pure songrwriting...pick this one up. Ultimately this is a really fun Sunday drive with the windows down album.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST album of 2003. July 21, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Joe Pernice has been making music for years, first with the Scud Mountain Boys (never heard), then solo as Chappaquiddick Skyline (boring, too melodramatic), then solo again under his own name, and now as The Pernice Brothers (Bob Pernice is also in the band). Their first album, "Overcome By Happiness" is poorly produced and way too influenced by 1970's folk nitwits, akin to Velvet Crush's latest abomination, "Soft Sounds," or what I like to think of as the missing Cat Stevens LP.

I know, what a way to star a 5-star review, but you know me, I hate life and I'm never happy with anything. Get used to it.

Anyway, "Yours, Mine & Ours" is the sort of album that completely slips by you upon first listen. It's not very original, the songs are all mid-tempo or slower, and the instrumentation is very subdued. But it's one of those miraculous records that inexplicably compels you to keep listening, keep listening, keep listening -- until you come to the conclusion that it contains no bad songs and is one of the most gorgeous things you've ever heard.

At least that's the effect I would HOPE it would have on you.

Seriously, this is one is a revelation for me, one of those most perfect pop-rock albums I've ever heard. It's sad, beautiful, yet something I must listen to at least a few times a week (and every time it finishes, I spin it one more time). It makes my heart ache and my fingers drum on my desk. It got me from Kentucky to Colorado a few weeks ago, when I was very, very alone, and I thank it for that. I know many people won't be as passionate about this album as I am, and maybe certain circumstances have caused me to overdramatize its effect, but so be it, I go with what I feel.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Most underrated album of the century!
In the '60's & 70's great artists were on the radio, first AM then FM. Somewhere in the mid to late '90's Clear Channel bought
up everything & killed indie college radio. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Jacktavish
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great indie rock albums of the 2000s
I can only say I agree with the extensive praise given by other reviewers here. This album is gorgeous and very close to me. Read more
Published 13 months ago by Uluru II
4.0 out of 5 stars Sherwin-Williams TV commerical
The new Sherwin-Williams TV commercial features the song "The Weakest Shade of Blue" I spent a few hours today searching for the music and I'm glad I did. Read more
Published on April 22, 2009 by Old Hickory
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY happy to have found this band!!!
If you like Elliott Smith's falsetto, Morrissey's crooning, XTCs ironic lyrics, peppered with Johnny Marr's licks read on. Read more
Published on December 24, 2005 by Hillary
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - OK pop album
I really don't know what the fuss is about. This is a solid pop album, but its not great. At the best moments I find myself thinking "this is pretty good. Read more
Published on December 7, 2005 by Christopher Bowers
2.0 out of 5 stars What hooks?!
Let's just say Joe Pernice was treading water with this album. So much so that the best songs on this album would be the lesser ones on his other abums. Read more
Published on June 16, 2005 by Acroyear
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Essential Pop Album
There are far too many albums which shoot for pop and land at schlock. Turn on your radio and hear them pour out of the speakers. Read more
Published on April 1, 2005 by G. Lewis
5.0 out of 5 stars Ours
Ours

Firstly, the album is exceptional.

Secondly, this is why :

Wearing hearts on sleeves can be a dangerous business. Literally ( You'll die ). Read more
Published on February 1, 2005 by David Byrne
3.0 out of 5 stars forgettable
here's what i said then: "absolutely peerless pop from joe pernice, of scud mountain boys and chappaquiddick skyline, and big tobacco, and etc etc... Read more
Published on July 31, 2004 by Davy
5.0 out of 5 stars "Won't you come away with me...."
That's the opening line on the first song, "The Weakest Shade of Blue." My advice: GO! This is a gem of a record-bright, shiny, shimmering, rock-influenced pop. Read more
Published on June 14, 2004 by J. Sweeney
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category