Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Tournament on blu-ray
After watching Season One on blu-ray, it was a no-brainer to revisist Season Two with another frame-by-frame remaster and Dolby TrueHD 5.1 English and 2.0 Japanese dubbing, both of which are excellent in their own rights. Speaking of dubbing, the English version has indeed been redubbed to address the characer Suzuki *ahem* sorry, the beautiful Suzuki, by the Japanese...
Published on September 7, 2011 by M.

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Truth About This "Remastering"
I'm not going to say any more about this series, because everything has already been said. This is one of my favorite animes of all time and I have watched all seasons on DVD, and have now purchased the entire Blu-ray collection to add to my "personal collection."

*IMPORTANT TO KNOW*
I'm reviewing this after having viewed the DVD version, and having just...
Published on November 29, 2011 by Rider85


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Tournament on blu-ray, September 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yu Yu Hakusho: Season 2 (Classic) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
After watching Season One on blu-ray, it was a no-brainer to revisist Season Two with another frame-by-frame remaster and Dolby TrueHD 5.1 English and 2.0 Japanese dubbing, both of which are excellent in their own rights. Speaking of dubbing, the English version has indeed been redubbed to address the characer Suzuki *ahem* sorry, the beautiful Suzuki, by the Japanese pronunciation. This time around the episodes are split as such:

Disc 1: Episodes 29-38
Disc 2: Episodes 39-47
Disc 3: Episodes 48-56
--(plus additional trailers and textless opening/closing music videos)

The Dark Tournament is in full swing this season and Yusuke's team members all show amazing new abilities and powers. From the Dragon of the Darkness Flame to the resurfacing of Yoko Kurama, this season ups the ante and brings the heat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the stuff legends are made of..., August 28, 2011
This review is from: Yu Yu Hakusho: Season 2 (Classic) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Yu Yu Hakusho: Season Two picks off in the middle of the first Dark Tournament match (Rinku vs. Kuwabara) to the first match of the finals with Team Toguro (Kurama vs. Karasu). Episodes 29 - 56 are included in this box set.

29. Flowers of Blood
30. Dragon of the Darkness Flame
31. Stumbling Warrior
32. Knife-Edge Death Match
33. A Day in Waiting
34. Percentage of Victory
35. Glimpse Beneath the Mask
36. Ambition Destroyed: A Trial of Light
37. Master of Disguise
38. Kurama's Stand
39. Crushing Revenge
40. Jin, the Wind Master
41. Reverse Decisions
42. A Matter of Love and Death
43. The Masked Fighter Revealed
44. Yusuke's Final Test
45. Hiei Battles On
46. Many Faces, Many Forms
47. Legendary Bandit: Yoko Returns
48. The Cape of No Return
49. Genkai's Strength
50. Suzuka's Challenge
51. Arch-Rivals
52. The Death of Genkai
53. Overcoming Grief
54. The Beginning of the End
55. The Beast Within
56. Yoko's Magic

If I were grading only the anime series, naturally it would receive a perfect score. But as to do the box set, there are things that would have made the Blu-ray better.

My largest complaint is the odd start/stop points for season 2. I know that the entire Dark Tournament saga could not fit on an entire box set without skewing the number of episodes of season 3 & 4, but they could have at least picked up at more appropriate points in the series instead of within fights. For this particular box set, if they would have set the beginning 3 episodes back and the ending point 2 episodes back, it would have made for more appropriate timing. This would set season 2 at the beginning of the Dark Tournament saga and ending before the suspenseful fight with Team Toguro.

There's not much to the packaging. I was hoping for a booklet with character bios or episode listings, but instead the episodes are listed in the inside of the front cover flap, which is little weird. There are 3-discs to this collection, making more compact than the DVD's.

The Blu-ray menu is set up similar to that of the Dragon Ball Z box sets. There are options for original subtitles or Japanese audio. The "Play All" feature has each episodes with its intro song, commentary and outro song and commentary. It would be nice if similar to the DBZ DVD sets they made a Marathon feature that skipped these parts. It's a minor inconvenience, not really a huge complaint.

Overall, this is really solid collection. The Blu-ray quality is fantastic (definitely use an HDMI cable), and there are a few noticeable changes in dialogue. I would highly recommend this to any fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great, September 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yu Yu Hakusho is a classic series of which I've been a fan of since I was a little girl, and a long series at that. So, I was ecstatic to find the complete series. I won't review the series here (there's a wiki page for it and plenty of online reviews for the show itself), just the box set.

Packaging:
Overall, I would have preferred a single box set, but considering the series length, the four sets take up very little self space. Each season is two thinpaks (each containing two discs) in a slim, thin box. Honestly, I wish the box covers were a bit thicker and sturdier, these will tear and show wear quite easily I'm afraid. Each season has a different character theme for the box and thinpaks, Yusuke, Kuwabara, Kurama, etc, and character themes for set of menus on the dvd's. Every inch of the box sets are covered in nice art, from beautiful line art on the inside of the thinpaks to colorful group artwork on the covers; the only undecorated space is the dvd's themselves, which are white with minor detail, but it's a nice bit of symmetry and simplicity to contrast the rest of the detailed and colorful packaging.

Dvd's:
The dvd's themselves are fairly simple; the sound and picture quality is excellent in both English and Japanese, and there are two sets of English subtitles -one that matches the English dub and one that is a direct translation of the Japanese, and both are in small, white unobtrusive font which is nice in that they don't clutter up the screen but is harder to read. The special features are nothing special; usually just trailers for other anime or one-paragraph character profiles. The main menu has no fancy video intro but it does have a really awesome rock-theme that plays in the background. Still, it would have been nice to have different music for different menus, as YYH sports a varied and catchy arsenal of themes.

Another nitpick is the weird cutting off points for the seasons - the Dark Tournament Ark starts in box-set one and ends in box-set three, and considering the number of Dark Tournament Arc episodes on box-sets one and three it would have been easy to fit them on the dvd's for box-set two, or add one more thinpak. I would not have minded even a slimmer (and by extension cheaper) fourth and final box set (The Three Kings Arc is under twenty episodes) if it meant each box-set would truly only contain one season each. This is a minor, organization complaint, though. It only really becomes an annoyance if you were to go looking for a particular episode to re-watch and it turned out to not be in the box-set you expected because it was tacked on to the beginning of the box-set after or the ending of the box-set before.

In conclusion, it's a great value for the money simply due to the series size, and everything is done well, but it would have been nice to see the distributors go the extra mile and splurge on thicker packaging, consistency in the art and better special features. I'm satisfied with these four box sets but if a more complete single box set comes out I'll be the first to see these and buy that. If you are already a fan of the series I recommend picking these up, but if you just want to test it out I'd recommend you find another way to watch a few episodes (funimation sometimes offers free streaming of their anime on their website) and see if you genuinely like it before you lay your cash down, as these won't have great resale value if it turns out it's not your thing.

A satisfactory job, but not an exceptional one. 3.5/5 stars, which for convenience I'll round up.

EDIT: Also, be careful when putting the dvd's back in to secure them firmly; they tend to fall out of their places a lot easier than other thinpaks I have had, my season 2 box-set in fact had one loose dvd Not a deal-breaking, you just have to make sure they are secure instead of just throwing them in all willy nilly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Truth About This "Remastering", November 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yu Yu Hakusho: Season 2 (Classic) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm not going to say any more about this series, because everything has already been said. This is one of my favorite animes of all time and I have watched all seasons on DVD, and have now purchased the entire Blu-ray collection to add to my "personal collection."

*IMPORTANT TO KNOW*
I'm reviewing this after having viewed the DVD version, and having just bought a 46" Samsung LED TV.

I must say....that I'm rather disappointed in this blu-ray "remastering."

The Positive:
-The iconic, classic soundtrack sounds AMAZING
-The colors have been restored and are FANTASTIC
-4:3 ratio has been kept, so you see the anime as it was CREATED
-Very crisp, clean detail in image

The Negative (and in my eyes, a HUGE negative)
-This is not really a frame-by-frame "back to analog" remastering (or in my eyes is not). What bugs me the most (maybe because I expected it) is that there is a TON of dirt on the analog that they didn't clean. Therefore, you are PLAGUED by glittering white spots, and even occasional tears or hair. This also gets WORSE throughout the series, particularly during the Dark Tournament! The colors are great, so "Black shadows" are truly black, but there is so much dirt that they left behind that the blackness shimmers with white specks!

Now please, don't get me wrong. This is a great series that is being sold at a great price and, in my mind, is worth buying. However, TRUST ME in saying that this isn't a true remastering such as seen by Disney (such as the Lion King) or the brilliant remasterings of the James Bond films. I UNDERSTAND that it would take forever to digitally remove all the dirt, but they could have AT LEAST gone back to the analog, cleaned it, then ran it through the converter.

I must give this product a 3 out of 5. In all honesty, I give it a 1 out of 5 for the "Remastering," but I give this series, plus the appealing price, plus the great color and sound a 5 out of 5. I recommend this series, but if you are like me, you will be annoyed by all the "dirt" on the footage.

(BTW, these dirt spots are apparent throughout the DVD version. The quality is much better on the Blu-ray overall, but the dirt was not removed)

I hope this review helps. I feel like all the "most helpful reviews" on this product are very poor reviews or are too biased to mention this.
-William
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, August 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the characters in this anime the one I respect most is kubara.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yu Yu Hakusho: Season 2 (Classic) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great show. This is the season where i left off when it was still on Toonami
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Absolutely wonderful series and the cheap box set made it even better. One of the only English Dubs that are actually Worth watching.

The box set came in excellent condition and arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SHOW, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yu Yu Hakusho: Season 2 (Classic) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR THIS SHOW FOR SO LONG AND I FINALLY FOUND IT. AND ITS ON BLUE RAY HOW COULD IT ANY BETTER THEN THAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some changes are good, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yu Yu Hakusho: Season 2 (Classic) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I picked this up because I had the first season on DVD and that change was so cool and I even picked up the first season on blu ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zeek, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The price was higher than the rest of the seasons, but I realized It was because of the fact that it is the most intense season of this tv show. It shipped fast and I was completely satisfied with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Yu Yu Hakusho: Season 2 (Classic) [Blu-ray]
Yu Yu Hakusho: Season 2 (Classic) [Blu-ray] by Justin Cook (Blu-ray - 2011)
$44.98 $27.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.