Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colonial city, Mayan Ruins, Beach
Cadogan continues to publish the best guidebooks. We used it for Merida, the neighboring ruins (eg Uxmal, Labna, some smaller sites), Itzacan, rail accessed cenotes, ChitzenItza and staying at a hacienda nearby, Valladolid, and Cozumel. Good on restaurants; good on city sites; good on the ruins. The guide succeeds in being both smart and usable. We specially ordered...
Published on February 5, 2010 by Howard S. Stein

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There are not pictures in it !!!
There are a very few pictures of Yucatán and the Mayan region, the quality of the paper is por, it is more like a text book than a guide traveler !!!
Published 19 months ago by Luis Omar Escalante Solis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colonial city, Mayan Ruins, Beach, February 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
Cadogan continues to publish the best guidebooks. We used it for Merida, the neighboring ruins (eg Uxmal, Labna, some smaller sites), Itzacan, rail accessed cenotes, ChitzenItza and staying at a hacienda nearby, Valladolid, and Cozumel. Good on restaurants; good on city sites; good on the ruins. The guide succeeds in being both smart and usable. We specially ordered the Cadogan after finding it was not amongst the 30 or so Yucatan and Mexico guidebooks on the shelf of our Barnes & Noble; we had high expectations, which were fulfilled, after using the excellent Paris guidebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well tempered traveler's guide, March 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
Mr. Rider evaluates a great deal of information with enthusiasm, accuracy and taste. All, historical and artistic details and recommendations where to eat and sleep are well served. He is excellent on the major and famous sites but more impressive when instructing one on more remote or less popular but equally fascinating places. A couple of examples: He tells you what you will find when visiting the Chenes region, an area full of small and fascinating Mayan sites and where the only accomodation is at the very humble but adequate hotel "Los Arcos" of Hopelchen, a forlorn village full of German-speaking Menonites mingling with Mayan-speaking natives. Again, one goes to Ake because of Rider's enthusiasm for this surreal place in which both the nineteen century mansion and the half ruined machinery of an henequen hacienda sit in the midst of great Mayan plaza bordered on one side by a colonnaded temple built at the top of a platform reached by a megalithic stair that looks as it had been built by a Minoan architect. These recommendations and others allow expanding travel in the Mayan area well beyond the more commonly visited sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, smart and accurate, December 20, 2011
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
We used two guide books while traveling through the Yucatan. One is more famous than this, but this is the book to follow. There were mistakes galore in the "famous" guide book but Nick Rider seems to have measured distances, ate at restaurants and rented cars. His advice about hotels, Bed and breakfasts and restaurants never disappointed. We even went to some out of the way ruins like Oxkintok and were glad we did. This book is also the right size to carry with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a guidebook for literate people., January 27, 2014
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
We own the 2nd and 3rd edition of Nick Rider's wonderful guide book for Land of the Maya, which we call the Yucatan.
And I am presently going to purchase the latest edition since my wife and I are headed to Mexico in March. The opening
chapter, 'The Maya' is worth the price of the book. The entire sweep of history of this region is beautifully laid out for us,
from the early Mesoamerican civilization to the Postclassic May in 32 pages of elegant prose. It is I think unique among
guide books to the Yucatan in that regard. We have noted the changes to the region over the years and I will be eager
to see if the current edition has kept abreast of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrfic Guide, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
So far as I can tell, this is the best guide available for the Yucatan. The sections providing historical background to places you may visit are particularly interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Our "Bible" for Annual Trips to the Yucatan. Time for an Update!, August 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
It is a great guidebook that we have used religiously since 2010 for our annual December visits to the Yucatan. While some guidebooks provide depth and others breadth, this one provides both, leavened with a very good measure of sly wit. His comments about the appearances of the gates of the huge All Inclusive (AI) resorts along the Riviera Maya still make me snicker every time I drive past one.

On the other hand, Mr. Rider's historical and archaeological assessments are erudite enough to please the slightly scholarly.

Best of all, he has directed us to fascinating places (e.g., the Xel-ha archaeological site as opposed to the theme park across the highway and Tan-kah) where there are relatively few tourists.

Now it's time for an update, because quite a number of things have changed since he wrote this book, which was probably in 2007 or 2008. I will buy a copy as soon as it is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing guide, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
The guide is amazing. While reading through the guide I keep noting questions that I want to look up, and every one of them is answered later in the guide. The guide is very comprehensive for all details: hotels, renting cars, driving, entry/exit to Belize and Guatemala and so many other details. It has enough history and maps of Maya sites to give you an excellent idea of what to expect without becoming a full fledged archeology or history book. I could not be happier with this travel book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always right on for archaeological sites, restaurants, small towns, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
I have used the Cadogan Guides in the past traveling through the Yucatan and I can't speak highly enough for their information! I have used many guides and most are lacking, I would take this guide with me on any Yucatan trip. Restuarants, archaeological sites, small towns and great maps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great guidebook!, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
Very well written with excellent information on Mayan past and present. Really a pleasure to read and hope they update. Not stuffy or just suitable for the rich. Going to the Yucatan, get this book first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great travel guide, November 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) (Paperback)
We took this book with us, it was great for reading about the area and the ruins,
both historically and in current times. Good reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides)
Yucatan & Mayan Mexico (Cadogan Guides) by Nick Rider (Paperback - November 18, 2009)
Used & New from: $13.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.