Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NIS does it again!
I am a huge NIS fan. They bring games over that normally wouldn't have a chance to get localized and released for the english market.

First off let me tell you that before you make a decision on this game to research it a bit. I saw quite a few review sites calling this an SRPG *Think Disgaea* While it is similar it is a lot faster paced but the humor is all...
Published on October 31, 2010 by Lisa Newcomb

versus
18 of 88 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pure Annoyance
When I got this game I was expecting something entirely different.

1. I expected a strategy RPG overall. It was not/is not. The gameplay is pure oldschool dungeon crawling, complete with the restrictive grid based movement. You will actually be familiar with this style if you've played old games. It simply shows you a grid, and calls it a strategy RPG. The game...
Published on November 11, 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NIS does it again!, October 31, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
I am a huge NIS fan. They bring games over that normally wouldn't have a chance to get localized and released for the english market.

First off let me tell you that before you make a decision on this game to research it a bit. I saw quite a few review sites calling this an SRPG *Think Disgaea* While it is similar it is a lot faster paced but the humor is all there.

I have also seen them talking about how it is nothing but a huge grind fest. Yes you do have to grind but the levels are pretty quick and to do a dungeon runthrough *depending on the dungeon* can take as few as 10 minutes if you try to check out every item and enemy.

The only thing that really bugged me before purchasing was I had read that this game can tell if you shut it off mid dungeon and will count it as a death *if you die you go back to the hub world level and loose all your items*. As a portable game that just didn't sound amazing. I'm not going to ruin the story for you but after every dungeon you beat you return to level one but you keep all stat increases from leveling up so lets say you started with 25 SPD and ended with 30. You go back to level one but keep 30 as your stat so your level one is higher than the last level one. And you run through items so quick in this game that losing them isn't that big of a deal. Turning off the game doesn't really count against you and it does allow you to go into sleep mode. I also tried it out on a GO and when you save through the 'pause' screen it doesn't count that either.

In the first chapter alone there were some pretty funny nods to anime and pop culture icons. If you have played Disgaea games before you know what to expect in the graphics department. For some the look they use isn't overly appealing but it does make up for it in the writing and game play. The voice actors are great and none of them have the 'I wish I could just do subtitles' voice that quite a few games suffer from.

The only downside I can think about this game is that sometimes the music overpowers the voice acting and at times can be hard to hear without cranking up the volume on your PSP.

Overall if you're looking for a fast paced rouge type game this is the way to go. People who enjoyed the Disgaea series will be able to appreciate the humor in this game *there are prinnies!!!* It's a definite play for NIS fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casual Grinder, November 11, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
This game is a grind fest taken to the mainstream consumer. It doesn't matter what your skill level is, if you can gain one level each time into the dungeons, you can progress to a point where you can beat the main game levels. Its like Diablo except even if you die you gain something(total levels and thus a bonus to stats on each level up in dungeon). There aren't anywhere near as many items as a Diablo style game but there is other depth that makes that a moot point and there are still a LOT of items for each of five body parts and there is a greater synergy between them. The shadowgram is a work of art and takes a long time to fully unlock -- I've got 50+ hours in and have about 16 squares yet to unlock with a total level of about 1800. You can't fully max your character until the entire grid is open and thus far no one has fully detailed how the entire thing works; It is complicated and open to interpretation as well based on your play style. The details are outlined in another review on game mechanics.

The best part of this game is you can store all your hard earned items in storage and then go out and just bear into a dungeon with no regard for the outcome as you will achieve, at minimum, a plus to your total levels and at maximum a surprise victory. I love that. On the flip side you can collect all those things and then gear up and head in for some serious post game carnage only to have them stripped from you by getting one shotted into oblivion and thus back to level one minus your gear. The good news = after taking down a boss, it is replaced by a fodder character which you can obtain(steal) the same equipments from again.

I will address one thing. You can sleep your psp in dungeons. Just make sure you allow that nothing is loading to/from the card or disc when doing so. Basically don't do it at the beginning of a level, during a level change or while the music is still loading or reloading. Mine has never botched but the previous is the consensus thus far over various firmwares and models.

The game is great overall. You could casually play it for over a year and not finish it completely or you could go hardcore and still have to spend substantial time on it. The one character concept alleviates the need for alternately leveling others but it makes up for it by having you learn a fairly complicated system to power up your Ranger. If I had a child that loved to play games, this is one that stimulates the mind as well as the imagination while not insisting on any level of skill and yet rewarding the use of skill appropriately, something I do not notice mentioned very often. The content may not be totally pc but its not too bad compared to school bus talk at around 4th grade level. Let's be honest, sheltering your child is only going to hinder them, while introducing and tempering them against foul language and lewd topics(which they WILL encounter) will allow them to grow into adulthood and acknowledge these topics on their own with your guidance and with a foreknowledge of how to handle the events. This game only provides a couple of instances of overt adult language usage. The innuendo however... that is entirely a different topic ;)

So.... go buy it for whoever or whatever reason. I preordered directly from NIS with the "sticker" and seeing the difficulty others are having I'm glad I paid a tad more and I get to enjoy my sticker too!

P.S. Its a good game. Lots of endings, items, enemies, levels, challenges, situations, and unique boss battles. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game play wrapped in a wacky and insane kind of story that only Nippon Ichi / NIS America can deliver., October 31, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
I have been playing the import version since that hit the Japanese market. So I was stoked to see that Nippon Ichi/NIS would be delivering a localized version to our shores. And in the fine tradition that is Nippon Ichi/NIS America, they have done a great job! This game has lost nothing on it's trip over to the US, from the crazy name, the great humor and fast paced Action/Rpg game play, it is all there. NIS has also delivered on the English vocal track finding actors that deliver a fun over the top performance that fits with the crazy story. And if you like NIS gives you the option to play with the Japanese vocal track, which is always nice to see.

TO long time fans of Nippon Ichi's other series like Disgaea, Phantom Brave. Just know that this is not the same type of Strategic turn based RPG as those series. Z.H.P Unlosing Ranger vs. DarkDeath EvilMan is a faster paced Action/RPG with some of the best and craziest customization that has been in any game.

And any game that has gives your character a money loving, over shopping, Divorce threatening Prinny(from Disgaea)for a wife...you just have to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wacky NIS-Style Rogue-like Adventure, January 12, 2011
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
If you are familiar with other games from NIS, you'll recognize the brand of humor and animation from the Disgaea franchise. It's a got Prinnies (including your starter wife), anime-style references, and the whole plotline is a boss-fight. Please note, this is a rogue-like game and not a tactical RPG.

Yep, you are in a boss fight. You keep losing until you win, as the story progresses, and you become more of a hero. It's amusing and over-the-top.

The actual game is fun for until you get around chapter eight on the storyline. At that point, you can't just keep going in dungeons blindly and bash, because your shadowgram is full and completing a dungeon won't appreciably raise your stats. This a rogue-like with endurance (if you run out of food, you starve). Whenever you complete a dungeon, die, or turn off the PSP mid-dungeon for that matter, you lose all the stuff you are carrying and your level resets to one. Your stats may get boosted a little based on your combined total levels.

Now the game lets you have some work-arounds. You can unlock buildings which have various abilities, and purchase special devices for your shadowgram. They let you carry more stuff, save items, and lose less energy. If like me, you don't have an Energy Saver by the later game, (a random drop from the caravan mid-dungeons), you'll will really suffer in terms of endurance. Ideally, you want an Energy Saver + a highly forged Appetite Engine to minimize endurance loss (oh, and absolutely don't dual wield unless it's a straight-forward boss fight... you'll starve).

While I have been enjoying the game, parts of the grind became annoying, especially having to constantly redo early levels to farm meat against later board starvation. My advice to completionists is deliberately run out of money early, so your wife makes you the 'bad lunch', otherwise it will be agony to get it. The other big thing I missed at first was when forging items together, you can use the L/R buttons to switch to your inventories. That way you can forge more than the two weapons you can equip.

If you like rogue-like games such as the Mystery Dungeons and the Tower of Druaga, you'll like this. It is on the easier side for a rogue-like though, meaning the gathering-type repetition is not interesting. At least that's my take (and why I only rated 3 stars on fun).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nethack With Disgaea Sensibilities, November 12, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
First things first, this is not Disgaea. It's not a tactical/strategy RPG like Disgaea is. You do not have a team of characters that you move around a map.

This game is a roguelike. You get one character. Each movement/action counts as a turn. All enemies take action right after you do. All actions use up energy which is replaced by food. You regenerate one health with each action as long as you have energy, but you lose one health with each action if you're out of energy. Abilities other than basic things (including a direct attack and throw) require various amounts of energy. Some items give you new abilities, a very few abilities are learned as the story progresses.

Items are fairly random drops. There are a mix of them: food, stat boosters, poison, armor, equipment, guns, swords, etc. There are also random traps. Your character can be confused, paralyzed, caught in a bear trap, knocked to another area, etc. The armor/weapons change the appearance and abilities of your character and are what make your character customizable. You can equip a cat tail, a robot head, and ride around on a prinny rocket. Each of these will provide you with different abilities/benefits. Each is also degraded as they're used and as you're hit. They don't vanish when completely broken, though. Instead the stat bonuses will be greatly reduced.

If you die, you're sent back to your base and lose any levels or items you were carrying - including equipped items (though you can do certain things to try to hold onto one or more items). Unlike a roguelike, you retain the stat bonuses you gained from the levels. If you complete a chapter, you do not have to redo that chapter. You only have to start from the beginning of whatever dungeon you're on when you reenter it.

The stat gains make it easier than a roguelike. So do some of the other advantages. It feels like you can breeze through a lot of the earlier stuff. I think I made it through the first three or so chapters without dying, but it gets a lot more difficult in the later chapters.

The difficulty of the early chapters is eased by the facilities you get for your base. You get about two more than what your base can hold, so the base design is just deciding which facilities you really want. Each facility has its own benefit. For instance, your home gives you a storage location and your character is provided with a wife at the start who will deliver a lunch to you when you're in the dungeon. If you put a church in your base you can make the enemies more difficult (to make leveling easier).

The hardest parts of the chapters tend to be the boss characters. It often seemed that by the time I reached the boss, I felt confident in my ability to survive and deal damage, but my character would be worn down while I tried to figure out the strategy necessary to beat the boss. You can't just rush in and pummel the boss to win (usually). They're really more puzzles than fights.

The story is broken up into chapters like Disgaea and has the same sense of humor. It's a sort of sarcastic/goofy mature humor. The authors really like to make things the opposite of what they seem to be. One of the characters sees everything through a moral lens and that may turn some off to the story, but the other characters poke fun at his straight-laced way of viewing the world.

Overall a good game. Probably best for someone that liked games like Nethack but had a hard time with them and also likes Disgaea's humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game of 2010, July 24, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
Can't say enough about how amazing this game is, specifically the story and how its themes are reflected perfectly in the gameplay. It's not as overtly ambitious on the narrative front as something like Heavy Rain, but if you pay attention to what the game is saying, you'll find a rewarding and edifying experience within. I wish more games aspired to something in the same way ZHP does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Z.H.P. Overview/review, March 15, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
If you're familiar with the Disgaea series then you will feel at home with Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman. If you do not like, or little less love the Disgaea series, or do not like reattempting missions over and over again, then stay completely away from this game. In general, this game is part rouge-like, part strategy RPG, part turn-base RPG, and a bit of an action-adventure game (as you can tell this game is hard to classify into a single genre for a game.) The system used for this game will take a while to get use to, but once you get use to it, you will love it, but expect to die (a lot) due to the learning curve. However, this game is fair for every time you die, you get stronger (since you never lose levels, ever.)

The story itself never takes itself serious, in which, it does it successfully. The humor of the story leads to fourth-wall breaking jokes to very mild sexual humor and to dark sadist jokes as well. But in a nut-shell you are becoming the Absolute Unlosing Ranger and you must defeat Darkdeath Evilman from destroying the world. Story and game play aside, the amount of customization is extremely high (if you live long enough to get it all), and the high replay value is thanked for the 15+ multiple endings.

Is this game worth the roughly $30, I would say yes to the fact you can become addicted to this game, and the game play works is well balanced. As well as, if you are a person who enjoys a challenge, expect to sink between 20-35 hours into this game alone.

I give it a 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing rogue-like RPG from NIS America!, December 29, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
I will preface this by saying this game is NOT Disgaea, so if you were expecting Disgaea, you might be disappointed. What it IS, however, is a great rogue-like RPG centered around grinding, superheroes, and even lightly touches on common themes from the Disgaea mythos. Very fun, very addictive, and very, very time consuming. Highly recommended for NIS America and rogue-like fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like disgaea, this is probably for you, January 20, 2014
By 
A. Lai (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
If you like disgaea, this is probably for you. Basically same system as Disgaea, Funny story. Easily 70+ hr game play. Tons of lvl grinding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman (Video Game)
Been playing it nonstop, but the permadeath system really takes a toll on the fun aspect. But in all aspects it really is a fun game to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Z.H.P. Unlosing Ranger vs. Darkdeath Evilman
Used & New from: $23.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.