Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fake Zatoichi and an underhanded obligation
Zatoichi, in jail due to illegal gambling, meets a co-prisoner who has been sentenced to die on false charges. "Help me!" the Doomed Man pleads to the Blind Swordsman. After prison, a man Zatoichi meets on the road begins to impersonate Zatoichi, ringing up huge bills at hotels and Geisha houses, before sneaking off into the night. And from there, the story begins...
Published on May 25, 2005 by Zack Davisson

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love zatoichi
This is not the typical Zatoichi movie. It has its good points, Zen moments, new situations for the blind hero, and the only two-sword performance in the series. The effort into this movie to stand out from the others feels a little unwelcome and a half-hearted effort in humor and plot, but a few scenes make it worth it. The idea in this one is that when Ichi tries to...
Published on June 10, 2004 by agwhat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fake Zatoichi and an underhanded obligation, May 25, 2005
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
Zatoichi, in jail due to illegal gambling, meets a co-prisoner who has been sentenced to die on false charges. "Help me!" the Doomed Man pleads to the Blind Swordsman. After prison, a man Zatoichi meets on the road begins to impersonate Zatoichi, ringing up huge bills at hotels and Geisha houses, before sneaking off into the night. And from there, the story begins.

"Zatoichi and the Doomed Man" ("Zatoichi sakate giri" or "Zatoichi's Underhanded Obligation") has Zatoichi attempting to clear two names, both the prisoners and his own. The false Zatoichi is leaving a disgruntled populace in his wake, as he sells Zatoichi's reputation to local Mob Bosses, then ditches before the fighting starts. The real Zatoichi, mostly ignorant of this double-play, follows in the impostor's wake, trying to locate the one man who can free his prison companion, doomed to die.

A good flick overall, with the impostor Zatoichi having some really funny comedy scenes, and Katsu Shintaro busting out all of his amazing sword techniques. The Doomed Man himself is a blatant plot-device to get Zatoichi into action, but serves his purpose. Not really epic in scope, or amazing in plot, all the actors do a good job creating a decent character-orientated swordfight flick. You will have fun with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blind Swordsman Undefeated, August 4, 2005
By 
Ryan "Eagle1701D" (Long Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
This was the very first Zatoichi movie I saw and I loved it. I was very impressed with the acting and the samurai action; especially Zatoichi. After I saw it I immediately began collecting the series. This is a must have for Zatoichi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zatoichi never dissapoints., April 30, 2005
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
This movie may not be the most action packed in the Zatoichi series, but the overall character development was well worth it. If you love Zatoichi you cant go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love zatoichi, June 10, 2004
By 
"agwhat" (Cranston, RI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
This is not the typical Zatoichi movie. It has its good points, Zen moments, new situations for the blind hero, and the only two-sword performance in the series. The effort into this movie to stand out from the others feels a little unwelcome and a half-hearted effort in humor and plot, but a few scenes make it worth it. The idea in this one is that when Ichi tries to shrug off his typical sense of duty as a hero he is somehow led right back to it and we are offered this Zen detachment theme. As always there are a few memorable sword fights and demonstrations of skill. I would suggest its predecessors first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars #11: ZATOICHI IMPERSONATED!, September 3, 2006
By 
Ernest Jagger (Culver City, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
This 11th entry of the Zatoichi series is more of a blend of comical adventure mixed in with drama. The opening film finds Ichi imprisoned for illegal gambling. While incarcerated he meets a fellow prisoner who tells Zatoichi that he is innocent, and implores Ichi to help him. Another drama unfolds elsewhere for Zatoichi as well when he discovers that another person has been impersonatinig him. And all the while running up huge bills and leaving the citizens of the places he visits upset.

Therefore, Zatoichi must clear not only the man who claims he is innocent, but his name as well. The fake Zatoichi sells himself to local Yakuza bosses and then flees before his services are needed. Upset, Ichi attempts to get to the bottom of all of this while also trying to help the "Doomed Man," in prison. The film is more of a light-hearted fare of the Zatoichi series. The comedic scenes of the fake Zatoichi are humorous; and a break from the more serious-themed Zatoichi episodes is attempted. All in all a welcome break, and a very good film. This is a fun watch and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A doomed man asks for help..., February 4, 2011
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
Zatoichi, in jail for gambling, meets a man who will die unless he can prove himself innocent of the crimes they say he did. Zatoichi ends up deciding to try to help the man by getting in touch with his Bosses - at least they will prove he didn't do it. But, if you are a fan of these films, you know things are never that easy. First there is a con-man, want-to-be monk that steals his name. Then there is the woman he finds tied up. Don't ask. Tons of humor, lots of sword play, and just a plot that never stops twisting. Also, the big fight in the end had some interesting ideas - the bad guys were trying to find ways to trap Zatoichi without putting themselves into too much danger. I will not say anything else for fear of spoiling those moments.
As always Shintaro Katsu is wonderfully funny and, sometimes, woefully tragic. His character REALLY would prefer it if he didn't have to kill people and sometimes I think he really wants to get away from humanity. Delightful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest!, February 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
Easily one of the funniest movies in the series! The imposter Ichi has some great physical comedy. All in all a really fun campy sword film. Definitely not one to be missed.

A great film and if you are lucky enough to own a copy count your blessings. It took the grace of God for me to find a copy out there for less than $100! I cannot understand why out of a 26 film series with all other titles available numbers 9 and 11 are the only ones unavailable.

These are great movies. The Zatoichi series is a classic and they should be avaialble for the public without having to pay ridiculous marked up prices.

Please someone, somewhere listen to the fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You may wish his sidekick was doomed, December 28, 2007
By 
Chess Buddhist (Long Beach, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
This film opens strong, with Zato taking 50 lashes in his own phlegmatic style, then amazing us with his blind marksmanship using bow and arrow. At this point, he picks up a raggamuffin follower to goes on to impersonate Zato for his own gain. This character annoyed me in the first watching, but later I came to tolerate him. The actor portraying the impersonator of Zato employs little subtlety in his craft, often mugging for the camera in an absurd effort to get a laugh. Film ends in a devasting battle with Zato slaughtering a whole gang of miscreants.

Another beautifully shot and splendidly choreographed action drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Justice is Blind...Good Thing I'm Not!, April 6, 2010
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
What is there to say? If you like the other Zatoichi films then you will enjoy this one. Like all of the other films there is a slight twist to the plot to keep it interesting to the viewer. All in all a great film but be careful what you pay for it there are some people out there who enjoy taking advantage of Zatoichi fans like us. If only the blind mans cane sword could cut the price as swiftly as he cuts down the wicked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top, August 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man (DVD)
I am to much a fan to be objective. So all I can tell is buy it and be one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zatoichi the Blind Swordsman, Vol. 11 - Zatoichi and the Doomed Man
Used & New from: $9.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.