Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This ain't no party, this ain't no disco...
When I saw video from the Japanese tsunami, it struck me how badly Hollywood gets it wrong when it comes to depicting disasters. Hollywood always shows bystanders standing in awe or running away hysterical, while the Japanese video showed people looking so sad at the sight of ocean waves flowing through their city streets. It's that kind of emotional realism that drives...
Published on April 28, 2011 by Richard E. Melo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incendiary
Della is a scientist who lives with her brother and his pregnant wife after graduating from school and having somewhat of a mental breakdown. She has an obsession with fire, as well as with people setting themselves on fire. Through her job at a local restaurant, through her brother's connections, and through her parents, Della is surrounded by people who are...
Published 24 months ago by Love at First Book


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This ain't no party, this ain't no disco..., April 28, 2011
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
When I saw video from the Japanese tsunami, it struck me how badly Hollywood gets it wrong when it comes to depicting disasters. Hollywood always shows bystanders standing in awe or running away hysterical, while the Japanese video showed people looking so sad at the sight of ocean waves flowing through their city streets. It's that kind of emotional realism that drives Zazen, and what sets Vanessa Veselka apart from other novelists setting their stories in post-911 `life during wartime'-style landscapes.

The novel is from the point of view of Della, a invertebrate paleontologist working as a waitress and who is obsessed by cases of self-immolation. Living under the anxiety of a pending war and bombs going off around the city, Della asks store employees to page her sister (who died years earlier) and starts calling in bomb threats to places around town. It's a bent view of reality the novel creates, and you never know how much of it is Della's creation. (Veselka is remarkably gifted at showing a warped world anchored by emotional realism.)

The bombings create a sense of community, though less with among the victims than those responsible, and after falling in with a crew of Baader-Meinhof type radicals, Della is pulled in different directions: alienation in one extreme and and connectedness in the other. She is also ineffectual at almost everything she tries, whether it's leaving town or convincing the person on the other end of the phone that her bomb threat is real.

It's a novel that reads like a tightly wound rock `n' roll record, its world comes across like a Twilight Zone episode that keeps getting weirder and weirder, and ultimately, it's a story about how hard it is to set yourself on fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Put away your meditation cushions and incense, because this Zazen has bite!, April 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
It's not every writer who can be this funny and also draw a clear-eyed portrait of a crumbling world. Veselka's characters worry about whether to be vegan or vegetarian, and they plan elaborate parties. Meanwhile, bombs fall just outside the frame of the story. The main character, Della, is sensitive enough to be driven crazy by the contradictions of her life and sane enough to be sympathetic.
If you're on the prowl for your next really good read, this novel deserves your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't underestimate this book, April 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
Somehow, this book is simultaneously a funny story about someone leaving an academic ivory tower to join an over-the-top hipster/hippie subculture, and an intensely emotional portrait of the unsettling feeling you get when you think too hard about whether our modern society is going to survive (and whether it should be allowed to.)
Veselka's voice (as the narrator Della) has a lyrical but gritty quality that makes everything seem both startling and familiar.
I'm having trouble capturing this in a review, but so if you're curious, try googling for the serialized version of the story that appeared in an online magazine, or for the youtube videos of the author reading excerpts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for an age, May 8, 2011
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
Zazen is a novel that looks without flinching at the special terrors of our times.

Yes, there are bombs. But that's not what I'm talking about. Lives are in danger, and limbs, but what's most imperilled in Della's narrative world is its soul. Nobody knows what this means; we struggle, we have struggled, we always will struggle - especially in our best books, our bravest songs - to untangle the chaos of desires and ethics and politics and overblown, blown-out powers and hopes that swirl in and around our beings in any given place and time. What makes Zazen such a powerful and important work is that it confronts the timeless, essential human questions - how to live? what to do? whether to fear? how to love? - within the distinct setting of the 21st-century urban global-industrial-capitalist terrorism-haunted American Pacific Northwest. And this world is envisioned by Della with a rare and phenomenal voice and vision, like a dirty diamond lit from within.

Throughout Zazen, Veselka's Della Mylinek blasts a searchlight into some of the darkest corners of a world that is sometimes uncomfortably familiar. In her narrative we recognize spectres of our own emaciated hopes and hollow disappointments, as they slink away into cracks in community-garden beds or between worn floorboards at the local food co-op. We know we're broken, however hard we try to be whole; but Della shows us where and how we break, with surgical precision and fiercely generous wit like nothing seen before. That is to say, she shows us with her own bones and flesh, in the form of a singular voice.

I wish to hell this book had existed when I was seventeen. What a gift to have Della as as a guide at that particular stage of American youth, when one is so acutely sensitive to the failings of society and also in love with its glorious possibilities, and so deeply embroiled in the terminally-confusing quest to secure a place and personhood in a world you're pretty sure you don't trust. Thankfully, as with the best books that guided us then, and like the best art we have, Zazen is an illumination that saves us from some of the blind fumblings of spirit and intellect we must endure in a world full of contradictions. And even for the calloused and jaded among us, no longer seventeen, Zazen is a fresh recollection of the beauty that can still flower within all this confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut novel I've read in years!, September 13, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Keene, New Hampshire USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
"Zazen" is an amazing achievement. I found myself grinning frequently whilst reading. The author's insightful swipe at John Zerzan and Derrick Jensen had me in tears of pure joy that I had difficulty explaining to those around me. I love everything about this book.

Through her use of the first-person, her female characters with male (red-neck) names, her encyclopedic knowledge of all things yoga and vegan, her love of rats, and fly-oil burning Mercedes, Vanessa Veselka has won my heart forever and ever.

Read this book. It will make you happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Catcher In the Rye for the oughts, July 17, 2011
By 
LeeAnn Heringer (Silicon Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
To misquote Zazen, "every generation defines their relationship with the universe." And while the protagonist, Della, is not my generation, she feels so real, so caught between the expectations of her hippy parents who know they have failed to change the world, the frustration with people who give their money to Walmart when it's really not in their best interests to, torn between ennui and anger and the "keep Portland weird" movement, the search to find meaning, to do meaningful things, when everything seems so hopeless and arbitrary and a thousand yoga sessions are not going to make you any more unique from the billions of people before you. How the knowledge that you are smarter than everyone around you and yet they don't care, burns inside you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Incendiary, December 25, 2012
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
Della is a scientist who lives with her brother and his pregnant wife after graduating from school and having somewhat of a mental breakdown. She has an obsession with fire, as well as with people setting themselves on fire. Through her job at a local restaurant, through her brother's connections, and through her parents, Della is surrounded by people who are hippie-radical types, and is focused on changing the world in some way, by using extreme measures.

When the places she calls in bomb threats to actually start being bombed, Della knows she needs to figure out the connection.

Continue reading at [...]

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca @ Love at First Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just sit there... and read it., February 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
Vaenessa Veselka's Zazen (Red Lemonade) dives bravely into plot, with the author's gymnastics reserved for language that soars and swirls in waves, reminiscent at times of Thomas Pynchon at his most accessible and Tom Robbins at his most fanciful. Vaselka's book is, however, hardly derivative. Della Mylinek, a recent paleontology graduate, grinds away at life in the near-future (perhaps) in Portland, Oregon. It's a dystopian world with America on the decline, trudging from war to war as what could be the sons and daughters of the Occupy movement have a choice to make: stick it out and fight the power, or skip country for third-world safety, away from the bombs and strip malls that equally disrupt the bleak horizon. Pick your existential poison, be it Hamlet or the Clash, and cue "Should I Stay or Should I Go."

Her degree behind her, Della is apparently damaged, given to snark, and serving up tofu in a vegan restaurant called Rise Up Singing. Tickets out of town in hand, she's unable to make up her mind on the Big Questions as she navigates the impact of her troubled past. Veselka's hard-driving storyline is populated by dyed-colorful characters weaving their way through a hopelessly grey landscape, marching into events ranging from mass funerals and protests to orgies to down-on-the-farm family gatherings. Everything in Zazen is radically charged: language, plot and subject matter. It is barren and beautiful, and deeply unnerving - a modern story for our modern times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zazen is a stunning debut, May 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
It is astonishing that Zazen is Vanessa Veselka's first book. She deftly balances laughter and wry bemusement and left me longing for more. Not only is Zazen a must-read, it is also a must-read-it-again. And again.

Hope that Veselka writes quickly. Anticipating her next work is like waiting for a special gift to arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh., March 7, 2014
This review is from: Zazen (Paperback)
The review by- Pavarti "Harmony~Tranquility~Simplicity~Respect"- said it best. There are some beautiful turns of phrase in this novel, absolutely fluid and resonant. Unfortunately, there wasn't much else going for it. The characters were unappealing and forgettable. The story reads like a half-rememberd dream; some bits are hauntingly familiar, but for th most part it is vague and directionless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zazen
Zazen by Vanessa Veselka (Paperback - May 22, 2011)
$15.95 $10.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.