Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Nice used copy with mild signs of prior usage and storage. Clean and attractive overall. Ships 1st class. [175b]
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Zemlinsky: Die Seejungfrau (The Mermaid) / Psalms 13 & 23
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Zemlinsky: Die Seejungfrau (The Mermaid) / Psalms 13 & 23

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, November 11, 1997
"Please retry"
$44.99 $6.89

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

View the MP3 Album.

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. Die Seejungfrau - 1. Sehr Mässig BewegtRadio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and Riccardo Chailly15:20Album Only
  2. Die Seejungfrau - 2. Sehr Bewegt, RauchendRadio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and Riccardo Chailly12:18Album Only
  3. Die Seejungfrau - 3. Sehr Gedehnt, Mit Schmerzvollem AusdruckRadio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and Riccardo Chailly12:31Album Only
  4. Zemlinsky: Psalm 13, Op.24Ernst Senff Chamber Choir and Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and Riccardo Chailly13:43Album Only
  5. Zemlinsky: Psalm 23, Op.14Ernst Senff Chamber Choir and Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and Riccardo Chailly10:56Album Only

Product Details

  • Performer: Kammerchor Ernst Senff
  • Conductor: Riccardo Chailly
  • Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
  • Audio CD (November 11, 1997)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: London / Decca
  • ASIN: B0000042D7
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #510,148 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Pater Ecstaticus on October 17, 2006
Format: Audio CD
The recent gorgeous recording of his Lyrische Symphonie [1923] with Matthias Goerne, Christine Schaefer, conducted by Christoph Eschenbach (ZEMLINSKY: Lyric Symphony op. 18) is continuing proof of that fact, I believe.
But about ten years earlier, Riccardo Chailly (like James Conlon, Antony Beaumont and Gerd Albrecht, an avid advocate of Zemlinsky's art) set out on a series of recordings of Zemlinsky's masterworks, like his orchestral fantasy/symphonic poem Die Seejungfrau (of around 1900), which we are reviewing here. While not as freely polychromatic and dense as his later Lyrische Symphony, and while not as grand in scope (it is over half an hour long), this Die Seejungfrau is in itself an engaging piece of evocative music. Here it is given a dramatic reading by Riccardo Chailly conducting the Radio-Symphonie-Orchester (now Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester) Berlin, with an almost psychologic intensity, which also characterizes his cycle of Mahler symphonies he recorded with (mainly) the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.
Although Die Seejungfrau was written after the story by Hans Christian Andersen, and although Alexander Zemlinsky himself had devised some kind of 'program', the music doesn't follow the narrative explicitly, as it was Zemlinsky's (and Schoenberg's) wish to write music which transcended the distinction between 'absolute' and 'programme' music.
The music for Die Seejungfrau begins mysteriously, with low brass and slowly toiling low harp-strings, soon covered by rustlings of high harp and flute, evoking a sense of looking up, from the depths of the sea bed towards the light of the bright sun, reflected through the waves far away up above ...
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: zemlinsky: die seejungfrau, zemlinsky chailly