Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gives a boost to the term "Low Budget"
I'm one of those casual film buffs who are intrigued with what folks can accomplish with limited resources. After megadoses of Terminator-esque computerized special effects, I love a good low budget flick where the film makers make the most with what they have. While this flick has its flaws, it is oh-so worthwhile to check out.
Natsuki Ozawa plays "Zero Woman," an...
Published on March 24, 2003 by K. Brown

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A "more bitter, and warmer" crime drama from Tokyo Shock
"I once heard that blood tastes like pomegranates. That's not true. Blood tastes more bitter, and warmer."
That's one of the thoughts that Rei (zero in Japanese, hence Zero Woman) thinks at the beginning of this crime drama. She's lean and has a pretty yet haunted look on her, but she's a skillful operative with gun or sword, and in one instance, a butcher's hook...
Published on July 22, 2003 by Daniel J. Hamlow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gives a boost to the term "Low Budget", March 24, 2003
This review is from: Zero Woman (DVD)
I'm one of those casual film buffs who are intrigued with what folks can accomplish with limited resources. After megadoses of Terminator-esque computerized special effects, I love a good low budget flick where the film makers make the most with what they have. While this flick has its flaws, it is oh-so worthwhile to check out.
Natsuki Ozawa plays "Zero Woman," an anonymous secret police agent in the "La Femme Nikita" mode. The differences between Zero and Nikita deal both the plus and minus cards in the flick.
The minus is that we learn little about what landed Zero Woman into her career as a killer for the law. Such a drag, because they did give a hint of depth to her by revealing that despite her long string of successful and flawless hits, she never gets over the chill of bumping off people. She looks smooth, calm, even poetic when executing a baddy, yet she has morals enough to stay on the right side of the law, and not buy into "police loyalty" if a cop goes crooked. She is an intriguing character, which impressed me in such a low budget shoot 'em up flick. Just a little more explanation into her former life and background would have vaulted this from a slick B-Movie to a top notch low budget hit in the tradition of "El Mariachi."
The plus? I have seen scores of "killer chick flicks." I enjoy them whether they be artsy "La Femme Nikitas," or cheapy "Switchblade Sisters." However, while these gals are sexy with provocative dress and implied sensuality, Natsuki Ozawa drives new meaning into the notion "steamy & sultry!" There are numerous scenes of a topless Ozawa (including one where she tears a blood stained dress off her body while driving away from a hit during the night)that are genuinely sensuous, and come off as much more than cheap T&A shots. Many of these partially-clad scenes show her sporting her gun; yes, real life violence is horrid, but chicks who shoot guns in movies are sexy!
If there is one major turn off in this film, it is the repeated use of the villains sexually assaulting their victims to incite the viewers anger. If the rest of the film was not so well made, I would have tossed the DVD out midway.
If you opt for the dubbed instead of the subtitled option, the dubbing is not too bad with the exception of the drugged out villainess whose voice is more than annoying: her dubbed voice is toxic, like an amped-up version of the Mrs. Swann character on Mad TV.
All in all, this is an impressive flick done on what looks like a shoestring budget. Natsuki Ozawa's performance is top notch, as are most of the performers. Worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A "more bitter, and warmer" crime drama from Tokyo Shock, July 22, 2003
This review is from: Zero Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"I once heard that blood tastes like pomegranates. That's not true. Blood tastes more bitter, and warmer."
That's one of the thoughts that Rei (zero in Japanese, hence Zero Woman) thinks at the beginning of this crime drama. She's lean and has a pretty yet haunted look on her, but she's a skillful operative with gun or sword, and in one instance, a butcher's hook. Yet despite the experience she's had shooting criminals, it's eating her away. "Killing still makes me shiver. It makes want someone to hold me."
Rei is assigned to intercept a suitcase of stock certificates worth ten million dollars, but a group of young Chinese punks intercept the suitcase and flee. The suitcase is handcuffed to a gangster, but that doesn't stop them. A swift chop of the sword and there's off, hand and all. After that, she is assigned a partner in Kishima and she instantly falls for him, leading to a really hot sex scene at his flat. Her investigations lead to a fortune-telling shop owned by Ann, who happens to be the sister of one of the thieves. A nice visual image is made by the pattern of yellow and red flower petals swirling in the glass vase at her shop.
The yakuza, whose leader has a penchant for shooting things on his video camera, are also after the stock certificates and the thieves. He also has a nasty younger brother who rapes Ann when he finds her.
I also detect a note of realism this drama tried to achieve. One was Rei chasing after one of the thieves. After an extended chase, both are winded, and there isn't the usual Hollywood action scene where the cop tackles the bad guy, says "Gotcha!" or "Hands up!" Instead, they take turns at a fountain in the woods, Rei keeping her gun trained while she takes a drink. Another is a really graphic surgery scene involving the extraction of a bullet with an exacto knife and pliers. Ouch!
Ozawa Natsuki (Rei) was a Japanese centerfold model and she appears topless quite a lot in the movie, including one where she drives with one hand and pulls the top of her dress down to wipe some spilled blood. Memo: add hand-eye coordination to her assets.
A very high body count in this movie, with lots of violence and blood, and yes my initial reaction to this when comparing it to Zero Woman Returns may have been harsh, but this isn't as bad as I initially made out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Natsuki Ozawa is hot Hot HOT!!!, October 15, 2000
This review is from: Zero Woman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I give all the little orange stars to the red hot mega-babe, NATSUKI OZAWA! Mmmm.. She is SO yummy looking!! The movie itself is pretty decent, it is not bad at all, plenty of violence, shootings, nudity, and the beautiful shower scene with of course, Natsuki Ozawa! It's also great to see her blasting away all the bad guys as well in style.. She sorta reminds me of an Asian Lara Croft, heh.. Fans of John Woo movies may like this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no wire works, no antigravity!, August 12, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Zero Woman (DVD)
I enjoyed this dvd very much.But i felt absolutely sad for the heroine and for Anne and her brother. It is refreshing to see martial art fights without wire works as in Crouching Tiger.The fighters including the Heroine did All the fights themselves without stand-in's,camera tricks,etc.A great movie.Who say a good movie must be big budget? Look at Kelvin Costner's Water World!I understand there IS a sequel-Zero Woman Returns. I want to buy it if Amazon has it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zero Woman - Not Just a Pretty Face!, October 10, 2001
By 
Mark Dalton (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Japanese media "Idol" Chieko Shiratori demonstrates she comes by her status honestly by taking a turn as the icy cool Zero Woman in this intriguing Asian thriller. For an interesting discussion of the Idol phenomenon in Pacific Rim culture, see cyberpunk novelist William Gibson's great book, "Idoru" (available right here at Amazon), but in the meantime let's just say that Shiratori's images are all over the internet, as well as prominently featured in Japanese fashion magazines. But can she act? On the evidence presented in "Dangerous Game," some might say yes, and call for more! An unusual film for an Asian thriller, "Dangerous Game" has plenty of blood and violence, but the development of the two female characters who take up most of the screentime here (Shiratori's Rei - assassin and, in this film, bodyguard - and the cranky gangster's moll turned prosecution witness Rei is assigned to keep alive) is unusually rich, and their blossoming relationship runs somewhat counter to the expectations of this testosterone-laden genre. Shiratori has an engaging presence onscreen - beautiful, powerful, but with a touch of melancholy intelligence that transcends the comic-book limitations of her character. "Zero Woman - Dangerous Game" is an entertaining diversion, and hopefully a sign of good things to come from Shiratori; a woman who, with serious material and a skilled director, could perhaps bring her own, uniquely Japanese strain of the "velvet and steel" Asian woman to worldwide film audiences that has made Gong Li an international star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad actioner with the sexiest Rei yet!, August 29, 2003
A crime ring led by corporate head Daidohji hires a hitman, Katsumura, to take out Rei, who has intercepted some information being delivered to them by one of their colleagues.
However, Rei is in a bit of a slump. Not only does she shoot a criminal and leave him bleeding without killing him, she is haunted by the death of her father when she was a girl. Her boss tells her that she needs to go after Daidohji and his gang. "Failure could mean the end of Division Zero. Become a machine, or else you'll get yourself caught up." The translation's "tangled up" seems a better choice of words.
Rei runs into Katsumura and the two end up in bed. Yet Katsumura, attracted to her even though he has a girlfriend, Tomomi, hesitates in killing her, which is professionally very bad for a hitman. This puts him on very shaky ground with Daidohji, who demands him to get rid of Rei ASAP.
Rei too is hesitant, not only because of their encounter, but because of the traumatic memories of her father. She's also burned out of killing, yet she tries to do it on her own terms. Other times, she wishes she were dead.
The motion of the characters are kind of jerky in places, so it doesn't look like it was shot on film but rather some video camera. And people who have movies distributed by Asia Pulp Cinema can discover where the theme music used in APC's preview for coming attractions came from--here.
There is a higher degree of action here, with a shootout scene in a maze of metal shelves akin to that of a Western. In fact there is a bluesy harmonica that comes into play at times. Another time, Rei spots Katsumura and says to herself, "Doc Holliday."
I've only seen the first three Zero Womans, this one included, but Kumiko Takeda is by far the sexiest Rei I've ever seen. It's those pointed and pronounced eyebrows, plus those eyes that do it for me. However, for a better quality movie with Takeda, check out Close Your Eyes And Hold Me.
With the Zero Woman series taken over by Asia Pulp Cinema, yes, there is more violence, blood, and sex than when ZW was distributed by Tokyo Shock. However, it isn't made clear exactly what business Daidohji is into, and we never find out what causes Katsumura's bad dreams. Also, the ending left me as disillusioned and angry as Rei, and for that I knock this down a star. Worth as a time-killer and for looking at Kumiko Takeda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For fans of CoCo or J-trash only, December 18, 2000
By 
Saburo (Honolulu, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
J-exploitation made for the video-only market. Originally hyped as a breakout role for Mikiyo Ohno, a former member of CoCo -- a Japanese singing group whose level of suggestiveness was limited to two-piece bikinis.
Ohno, 23 years old at the time of this production, did not have much of a solo career following the breakup of the group in 1994 and figured this vehicle would jumpstart a languid resume.
The story is, of course, another rip-off of "La Femme Nikita" and the script was probably hammered out in a day. There are long moments of awkward solitude with Ohno contemplating her twisted morality in the nude -- a model assassin, indeed!
The level of satisfaction with this video will probably be proportional to your devotion to 1) CoCo, or 2) Japanese trash cinema and its varied cousins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zero Woman 2, July 9, 2006
This review is from: Zero Woman (DVD)
I own two of the "Zero Woman" movies about Rei, Agent Zero in an ultra-undercover branch of the Police Department. She doesn't need a final "07". A different girl plays Rei in each of the 8 or 9 films in the series. In #2, it is sexy Natsuki Ozawa, whose given name may mean "Summer Tree", but it's shown only in phonetics, so I'm not certain. I have a DVD Region 2 profile of her(2520 yen) and a photo album book titled "Drug" (6250 yen), both ordered from Japan. She was born 4/19/72, is 5'2.3" tall and has a 30.8"/23/32.8 figure."Zero Woman 3" Kumiko Takeda is more beautiful and is the same height with a 34"/22.7"/32.4" figure. She was born 8/12/68. I just bought a 2002 DVD profile of her(3420 yen), and I own six of her films and ten of her photo books I bought in San Francisco's Japantown. Her surname means WarField, and her given name means EternallyBeautifulChild. She is well-named! Some of the questions other reviewers ask about #2 are answered in #3. They have summarized #2 pretty well. I add that Rei and her corrupt cop lover shoot each other at the end. Rei obviously survives to appear in several more movies.#3 ends with a 3-way showdown a la "The Good, The Bad And The Ugly"(and the same music) with Rei, her boss and her "assassin lover". The boss shoots the lover, and Rei shoots her boss. He survives for other movies, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zero Woman (2), July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zero Woman (DVD)
This film is the second in the series that started with the revival in the nineties. Section 0 is the covert op division of the Tokyo police department. Natsuki Ozawa plays special agent Rei, code name Zero. A trio of petty criminals steal a case of stock certificates worth millions from a deal between a dirty politico and a criminal boss. Rei is tasked with tracking them down and retrieving the stocks. The complication is that her assigned partner is in a relationship with one of the trios sister. A good cop drama but the action scenes are low budget for this 1995 film. Guns are louder than reality and the fight scenes towards the end look less than tv movie quality. Other than that this is a good film overall. Note that the film is both Japanese and English-dubbed. Watch in Japanese (with subs) because the English version is horrible. Unless you like bad translations and want to laugh at the voice overs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good female stars, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zero Woman Triple Shot (DVD)
The staring women were very nice and I like to see many views of Japan life style during the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zero Woman
Zero Woman by Daisuke Gotô (DVD - 2000)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.