Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zigbee before and during development
This is a good reference to get before you start your work on a Zigbee project because it will get you thinking of the issues involved and if Zigbee is the correct solution. The protocal stack for Zigbee is quite large but it offers many features. Most manufacturers have a proprietary or third party stack that offers fewer features but take up substantially less code...
Published on October 28, 2008 by J. Dowling

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - Too bad the examples are incomplete
The ZigBee specs can be very hard to read and understand. This book really helps. Unfortunately, the listed website has no links so the examples are not easily available. Doing some research, I found that the real url is [...]. There you can find only the code for Chapter 7.

The data captures in the downloads are in dcf format which is a simple text...
Published on July 30, 2010 by Roger D. Feeley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - Too bad the examples are incomplete, July 30, 2010
This review is from: Zigbee Wireless Networking (Paperback)
The ZigBee specs can be very hard to read and understand. This book really helps. Unfortunately, the listed website has no links so the examples are not easily available. Doing some research, I found that the real url is [...]. There you can find only the code for Chapter 7.

The data captures in the downloads are in dcf format which is a simple text representation of the data without annotation. The author seems to say that the dcf file can be viewed with the Daintree SNA packet sniffer. The problem is that Daintree dropped SNA so it's unavailable. The reader is left with this:

#Format=4
# SNA v2.2.0.1 SUS:20090221 ACT:606272
1 1207336071.837218 10 030860ffffffff07ffff 165 1 -45 255 1 0 1 32767
2 1207336073.824876 10 03082cffffffff07ffff 188 1 -38 255 2 0 1 32767
3 1207336073.827045 24 00809f000f0000ffcf0000002184010004b037c25000ffff 161 1 -46 255 3 0 1 32767
4 1207336075.849341 21 23c82d000f0000ffff020004b037c25000018effff 194 1 -36 255 4 0 1 32767

Which isn't very useful. It would be much better if the author would do a text extraction similar to what's in the book which describes every field.

Frame 3 (Length = 24 bytes)
IEEE 802.15.4
Frame Control: 0x8000
.... .... .... .000 = Frame Type: Beacon (0x0000)
.... .... .... 0... = Security Enabled: Disabled
.... .... ...0 .... = Frame Pending: No more data
.... .... ..0. .... = Acknowledgement not required
.... .... .0.. .... = Intra PAN: Not within the PAN
.... ..00 0... .... = Reserved
.... 00.. .... .... = Destination Address: not present
..00 .... .... .... = Reserved
10.. .... .... .... = Source Address: 16-bit short address
Sequence Number: 205
Source PAN Identifier: 0x0bef
Source Address: 0x0000
MAC Payload
Superframe Specification: 0xcfff
.... .... .... 1111 = Beacon Order (0x000f)
.... .... 1111 .... = Superframe Order (0x000f)

In summary, I think this is an excellent effort but is incomplete. An email to the author requesting dumps was not returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zigbee before and during development, October 28, 2008
This review is from: Zigbee Wireless Networking (Paperback)
This is a good reference to get before you start your work on a Zigbee project because it will get you thinking of the issues involved and if Zigbee is the correct solution. The protocal stack for Zigbee is quite large but it offers many features. Most manufacturers have a proprietary or third party stack that offers fewer features but take up substantially less code space. The book and examples are for Freescale processors (and thier IDE) but do apply generally to others. Some code from the book is available on the book's web site but as of when I checked last (Oct. 2009) it was quite a bit less than I would have expected. Hopefully that will change. Never the less there is plenty of Zigbee code online to download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book but where the example code is?, September 2, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zigbee Wireless Networking (Paperback)
this is a great book, however the code examples used in the book is not really on the related website, in fact only one chapter has code there, thus 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have if you have a Zigbee Project, April 30, 2011
By 
Jose (Medellin, Colombia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zigbee Wireless Networking (Paperback)
Zigbee is not only a transceiver... there is a whole world of possibilities, specially with the ZCL and the Application Profile. This book explains in deep detail these items neccesary to create a Zigbee Application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hands Down the Best Book on ZigBee, September 13, 2008
By 
TimG "TimG" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zigbee Wireless Networking (Paperback)
This book has boiled down thousands of pages of complex specifications into a clearly readable, easily understood description of what ZigBee is and how it should be implemented. Mr. Gislason knows what he is talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ZigBee reference though somewhat dated, July 24, 2014
By 
John S. Kjellman (Orland Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zigbee Wireless Networking (Paperback)
A bit dated but an excellent reference for those technical types interested in ZigBee. A must have for every bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hands-on approach, April 2, 2009
By 
This review is from: Zigbee Wireless Networking (Paperback)
I borrowed this book from a friend of mine and I'm really impressed with it. I wanted my students (university and graduate level) to develop some projects using Zigbee, but the documentation found online is horrible. Then I found this book and thought "now they don't have any excuses!"... Mr Gislason takes a very practical hands-on approach walking you through the concepts and exemplifying them with running code. I am sure ordering my copy today... but meanwhile I will keep my friend's book with me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on ZigBee!, October 16, 2008
This review is from: Zigbee Wireless Networking (Paperback)
Drew Gisalson is a well respected person in the ZigBee community and his book is without a doubt the best book so far on ZigBee. The book has a very "practical" approach and has lots of source code examples (which also are available for download!!) that can be used directly by the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zigbee Wireless Networking
Zigbee Wireless Networking by Drew Gislason (Paperback - August 29, 2008)
$72.95 $65.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.