Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Sixx AM Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 2, 2006
The Zircon CF 12 PRO saves hours of hunting for the correct breaker to shut off a circuit. Instead of the old fashioned trial and error approach, you merely attach the transmitter to the circuit to be worked on, then take the 'sniffer' (receiver) to the circuit breaker panel. By running the 'sniffer' over all the breakers twice (the first time to calibrate the unit, the second time to locate the circuit you are connected to) you locate the correct breaker in less than a minute. Shut off the breaker, go back to the sender, and confirm the light is off. You are ready to rock and roll. The unit comes with connectors that can be used with clips, standard 120V plugs, blades for larger or unusual plugs, and a light socket adapter. Also, all this comes in a durable, lockable plastic box with a well designed foam insert that keeeps all the parts protected, yet readily accessible. What more could you ask for? Time is money, and this unit will pay for itself after the first couple of times you use it. Don't leave the shop without it!
11 comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2007
I had a 10 or 15 year-old breaker finder from Radio Shack which would always identify several breakers as "the one". This Zircon unit works perfectly, always identifying just 1 breaker, and it's the correct one.

Make sure you understand and follow the directions. The signal from one wire will be coupled to nearby wires. This can't be avoided. The reason you have to run the detector past all the circuit breakers once is to let it identify the strongest signal. On this first pass it may light up on more than one breaker. But on the 2nd pass, it'll only indicate the breaker with the strongest signal, which is the one you're looking for. It's also important that you orient the detector as shown in the instructions.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2007
Product worked well for us. We have a complicated office with four sub-panels, some 220V, and wires running all over everywhere with little apparent pattern. We were able to figure out where almost everything went, with a few exceptions. And because it works on live circuits we didn't need to turn breakers on and off.

The unit is very easy to use because it automatically adjusts for signal strength. Run it past each breaker twice and it reliably identifies the one that's connected to the probe at the other end.

We did run into a problem with the unit -- it died after one week. We called the company, which repaired it and shipped in back in working condition promptly and without complaint.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2008
After running back and forth turning on and off circuit breakers, I had enough and bought this circuit finder. A was getting really tired of setting all the clocks in the house after turning off the breakers to find the right one. This circuit finder is very useful and finds the breaker your looking for. It hasn't missed one yet. The sensor tip picks up the signal from the transmitter at the breaker. It's well made and comes in a nice carry case to keep you organized and prevents damage to the tool. I recommend this in conjuntion with Greenlee's circuit tester, a $5 dollar tool that will let you know if a wire is hot or not. You can never be too safe with electricity. I recommend this tool, just be safe and smart while using it. As always if you're not comfortable with it in your hands you should call an electrician.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2012
I like the clips, prongs & plug in conectors which expand the ability check circuits. One problem is I could not identify circuits on a sub panel for my generator when I needed to replace a light switch.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2009
I was deciding between the standard circuit finder and the circuit finder pro, which is about $70 more. I opted for the more expensive one, and I have absolutely no regrets. The pro version provides you with far more versatility. Not only can you detect circuits for devices plugged into outlets, but essentially any other electrical items (light sockets, exposed wires), by using the included adapters.
It has allowed me to identify circuits on the very first attempt, by myself, without having to trek from the electrical panel in the basement to any of the other floors in the house. Just a great investment.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2007
Works flawlessley EVERY time. Even on double breakers it identifies the correct one. Highly reccomend.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2012
I've used this tool for over a year on 120 volt circuits with no issues and great results. I tried using it on a 277 volt lighting circuit and it blew the transmitter. Zircon tech support said it should have worked, & replaced the entire unit for no charge very quickly. If you purchase this unit for use on 277V circuits, you might want to test it out as soon as you get it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2013
For the price this tracer can't be beat. It has not failed me yet and has helped me out on numerous occasions. Although you have to have a live circuit to use, tracers that don't require a live circuit cost waaay more money. I love the case it comes in and all the accessories and you should not hesitate to buy. Take time in learning how it works and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
This isn't the first device I've purchased to chase circuits. It is however, the only one that really does the job. I read about this item in a review for a similar device and agree that this task isn't going to be accomplished with a $30 device. The Zircon is very accurate and makes quick work of circuit identification. Strongly recommended although device durability may be an issue with daily use. Case holds all parts and pieces and is adequate for occasional use around the house.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.