Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read again and again
Well, if my four-year-old's demands for a repeat are anything to go by, this book is a winner. It reminds me of the Stella books somehow (Marie-Louise Gay). Zoe is the kind of girl you want to hang out with and her concerns match those of my four-year-old (I want to go and explore so I need pockets for my magnifying glass and a small jar, but I also want to do pirouettes...
Published on May 15, 2012 by Suzy Black

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cute book
I got this book to read to my six year old. When I opened the package from Amazon her eyes lit up at the sparkly dazzling cover. She is a typical girly-girl and loves anything with sparkles. She enjoyed looking at the pictures before I read it to her and the story is simple enough that she can read it on her own. It was short and sweet and kept her attention but I can...
Published on July 30, 2012 by Loves those books


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read again and again, May 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
Well, if my four-year-old's demands for a repeat are anything to go by, this book is a winner. It reminds me of the Stella books somehow (Marie-Louise Gay). Zoe is the kind of girl you want to hang out with and her concerns match those of my four-year-old (I want to go and explore so I need pockets for my magnifying glass and a small jar, but I also want to do pirouettes on the grass so I need my tutu).

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Slice of a Child's Life, May 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
This book captures perfectly a typical day in the life of my two granddaughters. Tutus, princess dresses, imaginative costumes of every description allow for creative play and fun galore. I think Beth Murguia has created a fanciful and yet accurate portrayal of young children at play. Kids will see themselves at every turn of the page. Excellent illustrations! A wonderful read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkly and Vivacious,the book Zoe Gets Ready is a Total Hit Here!, August 16, 2012
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Ah, Zoe !!!!What a TREAT she is, as a personality!

Possibly Zoe might be just exactly like your little girl, your little granddaughter, or your best friend's daughter!

Any little girl around age three or so, who is special to you, deserves to have this darling book in her life!

It is so perfect for so many girls, and so true! You will see how much everyone will just adore it.
The story is lovely, and the illustrations are just fantastic! They have with so many details to notice. Overall, Zoe Gets Ready is SO pretty and fun!

First of all, the book cover has sparkles (real 3-D sparkles texturing the picture) and this is very appealing. You see Zoe contemplating her closet and wardrobe; including the fairy wings which could be donned......doesn't everyone need that? Of course we do!

The story begins with "On school days, soccer days, and rainy days, someone else always chooses what Zoe will wear." Zoe looks a little bored, as she clearly has other ideas for her outfits.
"But today is Saturday, and that means Zoe gets to decide". At this point, you see her room and closet and drawers half opened. Clearly, this is GREAT, to have the opportunity to make her own decisions! Her little sister and their puppy peek in the bedroom door! So sweet!

Then she begins to imagine adventures she will have in different outfits, such as collecting frogs with pockets, or acorns. However already her mother is calling, "Come on and get ready, we aren't spending the whole day in the house"!

Zoe considers a twirling day, as she has a twirling skirt! She contemplates this on her bed while her sister puts pajamas on her head.The bedroom gets messier! Zoe imagines more adventures, simple adventures, including seeing butterflies, sitting in a tree looking down at her sister and dog from above, blending in or standing out. Again her mother calls, and Zoe decides----to wear---everything! Including mittens and scarves and cowboy boots and fairy wings! It is really sweet!
The story is universal, and charmimg. It is beautifully drawn and watercolored. Any child will love it. As will the lucky person reading it aloud!
What a fabulous book!Five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cute book, July 30, 2012
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I got this book to read to my six year old. When I opened the package from Amazon her eyes lit up at the sparkly dazzling cover. She is a typical girly-girl and loves anything with sparkles. She enjoyed looking at the pictures before I read it to her and the story is simple enough that she can read it on her own. It was short and sweet and kept her attention but I can tell that after reading this a couple of more times this book will be tossed aside. I think it would probably be better suited for a 3-5 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saturdays for Zoe!, August 1, 2012
By 
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Little girls and girls of all ages are often challenged by the 'what to wear today?' conundrum. Bethanie Deeney Murgia is an artist of words and images and addresses this dilemma in a most entertaining way. This book ZOE GETS READY is as fine to look at as it is to read: Murgia is a very talented illustrator as well as a gifted writer.

Zoe is a little girl with imagination. On school days she in instructed what to wear depending on school days, soccer days and rainy days. But Saturdays Zoe gets to select her own wardrobe - a suit of clothes that would be fitting for gathering pocket things, twirling with a great skirt, cartwheeling, exploring, blending in, or standing out. But when the castigating call from the mother demands she stop daydreaming and get dressed Zoe has her own solution - with a couple of additions!

This is a story young girls will love and one with which mothers will identify! Murgia's pen and ink and watercolor drawings are superb and rich with imagination. This well-designed book is exceptional. Watch for the book awards nominations....Grady Harp, August 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 2 Year Old Daughter Loves This Book, September 20, 2012
By 
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Well into picking out her own clothes, I think this story about getting ready really appeals to my 2 year old. The art is a lot of fun with deep perspective and the mom yelling at Zoe is her favorite part. My little girl has memorized much of the dialogue and has been asking for this book by name at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 and 5 year old girls, September 16, 2012
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The dust jacket of this book, embossed all over with glitter sparkles, announces that 4 year olds are going to love this book. The illustrations are lovely with somewhat stylized pen-and-ink drawings filled in with bright and appealing watercolors.

Zoey is that typical little girl who dresses each weekday morning in the clothes that "someone else chooses". However on Saturday she gets to decide herself. She stands before her closet, hands on her hips, thinking about what particular outfits would be appropriate for the ideas she has.

Each page shows her having fun imagining, for example, wearing a dress with pockets to collect nature specimens or a leotard and tights while doing cartwheels outside. Her reverie is frequently interrupted by a conversation "bubble" from the next room: Mom would like her to decide and get on with it.

One small quibble which makes this a 4 rather than 5-star book for me. Towards the end, the plaintive "bubbles" from Mom become 3" letters spelling out "Zoey Now!!!" across a double-page spread. It seems that encouragement is now yelling. Sure enough, right away she pulls on all the choices together (bathing suit, mittens, boots, two dresses, etc.) and is ready to go. With the mention of "just one more thing" and the addition of butterfly wings she is off.

It is possible that if Zoey's closet pole was at a 4 year-old's height, and if she got practice choosing outfits more often, say, the evening before, weekend dressing wouldn't be so overwhelming for her. Still the author has written what must be many parent's experience. I also agree with other reviewers who suggest that the author has created a winning personality in Zoe. I would definitely want to read more about her upcoming explorations and adventures like Vera Rosenberry did with her eponymously named series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Imagination of a Young Child is a Wondrous Thing, September 9, 2012
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I fell in love with this book just by the cover alone. You cannot tell by a picture on a computer screen, but the true cover is all sparkly and embossed. It sets the stage for the many facets of little Zoe. A little girl whose weekday outfits are picked by others, but on Saturdays, glorious Saturdays, Zoe gets to do the picking.

Here in lies the dilemma, is this Saturday going to be a pocket day where you need to bring home treasures or a cartwheel day where your toes can touch the sky. Or a blend in day where you can hide in a tree and your little sister cannot find you.

I adore Zoe and her zany way of handling her situation. Why not, it is only clothing and the imagination of a young child is a wondrous thing.

Bethanie Denney Murguia is a talented storywriter and illustrator and I look forward to seeing more of Zoe's wonderful solutions to everyday quandaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GIRLS JUST WANT TO HAVE FUN -- AND CLOTHES!!!!!, August 30, 2012
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
ZOE GETS READY

Zoe is your typical little girl -- she has a little sister and a dog and a mama. The entire story is based on Zoe picking out her outfit for the day -- and all of the problems and excitements that small chore causes. Girls, can we women relate or what?

I read this book to my five year old grand daughter, Paige. She loved how Zoe would pick out outfit after outfit, each for that special occasion! She needed a certain look for twirling! Zoe had to have the perfect look for sitting in a tree and blending in. So many decisions! So many clothes! So many choices! All the while, Zoe's mom is loosing her patience, trying to wait for Zoe to hurry up and decide which outfit to wear so they can leave.

How many times have you lived this scenario with your own little girls? Paige and I noticed right away how the clothing items in Zoe's closet full of clothes got smaller and smaller and so many hangers were left bare. We also noticed the big pile of clothes on Zoe's floor and the clothes thrown here and there -- not to mention the clothes on top of Zoe's baby sister's head.

This is a delightful, fun, sweet, and totally aimed in the right direction and association of young baby girls who just can't decide what to wear each day! Paige and I laughed and giggled at the outfits Zoe put together and her reasons why she chose those clothes! Paige decided that she is going to pick out her outfit for kindergarten before she goes to bed at night. But, she told me, that in the morning she might change her mind! Girls, can't we ALL relate?

The story line is good and true, one any little child can relate to. The prose is simple, easy for a first little reader to sit down and read. The illustrations are adorable and vibrant.

Paige and I loved this book and I know we will be reading it many more times in the future.

Thank you!

Pam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Children will have fun reading this book and thinking about clothes, August 30, 2012
This review is from: Zoe Gets Ready (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is a forty page clever book with usually one to four eye-catching funny lines on each page, with colorful pen-and-ink and watercolor drawings. Someone chooses what Zoe must wear on school, soccer, and rainy days, but not on Saturday when she can decide what to wear. But Zoe has trouble deciding. Then she thinks she will dress to suit the kind of day she will have. But should it be a pocket day when she can collect treasures, a twirling day when she can spin around, a cart wheeling day and bounce, an exploring day looking at strange places, a blend-in day, or a fun day? Children from age three will enjoy the pictures and have fun thinking what Zoe will decide, and about their own days, what to do and what to wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zoe Gets Ready
Zoe Gets Ready by Bethanie Murguia (Hardcover - May 1, 2012)
$16.99 $12.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.