Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lacuna Coil Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars109
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$13.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 15, 2012
Well, if my four-year-old's demands for a repeat are anything to go by, this book is a winner. It reminds me of the Stella books somehow (Marie-Louise Gay). Zoe is the kind of girl you want to hang out with and her concerns match those of my four-year-old (I want to go and explore so I need pockets for my magnifying glass and a small jar, but I also want to do pirouettes on the grass so I need my tutu).

Highly recommended!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2012
This book captures perfectly a typical day in the life of my two granddaughters. Tutus, princess dresses, imaginative costumes of every description allow for creative play and fun galore. I think Beth Murguia has created a fanciful and yet accurate portrayal of young children at play. Kids will see themselves at every turn of the page. Excellent illustrations! A wonderful read!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 16, 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Ah, Zoe !!!!What a TREAT she is, as a personality!

Possibly Zoe might be just exactly like your little girl, your little granddaughter, or your best friend's daughter!

Any little girl around age three or so, who is special to you, deserves to have this darling book in her life!

It is so perfect for so many girls, and so true! You will see how much everyone will just adore it.
The story is lovely, and the illustrations are just fantastic! They have with so many details to notice. Overall, Zoe Gets Ready is SO pretty and fun!

First of all, the book cover has sparkles (real 3-D sparkles texturing the picture) and this is very appealing. You see Zoe contemplating her closet and wardrobe; including the fairy wings which could be donned......doesn't everyone need that? Of course we do!

The story begins with "On school days, soccer days, and rainy days, someone else always chooses what Zoe will wear." Zoe looks a little bored, as she clearly has other ideas for her outfits.
"But today is Saturday, and that means Zoe gets to decide". At this point, you see her room and closet and drawers half opened. Clearly, this is GREAT, to have the opportunity to make her own decisions! Her little sister and their puppy peek in the bedroom door! So sweet!

Then she begins to imagine adventures she will have in different outfits, such as collecting frogs with pockets, or acorns. However already her mother is calling, "Come on and get ready, we aren't spending the whole day in the house"!

Zoe considers a twirling day, as she has a twirling skirt! She contemplates this on her bed while her sister puts pajamas on her head.The bedroom gets messier! Zoe imagines more adventures, simple adventures, including seeing butterflies, sitting in a tree looking down at her sister and dog from above, blending in or standing out. Again her mother calls, and Zoe decides----to wear---everything! Including mittens and scarves and cowboy boots and fairy wings! It is really sweet!
The story is universal, and charmimg. It is beautifully drawn and watercolored. Any child will love it. As will the lucky person reading it aloud!
What a fabulous book!Five stars!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Little girls and girls of all ages are often challenged by the 'what to wear today?' conundrum. Bethanie Deeney Murgia is an artist of words and images and addresses this dilemma in a most entertaining way. This book ZOE GETS READY is as fine to look at as it is to read: Murgia is a very talented illustrator as well as a gifted writer.

Zoe is a little girl with imagination. On school days she in instructed what to wear depending on school days, soccer days and rainy days. But Saturdays Zoe gets to select her own wardrobe - a suit of clothes that would be fitting for gathering pocket things, twirling with a great skirt, cartwheeling, exploring, blending in, or standing out. But when the castigating call from the mother demands she stop daydreaming and get dressed Zoe has her own solution - with a couple of additions!

This is a story young girls will love and one with which mothers will identify! Murgia's pen and ink and watercolor drawings are superb and rich with imagination. This well-designed book is exceptional. Watch for the book awards nominations....Grady Harp, August 12
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 30, 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I got this book to read to my six year old. When I opened the package from Amazon her eyes lit up at the sparkly dazzling cover. She is a typical girly-girl and loves anything with sparkles. She enjoyed looking at the pictures before I read it to her and the story is simple enough that she can read it on her own. It was short and sweet and kept her attention but I can tell that after reading this a couple of more times this book will be tossed aside. I think it would probably be better suited for a 3-5 year old.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
We got this as a gift and my daughter loved it so much, she has it memorized cover to cover now. The pictures are so cute and colorful, and also fits my adult taste. it has glitter which she loves. It also has just the right amount of text so she doesn't get bored. We got this with a pair of butterfly wings and it was a huge hit for her. I did the same thing for my niece and she loved it too. Can't go wrong for a 3 year old girl (girly or tomboy).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
I bought this book for a friend's granddaughter (named Zoe). I wish I had the opportunity to read it to her, but I live far away. This is a darling book no matter what your name is! Cute illustrations & great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 16, 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The dust jacket of this book, embossed all over with glitter sparkles, announces that 4 year olds are going to love this book. The illustrations are lovely with somewhat stylized pen-and-ink drawings filled in with bright and appealing watercolors.

Zoey is that typical little girl who dresses each weekday morning in the clothes that "someone else chooses". However on Saturday she gets to decide herself. She stands before her closet, hands on her hips, thinking about what particular outfits would be appropriate for the ideas she has.

Each page shows her having fun imagining, for example, wearing a dress with pockets to collect nature specimens or a leotard and tights while doing cartwheels outside. Her reverie is frequently interrupted by a conversation "bubble" from the next room: Mom would like her to decide and get on with it.

One small quibble which makes this a 4 rather than 5-star book for me. Towards the end, the plaintive "bubbles" from Mom become 3" letters spelling out "Zoey Now!!!" across a double-page spread. It seems that encouragement is now yelling. Sure enough, right away she pulls on all the choices together (bathing suit, mittens, boots, two dresses, etc.) and is ready to go. With the mention of "just one more thing" and the addition of butterfly wings she is off.

It is possible that if Zoey's closet pole was at a 4 year-old's height, and if she got practice choosing outfits more often, say, the evening before, weekend dressing wouldn't be so overwhelming for her. Still the author has written what must be many parent's experience. I also agree with other reviewers who suggest that the author has created a winning personality in Zoe. I would definitely want to read more about her upcoming explorations and adventures like Vera Rosenberry did with her eponymously named series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 30, 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
ZOE GETS READY

Zoe is your typical little girl -- she has a little sister and a dog and a mama. The entire story is based on Zoe picking out her outfit for the day -- and all of the problems and excitements that small chore causes. Girls, can we women relate or what?

I read this book to my five year old grand daughter, Paige. She loved how Zoe would pick out outfit after outfit, each for that special occasion! She needed a certain look for twirling! Zoe had to have the perfect look for sitting in a tree and blending in. So many decisions! So many clothes! So many choices! All the while, Zoe's mom is loosing her patience, trying to wait for Zoe to hurry up and decide which outfit to wear so they can leave.

How many times have you lived this scenario with your own little girls? Paige and I noticed right away how the clothing items in Zoe's closet full of clothes got smaller and smaller and so many hangers were left bare. We also noticed the big pile of clothes on Zoe's floor and the clothes thrown here and there -- not to mention the clothes on top of Zoe's baby sister's head.

This is a delightful, fun, sweet, and totally aimed in the right direction and association of young baby girls who just can't decide what to wear each day! Paige and I laughed and giggled at the outfits Zoe put together and her reasons why she chose those clothes! Paige decided that she is going to pick out her outfit for kindergarten before she goes to bed at night. But, she told me, that in the morning she might change her mind! Girls, can't we ALL relate?

The story line is good and true, one any little child can relate to. The prose is simple, easy for a first little reader to sit down and read. The illustrations are adorable and vibrant.

Paige and I loved this book and I know we will be reading it many more times in the future.

Thank you!

Pam
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Bethanie Deeney Murguia's "Zoe Gets Ready" is a lovely, well written book with beautifully done pen and ink and watercolor drawings also by Murgia. The wording of the story is just perfect for children learning to read; the book can be read to a little girl and gradually the child will master the words in the story which itself is not terribly long. The author writes with simplicity and honesty that is practically guaranteed to capture the imagination of a little girl. It may stimulate some conversation between parents and their daughters as well; little girls are bound to identify with Zoe! If a parent sits by their child and reads this to them, this book also offers them quality time for bonding and that's terrific.

Zoe is a young girl who doesn't get to decide what she's going to wear during the week when there's school. Zoe also can't decide for herself what she'll wear on rainy days and soccer playing days. But on Saturdays Zoe can finally choose for herself what she'll wear. The delightful little story really encourages a child's mind to imagine the possibilities just as Zoe herself imagines the possibilities. Will it be a "pocket day" or a "twirling day?" Or will it be a "touch-the-sky" day? Each possibility has Zoe thinking about what she would wear for that type of day. Of course, Zoe has even more ideas and they are all adorable.

I highly recommend this book for young girls, especially those who are learning how to read. Parents and children alike will easily relate to Zoe and her dreams! This book is a real charmer!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.