Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

  • Zoe
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$20.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 12, 2003
No car crashes, no explosions, no battle scenes -- just a gentle tale about two people looking for their place in the world. Vanessa Zima is wonderful, a mature performance far beyond her years. And Jenny Seagrove -- one of my favorites -- proves once again that her range and talent are virtually endless. She takes this role and wraps every emotion around it, she cradles it throughout the movie, and she presents her character to the audience, vulnerable but never tentative. Some day enough people will come to know this underappreciated sctor, and she will receive the credit for which she is long overdue. A stellar supporting cast and the beautiful desert southwest USA complete this must-see film. Flippin' shame the movie didn't find a distributor. NOTE: Though not rated, I'd probably give it a PG-13. No violence to speak of; brief yet tasteful presentation of sexuality; nudity implied but not viewable. (Review is of a VHS copy of this movie.)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2006
While this movie is quite an adventure movie for the girls, and for an eccentric London psychologist, at its heart this movie is about the power of prayer. Nothing seemed to be going right in Zoe's life - uncaring parents, kicked out of school, trouble on their trip, etc. It wasn't until she reached New Mexico and met her first real-life American Indian, and was able to talk to him, that she sensed what she needed to do to make sense of her life.

It was common for young men to go out into the wilderness to seek out the will of the Great Spirit - their vision quest. This was often done totally naked, as if the young man was one with Nature. After he comes back to the tribe, he is then considered to be an adult. When Zoe learns of this practice, she disappears into the desert, also totally naked, to seek the Great Spirit and to find the meaning of her troubled life. She spends several days in a state of deep, meditative prayer. Although she almost dies, and her mother again rejects her, she soon realizes that the Great Spirit has answered her prayer. Her life begins anew.

The skill with which the Spiritual message is woven into an adventure, girl-buddy travel movie should be studied by those who purport to make so-called Christian movies. All the previous reviewers of this movie gave it five stars. I think this is because this film subtly addresses the deep human yearning to know one's place on earth, the meaning of life, or that God cares for each and every one of us. While you are enjoying an adventure movie, you are feeling a Spiritual movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2004
Zoe (Vanessa Zima) is a teenage girl growing up in Michigan, where she's grown frustrated with life in the Midwest and is at odds with her mother (Kim Greist), who refuses to break things off with her boyfriend, who often beats her. Zoe wants to find a new direction in her life, and when she learns that one of her ancestors was a Cherokee Indian, she decides to explore her Native American heritage. Two of Zoe's friends, Ally (Victoria Davis) and Sarah (Stephi Lineburg), want to go to California, and since Zoe thinks she can find a spiritual guide in New Mexico, she decides to join them as they steal a car and head west. En route, Zoe makes the acquaintance of Cecelia (Jenny Seagrove), a British woman who is heading out to Navajo territory to scatter the ashes of her late mother, and Zoe believes she's met a mirror-version of herself (albeit a few years older).

This movie is something you will really enjoy very much! This is one of those little known type of movies and when you watch it, you are so glad you did because its made so well!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2003
There were very few DVD's left at the small video store where I shop on this last 4th of July weekend, and 'Zoe' was one of them. So I thought, "what the heck".
I loved this story! To quote Cecelia in the movie, it is a "secret treasure". Vanessa Zima gives a great performance as an adolescent trying hard to figure out what her place in the world is all about, and with her two friends create a very believable friendship and adventure. She constantly carries with her a page ripped from a National Geographic, and she dreams of possibilities. Jenny Seagrove is perfect as Cecelia, a woman who thinks she has her life in predictable order but finds out that there's more to life than she ever imagined. Both woman and child are destined to share life-changing discoveries about themselves and the world around them and the story is beautiful. If you remember ever feeling like you just wanted your world to change- to somehow right itself, this is a movie you will enjoy.

I doubt that the budget for this was very large, but Deborah Attoinese did a fine job with a touching story and I'm glad that she was able to bring it to film. Only two things I wish for: I wish it was longer! and I wish there was a soundtrack for it. At the very least, I would have liked to get some of the songs by Laurie Webb. However, my search for that so far is elusive. I will keep trying.
And yes, I enjoyed the film so much that I bought the dvd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2003
It was a very heart felt, touching film with character's you could relate to. When watching, you felt part of the action, the photography of the scenes were wonderful and the story line cohesive and understandable. The director brought you into Zoe's world and kept you there. People and characterization are the stars of this film not special effects and car chases. I'm glad to have had an opportunity to see this film and hope others would take advantage of a film that can bring out real emotion from the screen to the heart. I would love to see a sequel and find out where these character's ended up in ten or twenty years from the end of the movie. I hope everyone gets the chance to see this film. Excellent work. A+.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2008
I was interested in this movie thinking I might identify with the middle-aged English woman, but it was more focused on the 15 year old girl. It wasn't a bad movie but I think young girls would be a better audience for it than I was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
Started out slow but got better. I found it Entertaining and heartwarming. It is a good movie for young teens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2003
Zoe is a movie that you shouldn't miss. It's funny, exciting, wise and moving. The actors are great--don't miss Gordon Tootoosis; he's amazing. So is Jenny Seagrove. The director manages to weave together two or three stories flawlessly and always keeps you interested. Ultimately, it's a story about courage, about going someplace new, about trusting yourself. I loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2008
Don't be sucked in like i was.This is NOT a widescreen dvd it is letterboxed. For that reason i give the movie itself 5 stars but the dvd i only give 1 star.
Why not release a PROPER WS dvd instead of this letterboxing garbage?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2014
I bought this to see the lady but it story was lame and mystic but I had been warned by other reviewers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.