Customer Reviews
Zoe


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple story of two gentle, lost people
No car crashes, no explosions, no battle scenes -- just a gentle tale about two people looking for their place in the world. Vanessa Zima is wonderful, a mature performance far beyond her years. And Jenny Seagrove -- one of my favorites -- proves once again that her range and talent are virtually endless. She takes this role and wraps every emotion around it, she cradles...
Published on April 12, 2003 by Julie the Jarhead

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Best for the pre-teen or teenaged viewer
I was interested in this movie thinking I might identify with the middle-aged English woman, but it was more focused on the 15 year old girl. It wasn't a bad movie but I think young girls would be a better audience for it than I was.
Published on February 18, 2008 by K. Hudson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple story of two gentle, lost people, April 12, 2003
This review is from: Zoe (DVD)
No car crashes, no explosions, no battle scenes -- just a gentle tale about two people looking for their place in the world. Vanessa Zima is wonderful, a mature performance far beyond her years. And Jenny Seagrove -- one of my favorites -- proves once again that her range and talent are virtually endless. She takes this role and wraps every emotion around it, she cradles it throughout the movie, and she presents her character to the audience, vulnerable but never tentative. Some day enough people will come to know this underappreciated sctor, and she will receive the credit for which she is long overdue. A stellar supporting cast and the beautiful desert southwest USA complete this must-see film. Flippin' shame the movie didn't find a distributor. NOTE: Though not rated, I'd probably give it a PG-13. No violence to speak of; brief yet tasteful presentation of sexuality; nudity implied but not viewable. (Review is of a VHS copy of this movie.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Prayer to the Great Spirit, January 16, 2006
By 
Artist & Author (Near Mt. Baker, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoe (DVD)
While this movie is quite an adventure movie for the girls, and for an eccentric London psychologist, at its heart this movie is about the power of prayer. Nothing seemed to be going right in Zoe's life - uncaring parents, kicked out of school, trouble on their trip, etc. It wasn't until she reached New Mexico and met her first real-life American Indian, and was able to talk to him, that she sensed what she needed to do to make sense of her life.

It was common for young men to go out into the wilderness to seek out the will of the Great Spirit - their vision quest. This was often done totally naked, as if the young man was one with Nature. After he comes back to the tribe, he is then considered to be an adult. When Zoe learns of this practice, she disappears into the desert, also totally naked, to seek the Great Spirit and to find the meaning of her troubled life. She spends several days in a state of deep, meditative prayer. Although she almost dies, and her mother again rejects her, she soon realizes that the Great Spirit has answered her prayer. Her life begins anew.

The skill with which the Spiritual message is woven into an adventure, girl-buddy travel movie should be studied by those who purport to make so-called Christian movies. All the previous reviewers of this movie gave it five stars. I think this is because this film subtly addresses the deep human yearning to know one's place on earth, the meaning of life, or that God cares for each and every one of us. While you are enjoying an adventure movie, you are feeling a Spiritual movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT MOVIE!!, December 7, 2004
This review is from: Zoe (DVD)
Zoe (Vanessa Zima) is a teenage girl growing up in Michigan, where she's grown frustrated with life in the Midwest and is at odds with her mother (Kim Greist), who refuses to break things off with her boyfriend, who often beats her. Zoe wants to find a new direction in her life, and when she learns that one of her ancestors was a Cherokee Indian, she decides to explore her Native American heritage. Two of Zoe's friends, Ally (Victoria Davis) and Sarah (Stephi Lineburg), want to go to California, and since Zoe thinks she can find a spiritual guide in New Mexico, she decides to join them as they steal a car and head west. En route, Zoe makes the acquaintance of Cecelia (Jenny Seagrove), a British woman who is heading out to Navajo territory to scatter the ashes of her late mother, and Zoe believes she's met a mirror-version of herself (albeit a few years older).

This movie is something you will really enjoy very much! This is one of those little known type of movies and when you watch it, you are so glad you did because its made so well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Treasure!!, July 12, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoe (DVD)
There were very few DVD's left at the small video store where I shop on this last 4th of July weekend, and 'Zoe' was one of them. So I thought, "what the heck".
I loved this story! To quote Cecelia in the movie, it is a "secret treasure". Vanessa Zima gives a great performance as an adolescent trying hard to figure out what her place in the world is all about, and with her two friends create a very believable friendship and adventure. She constantly carries with her a page ripped from a National Geographic, and she dreams of possibilities. Jenny Seagrove is perfect as Cecelia, a woman who thinks she has her life in predictable order but finds out that there's more to life than she ever imagined. Both woman and child are destined to share life-changing discoveries about themselves and the world around them and the story is beautiful. If you remember ever feeling like you just wanted your world to change- to somehow right itself, this is a movie you will enjoy.

I doubt that the budget for this was very large, but Deborah Attoinese did a fine job with a touching story and I'm glad that she was able to bring it to film. Only two things I wish for: I wish it was longer! and I wish there was a soundtrack for it. At the very least, I would have liked to get some of the songs by Laurie Webb. However, my search for that so far is elusive. I will keep trying.
And yes, I enjoyed the film so much that I bought the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 15, 2003
By 
Douglas (NEW YORK, NEW YORK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zoe [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It was a very heart felt, touching film with character's you could relate to. When watching, you felt part of the action, the photography of the scenes were wonderful and the story line cohesive and understandable. The director brought you into Zoe's world and kept you there. People and characterization are the stars of this film not special effects and car chases. I'm glad to have had an opportunity to see this film and hope others would take advantage of a film that can bring out real emotion from the screen to the heart. I would love to see a sequel and find out where these character's ended up in ten or twenty years from the end of the movie. I hope everyone gets the chance to see this film. Excellent work. A+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming., December 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoe (DVD)
Started out slow but got better. I found it Entertaining and heartwarming. It is a good movie for young teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Best for the pre-teen or teenaged viewer, February 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoe (DVD)
I was interested in this movie thinking I might identify with the middle-aged English woman, but it was more focused on the 15 year old girl. It wasn't a bad movie but I think young girls would be a better audience for it than I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, May 28, 2003
By 
Richard Goodman (New Orleans, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zoe (DVD)
Zoe is a movie that you shouldn't miss. It's funny, exciting, wise and moving. The actors are great--don't miss Gordon Tootoosis; he's amazing. So is Jenny Seagrove. The director manages to weave together two or three stories flawlessly and always keeps you interested. Ultimately, it's a story about courage, about going someplace new, about trusting yourself. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be sucked in like i was, February 21, 2008
By 
This review is from: Zoe (DVD)
Don't be sucked in like i was.This is NOT a widescreen dvd it is letterboxed. For that reason i give the movie itself 5 stars but the dvd i only give 1 star.
Why not release a PROPER WS dvd instead of this letterboxing garbage?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zoe
Zoe by Deborah Attoinese (DVD - 2003)
$19.95 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.