Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one is special. (And wholly misunderstood by critics!)
Zombi U is special. It is the only true survival horror experience I have come across in the last six years of console gaming. While other franchises like Resident Evil have gone the way of action shooters, Zombi U is truly SURVIVAL horror. The goal is not to "run and gun," popping zombie's heads with one well placed shot, and feeling invincible behind the barrel of a...
Published 16 months ago by Candid Reviewer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Map, radar and inventory is on the game pad. It's easy to die, ammo must be used accurately and sparingly. The game pad gyroscope is used for turrets, hacking and marking zombies. Local multiplayer gets boring very fast, no true co-op play. In my opinion they made a good game that could of been great.

Cons:
1) Graphics could be better.
2) One melee...
Published 3 months ago by buyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 421 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game Makers Will Never Live Up to Reviewers Standards, November 21, 2012
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
When I first saw this game, I was excited. I couldn't wait for the release of the Wii U. Then all of the reviews started coming in (IGN). I was really worried about purchasing this after all the negative reviews came out leading up to Nintendo's launch. I am very happy to say that this is probably the best survival horror game I've played in a long time. Don't pay attention to what other people say or the reviews. Rent it and try it out of you have doubts. This is not a CoD game. There isn't a lot of ammo, but enough to keep you on your toes. This is a survival horror game not a traditional first person shooter. The reviews I read we're all crying about it being too claustrophobic, not enough ammo, it takes too many hits to kill a zombie, and its too dark. That actually sounds like the first couple of Resident Evil games to me. This is what everyone has been complaining about for years. That Resident Evils are not survival horror games anymore and they are too action orientated. Well someone finally makes a REAL survival horror game and now the reviewers say its too much. I don't think video game producers will ever meet the standards of the reviewers. So don't listen to them. This game is everything I thought it was going to be and more. If you liked those old Resident Evil games, but want want something more modern, I would highly suggest the purchase. This game was made for the Wii U. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombie U, November 20, 2012
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Do not expect a fast paced FPS. This is a slow paced survival horror game. The atmosphere is great and a nice change of pace from the Call of Duty and clones out there. Great launch title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge-of-your-seat survival horror, January 1, 2014
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
"ZombiU" effectively captures exactly what survival horror fans crave: tension and scares. It's first-person, there are guns, but it's not a "shooter." Ammo and inventory space is limited. You start with a melee weapon and a pistol, with more weapons and upgrades collected along the way. The GamePad is used for sorting items and navigation, and also for scanning the environment similar to "Metroid Prime." What makes "ZombiU" special is the intense pacing and atmosphere it creates. Like the "Souls" games, patience is a virtue. Death looms around every corner. Zombies may be of the walking sort, but once they start at you, be ready. Slowly creeping your way through the dark halls, or tunnels, or streets with a flashlight that's slowly depleting in power and only three bullets left creates a sense of dread not found in other games. "ZombiU" does not feel like a launch game, but a game made by people passionate about creating a great horror title. The environments are dark and oppressive, the zombie encounters intense, and the GamePad use inventive. It's also genuinely scary. Here's to hoping for more Wii U titles of this quality, and for a "ZombiU 2."

--- 5 STARS ---
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lack of QA and polish made right by very strong gameplay and atmosphere, December 17, 2013
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
I'll be upfront about the fact that I did encounter a crash that completely froze the game up and lost me maybe 30 mins of progress. And that the load times are pretty bad. Normally that would be enough to put me off a game, but I kept coming back because they really nailed the tension created by well punctuated zombie attacks with only just enough resources to deal with them. I played through the game and immediately started it over on Survival mode because I just didn't get enough. I've heard it said that the game gets a little stale, but I found there were some really great encounters and events that kept the game feeling fresh and kept the tension high throughout. And every time you think you've done a good job at amassing enough weapons to survive just about anything, a wave of zombies uses them all up again.

The short of it is that this game is Dark Souls meets Resident Evil (and if you put up with the bugginess and lack of polish in Dark Souls, you'll be fine with ZombiU). If that sounds enticing and you're willing to deal with some load times, you'll love it.

And if you have someone to game with, the multiplayer for this is actually really amazing. One player is essentially playing an RTS on the gamepad screen dropping in zombies to attack the player and capture flags, while the other player is playing an FPS trying to hold his ground to capture flags while preventing the "zombie king" from capturing flags. It's the sort of two-sided gameplay that wasn't quite possible with consoles before.

You can probably pick this game up for cheap (it was $15 on Black Friday), but even at full price it really is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Survival Horror, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Very intense game, not a run n gun at all. Unlike the newer resident evil games it takes some thought and some strategic planning. I recommend it to any survival horror fan. Don't listen to those negative reviews, I'm assuming they are Call of Duty fans, which I enjoy too, I just have a more broad spectrum of taste in games. How the gamepad is incorporated is amazing, if you like intense survival horror, do not pass this one up, it keeps you on your toes at all times, sometimes to the point of panic when you're trying to get from point A to point B with too many zombies to kill in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is what wii U games should aspire to achieve, February 18, 2013
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
This is the best wiiU game available. The wii pad becomes such an important part of the experience. I do wish the game was a little longer, but maybe they'll release some downloadable content at some point. The critics are wrong, you will enjoy this game. Hopefully developers pay attention to just how good this game actually is. It's the only thing making the wiiU worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Pros:
-Pure Survival Horror
-Environments designed to scare
-Replay Value

Cons:
-Minor glitches
-Animations are clunky

This game is not for the mindless run and gun players. You must think about how you approach a situation. Area of effect weapons such as grenade and mines do not discriminate on who it kills especially when it comes to the player character. Expect to die even when getting the best weapons in the game because of hubris. Fun and a must buy for people who want to take advantage of the Wii U tablet. The difficulty is reminicent of old school games when defeat motivates you to advance further and see what the game has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZombiU Review, awesome game!, January 7, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Great game, scary as hell and very hard. It's true survival horror, the fact that you can permanently lose or use up your weapons/healing items/ammo makes the game so much harder. Also you can't just keep reloading a save, if your character dies, they are permanently dead and you have 1 chance to kill your old character to get your accumulated items/weapons back, or else they're gone forever. If you're looking for a tense, terrifying, and challenging game this one is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MIND BLOWING, January 5, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
Just rented this tonight after a friend said it was cool. This is THE zombie game. 4get left 4 dead and the lame duck black ops. This is a true sim of what a zombie apocalypse would be like. The gamepad is a comm device, scanner, and map. A static ridden voice over the gamepad's speakers sounds very realistic. A true blast and you will be scared one time or another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Video Game for Zombie Fanatics, January 5, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U (Video Game)
This game exceeded my expectation. At first, I thought this game is going to be easy. I guess you really can't judge the book by its cover. It is hard which makes it more challenging and fun. I haven't played a game faithfully in a long time, but the thrill and excitement that comes along with this game just keep me on my sit. All the while, this game gives me a realistic feeling of or what seems to be the closest to a zombie apocalypse. The gore, the violence, the storyline, and although the rendering could've been better, of this game is satisfying enough to be addictive and trully an entertaining zombie game. Every penny spent on this game is very well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 421 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9979c39c)

This product

ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U
ZombiU - Nintendo Wii U by UBI Soft (Nintendo Wii U)
$59.99 $14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.