Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombie fans
Mr Danny Trejo always is good a great actor, but I was a little dissappoint with the movie, Mr Trejo give his best like always as the other main actors, the special effect were great but I was expecting more of it.
Published 9 months ago by Vicramglez

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bad Movie That Isn't Afraid To Embrace Its Silliness: Campy Fun For A Certain Audience
Inevitably, sometimes what you hear in advance of watching a movie can impact your reaction to it. I hadn't heard very many positives about the low budget indie "Zombie Hunter," even the usual comments about "worst movie ever," so my expectations as I sat down to view the film were admittedly low. And indeed, as the experience began, it didn't look like it held much...
Published 10 months ago by K. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bad Movie That Isn't Afraid To Embrace Its Silliness: Campy Fun For A Certain Audience, October 7, 2013
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Inevitably, sometimes what you hear in advance of watching a movie can impact your reaction to it. I hadn't heard very many positives about the low budget indie "Zombie Hunter," even the usual comments about "worst movie ever," so my expectations as I sat down to view the film were admittedly low. And indeed, as the experience began, it didn't look like it held much promise. Strangely, though, this oddball film started to grow on me. It's not a great film, to be sure, or even a movie that I could recommend you buying on DVD/Blu-ray. But as the story progresses, it gets increasingly loopy in a rather enjoyable way. As someone who embraces this genre, "Zombie Hunter" is far from the worst I've seen. With occasional flashes of Bad Movie Magic (so bad, it's good), the film never tries to masquerade as great art. It knows, well from the start, that it is a silly bit of entertainment. And the fact that it never takes itself too seriously actually works in its favor.

Cobbled together from other better movies, the trajectory of the film's screenplay looks a little something like this:
1) Starts as a post-apocalyptic sojourn reminiscent of the "Mad Max" genre of filmmaking.
2) Settles into a standard zombie survival drama as a group band together in isolation.
3) A brief foray into an abandoned town that feels like an exploitation slasher from the seventies.
4) A big finale straight out of a sixties sci-fi with creatures that are inspired by Ray Harryhausen.

After a rather vague and uninspired intro meant to explain the zombie outbreak, the movie fast forwards to a time where the world has been completely overrun by the undead menace. We meet out hunter hero, Martin Copping, as a loner surviving the barren desert country. Despite the desolation, there are no shortage of creatures milling about. An isolated gas station, for example, provides for a random showdown. Copping is taken in by a group of bumpkins that touch all the expected stereotypes. Among their number, a horny teen, a virginal good girl, a unapologetic bad girl, and a stalwart leader named Jesús (played by the movie's star appeal Danny Trejo). All of the principles are but caricatures that you won't care much about, and they act as buffoons throughout. Mild comic hijinks ensue until the zombies run our group out of their tranquil camp to seek a more permanent home. But in addition to the regular zombies, there is also a whole different beast to contend with. It's so ridiculous, however, it's best just to let yourself go with the flow.

"Zombie Hunter" isn't a particularly good movie, as I've mentioned, but it's a fair bit of fun. The regular creatures and effects aren't very accomplished, but I did like the larger threat. The poor CGI, overwrought dialogue, and over-the-top acting added to a campy enjoyment and a satisfyingly preposterous finale. Copping plays it straight (which works) and Trejo is also deadly serious, but they are both clearly in on the joke. If you like to laugh along with bad movies, "Zombie Hunter" provides some great moments. I don't think it's an essential add to your collection, but it is probably a passable rental to the right audience. Just be sure to have plenty of alcohol and you'll be good to go! KGHarris, 10/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Start Leads To A Disappointing Finish In ZOMBIE HUNTER, November 5, 2013
This review is from: Zombie Hunter (DVD)
Unlike what some other reviewers have clearly tried to establish, ZOMBIE HUNTER is not the worst zombie movie ever made. In fact, there are times with its quite entertaining. Mind you, it lacks the consistent polish that would’ve elevated it to at least the level of a modest crowd-pleaser. It’s also more than a few quarts low in the intelligence department: it can never quite figure out what and/or how its particular version of the undead are meant to behave and/or suffer whatever cruel fate our heroes might have in store for them. But as a one-time viewing? I enjoyed it well enough in the first half to give it a few stars; it’s the lackluster, hands-off-the-continuity handling of its second half that’ll probably destine this flick for the trash heap of cinema history.

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and/or characters. If you’re the kind of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I’d encourage you to skip down to the last three paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you’re accepting of a few modest hints at ‘things to come,’ then read on …)

Ok. It’s the Apocalypse, and all of this has apparently happened as the result of some street drug that turned its users and abusers in creatures not unlike zombies. Into this wasteland comes Hunter (played with some hard-boiled delight by Martin Copping), and he’s having a really bad day. It started out fine, but then he took a bullet to the arm, crashed his car, and was spit on my some backwoods Looney Tunes dragging him back to his compound. If what’s left of the crumbling society isn’t careful, Hunter’s likely to rise up and prove he’s the last thing to be feared on planet Earth!

Now, if you’ve seen the product packaging, I’d imagine the first thing you’re asking yourself is, “Hey, wait a minute, what happened to Danny Trejo? Isn’t he the star of this?” Well, the short answer is, “No.” The longer answer is that, obviously, Trejo’s name and image was probably used to get this thing off the ground by writer/director Kevin King. To his credit, Trejo plays a significant role in the first half of the film – the half that actually works and feels like it had a script – but he disappears midway, and the picture is not best served by his departure. Instead, audiences are left with somewhat of a narrative mess that sounds like it was entirely made-out on the fly.

But that first half?

Well, it’s surprisingly good. It had just the right balance of Grindhouse charm – the kind where you could easily tell no one was meant to take this all that seriously – and an auteur’s vision. King knew that he wanted to serve up something a bit more tongue-in-cheek than the usual Zombie fare, so he keeps the action light, the mood witty, and even some welcome bossoms (not fully bared!) on display from actresses Clare Niederpruem and Jade Reiger. It’s Armageddon, but it’s somehow tepidly reassuring women keeping themselves in shape well enough to pole dance.

Sadly, Trejo’s departure almost signaled the coming of a new AntiChrist, one who apparently burned the shooting script. From this point on, dialogue sounds entirely made-up on the spot, situations descend from weird to just downright bizarre, and one man who is de-pantsed shows up in the next seen absolutely fully clothed.

I’ve got it: those zombies ate the continuity person!

What could’ve been a contender quickly spools out of control in the final scenes, leaving ZOMBIE HUNTER not so much with a trail of brains in sight.

ZOMBIE HUNTER (2013) is produced by Arrowstorm Entertainment and The Klimax. DVD distribution is being handled by Well Go USA. As for the technical specifications? Well, the video and audio looks fairly solid, though there’s some laughable CGI special effects on some kind of intelligent Zombie Overlord that are just plain awful at times. The practical, in-camera splatter effects are quite good, and it’s given a whole ‘Grindhousery’ feel that certainly complements much of the narrative. Lastly – much to my disappointment – there are no special features to speak of, and that’s a big miss on something that tries to be this clever.

(MILDLY) RECOMMENDED. What’s exceedingly disappointing about ZOMBIE HUNTER is that, mostly during the first half, it’s actually not half bad. Really! It’s quite good. Granted, the best it has to offer is that those high points feel very much like a heavily watered down version of the vastly superior ZOMBIELAND, but it’s saying something when you can take a concept as well worn these days as zombies and still serve up something that’s smart, funny, and relevant. However, the latter half truly smacks of a production that either fell completely apart, lost funding, or (worst case scenario) lost its shooting script.

In the interests of fairness, I’m pleased to disclose that the fine folks at Well Go USA provided me with a copy of ZOMBIE HUNTER by request for the expressed purposes of completing this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I GOT A REAL SHORT FUSE FOR INBREDS, October 5, 2013
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The story centers around "The Hunter" (Martin Copping) a man who has survived the zombie outbreak. The outbreak was caused by use of a new and popular recreational drug of unknown origin. The Hunter eventually ends up with a small group of survivors which include Father Jesus (Danny Trejo) and two women who vie for the attention of the new guy. Their goal is to fly to the proverbial safe island off the coast of California. The dialogue seemed fairly decent except for some unnecessary first person narration, which appears to have become too much of the norm since the success of "Zombieland."

Part of the film is shot as a grainy grindhouse, which worked well, but its use was haphazard and ended quickly. The music was grindhouse metal and the blood splatters on the camera lens. Fast Lane Debbie(Jade Regier) who is a better pole dancer than nurse, teases us with her overt sexuality. There was a WTF CG creature, apparently a new unquestionable plot must since a "Residence Evil" sequel did it.

The film had some good scenes and oozed with potential. If you are going to do a grindhouse film, you must go all the way to appeal to a grindhouse audience. This is a watered down film. Okay as a rental.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs that I recall. No nudity. Sex scene inspired by Natile Portman (keeps bra on)...seriously? In a Trejo grindhouse?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombie fans, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Mr Danny Trejo always is good a great actor, but I was a little dissappoint with the movie, Mr Trejo give his best like always as the other main actors, the special effect were great but I was expecting more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Real Movie News Blu-ray review, October 5, 2013
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There is plenty of awful in Zombie Hunter, but nothing is quite as annoying as the film's cover art. With Danny Trejo's picture in full focus and his name over the title, you would naturally assume Trejo to be the title character, but is instead just a passing bloodstain in this unintentionally humorous horror action film. Any film clinging to the celebrity of one of the bit players in order to be more marketable worries me. Zombie Hunter is 93 minutes of cheesy acting, effects and one-liners. Aside from the handful of shots with Trejo alone or shot from below to make the actor look taller than he actually is, Zombie Hunter focuses on the base elements of B-filmmaking, including a heavy dose of breast-flaunting women.

Though this is yet another end-of-the-world zombie movie, it shares more in common with the Resident Evil franchise than anything else, complete with inexplicable morphed zombie creatures. Our title character is a gravelly-voiced narrator with something of a Road Warrior complex, mowing down zombies as he travels a solitary path. When he comes across a group of survivors, they band together to fight the zombies and whatever other elements of danger there are. This includes a man dressed as a clown who enjoys killing anything that crosses his path, zombie or human.

Imagine "The Walking Dead" without any of the smart storylines, good special effects or characters you care about, and you would still have a zombie tale that is ten times more engaging than this film. More than anything, Zombie Hunter feels as though it wants to be a Robert Rodriguez movie, if only for the mere fact that Trejo has a few scenes to do what he has done moderately well for at least a decade.

FOR MORE REVIEWS VISIT [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Zombie Hunter" is a Ridiculous and Irreverent Good Time, September 28, 2013
By 
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"Zombie Hunter" is an absolutely ridiculous film. That's not meant to be a putdown in this case. If it were anything but ridiculous, it just wouldn't work. It's what makes the movie watchable and gives it such an entertaining air.

After a zombie apocalypse, a loner (Martin Copping) with nothing left to lose drives cross-country taking out the walking dead whenever he crosses paths with them. After a car crash, he's brought to a remote refuge of survivors. He soon finds himself leading the misfits as they flee for their lives when the flesh-eaters discover their hideaway.

What could have easily been lost in a never-ending sea of movies centered on the walking dead rises above thanks to an obvious influence taken from Japanese films like "Mutant Girl Squad," "Helldriver," and "Vampire Girl vs. Frankenstein Girl." All the hyper-tense action sequences, vivid colors, and ultra-violence found in those are mimicked here to mostly successful results.

If what you're looking for is the realism of "Night of the Living Dead" or "The Walking Dead," don't gaze in the direction of "Zombie Hunters." There's tons of gore and beheadings, but everything's done in an extremely animated and tongue-in-cheek manner. Instead of the dark crimson colors audiences expect when zombies are butchered and bludgeoned, blood flows in ultraviolet hues of pink and purple here. Just like the Japanese films this movie is influenced by, the brightly colored blood splatters across the screen as the zombies are sliced and diced.

The special effects for "Zombie Hunters" are also intentionally cartoon-like. Somehow they fit in with the absurdity of the rest of the movie. You can tell filmmakers deliberately used certain CGI and practical effects which transition in appearance from fake to realistic. It's evident because the quality shifts from scene to scene.

For instance, the film will go from a scene of zombie monsters which look like Ray Harryhausen models to a sequence of a person getting a chainsaw drilled through their stomach with lifelike blood pouring forth. The next scene features a zombie getting his head cut off as purple day-glo gore sprays out of it all over the camera lens.

Although "Zombie Hunter" is not yet rated by the MPAA, I would consider it to be an "R." There's no nudity, but plenty of sensuality. As an example, one of the woman survivors performs an unnecessary pole-dancing routine. There's a ton of gore and violence, even though most of it does come across as rather cartoonish. Plenty of bad language is uttered as well.

"Zombie Hunter" is presented in 16:9 widescreen with 5.1 HD surround sound. The picture quality brings out all the vibrant colors of the gore spewing forth onto the camera lens. The audio engulfs the viewer in gunshots, the moans of zombies, and other apocalyptic noises.

"Zombie Hunter" is presented in 16:9 widescreen with 5.1 HD surround sound. The picture quality brings out all the vibrant colors of the gore spewing forth onto the camera lens. The audio engulfs the viewer in gunshots, the moans of zombies, and other apocalyptic noises.

If you're a fan of the excessively gory and irreverently silly films of Yoshihiro Nishimura, then you'll no doubt enjoy "Zombie Hunter." Just don't watch the movie expecting Academy Award-winning performances or the serious atmosphere of George A. Romero or Robert Kirkman's post-apocalyptic worlds. While nowhere near as good as the Japanese films it attempts to imitate, I have to give director Kevin King at least a B for effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thirty-four minutes later..., March 3, 2014
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Zombie Hunter (K. King, 2013)

It is an extremely rare thing indeed for me to abandon a movie. I have watched somewhere north of four thousand films according to my spreadsheet, which is only 100% accurate past 2007, maybe 90% past 1999, and spotty before that, so the number is probably close to, if not over, five thousand (this is distinct titles, it doesn't count, say, the over one hundred times I have seen Before Night Falls, Begotten, or Scanners, for example). In all my movie-watching career, I have abandoned, with the definition of “abandoned” here being “turned off before it was over with no intention of ever going back and watching the rest of it”, less than two dozen. As far as I can remember, the most recent file to receive that treatment was Jesus Christ Vampire Hunter, which I watched (forty-five minutes of, anyway) in 2003. Ten and a half years later, the execrable Zombie Hunter has been added to the list.

It took me about thirty seconds to know this movie was going to get on my nerves. Martin Copping's horrible, overblown, faux-tough-guy narration style is impossible to listen to. Maybe there's less voiceover action past the thirty-four minute mark, but I will never find out. Perhaps this is the rare horror movie these days where Danny Trejo gets more than five minutes of screen time. Will never find that out either. Even the romance subplot was painfully ridiculous, setting up the nice girl against the slut, and I surely don't need to watch the rest of the movie to know how that one's going to turn out. The rest of the characters are about as shallow as those. That Zombie Hunter appeared on the worst of 2013 list of one Dread Central staffer is far less surprising than the fact that Zombie Hunter did not appear on the worst of 2013 lists of every Dread Central staffer; I can only assume the rest of them didn't see it. Compared to this, their consensus worst movie of the year, Texas Chainsaw, is Oscar material. (zero)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a whole lot of Trejo, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zombie Hunter (DVD)
Those expecting to see a lot of Danny Trejo in this film will be bitterly disappointed. This is clearly a case of false advertizing as Trejuo has about 5 minutes (if that) of screen time. The zombie story is about as bad as it gets, too. Danny probably did this cameo as a favor to the filmmakers and then they capitalized on his appearance. Shame on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What drug was the director on?, December 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I can take a lot of bad acting, plot holes, crappy dialogue, and/or even implausible story lines, but when you combine all of these elements and add bizarre "alien" creatures to augment the nightmare of a zombie apocalypse, you're simply going down the rabbit hole (in which case I hope the rabbit is mean and heavily armed).

The only reason this movie might warrant a single star is for Danny Trejo; I'm just sorry he had to lower himself to participate in this dreadful movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total crap, poorly shot with a terrible cast, November 26, 2013
By 
JOhn (Liberty, SC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Rotten from start to finish, a waste of time even after fast forwarding until the credits. Another coater to protect my table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray]
Zombie Hunter [Blu-ray] by K. King (Blu-ray - 2013)
$29.98 $7.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.