Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Mecha action games, revisited.
Zone of the Enders is a series that always surprise me. First, when I played the PS2 version of Z.o.E, I wasn't expecting much - I had bought it for the demo disk of Metal Gear Solid 2, as "everyone" did - but I was surprised to find a nice storythat pays homage to japanese mecha series such as Mobile Suit Gundam, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Macross/Robotech. It has...
Published 18 months ago by Fr4me Runn3r

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Okay Game, But Then Again, I Didn't Get Very Far
I bought this game because of the amazing reviews I saw. I'm not going to say the game was terrible, nor am I going to say it was great. I feel I might have gotten my hopes up too high and then they crashed when I got to finally play the game. To me, it was very repetitive and from what I played, the storyline was pretty outplayed. (Well, at least for a game that has...
Published 2 months ago by C. Washington


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest Mecha action games, revisited., January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
Zone of the Enders is a series that always surprise me. First, when I played the PS2 version of Z.o.E, I wasn't expecting much - I had bought it for the demo disk of Metal Gear Solid 2, as "everyone" did - but I was surprised to find a nice storythat pays homage to japanese mecha series such as Mobile Suit Gundam, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Macross/Robotech. It has fun gameplay, and as the title says, "high speed robot action". The game has a few flaws, but none that detracts much enjoyment of the overall package.

Then, I played Z.o.E the fist of mars for the Gameboy Advance (sadly not included with this collection) and was surprised again: now as a turn-based grid strategy rpg, but with the same enjoyment as the first Z.o.E. And finally, Z.o.E the 2nd runner, the best game in this series yet, and one of the greatest mecha action games ever, building a great game over the flaws of the previous one. Z.o.E the 2nd runner is one of the best mecha games, and one of the greatest games on the PS2.

And now you get to play it in HD, on the PS3/Xbox 360, with the intro animated by studio Sunrise - the one that animates one of the very series Z.o.E pays homage to: Mobile Suit Gundam. And to top it all, the HD collection inclused a demo disk for Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. It's funny, and a "tip of the hat" to the history of the series, as well as an almost trademarked "Kojima joke".

The HD collection has a few hiccups: slowdowns on certain events such as too many enemies on the screen (more noticeable on the PS3 version, I've heard), etc. but nothing too serious and just a minor nuisance. The first Z.o.E game hasn't aged too well I'm afraid with some pretty bad voice acting, and quite short, but it all pays when you reach The 2nd Runner.

If you love mecha, buy this game. If you love sci-fi action, buy this game. If you like Hideo Kojima, buy this game. If you want to own a small fraction of videogame history, then by all means, buy this game.

And please, may there be another entry in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game!, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
This is a great game for those who enjoy fast pace gameplay. I'm a huge fan of giant robots, but I've generally been somewhat disappointed at how most games of the genre are fairly slow moving and generally. Not so is the case ZoE. Infinite Boost! which means dodging and moving at high speeds! They weren't exaggerating when they put "High Speed Combat" in the sub title of the game.

The storyline isn't the greatest I have seen, fairly typical stuff (I won't spoil it) The gameplay is really where this excels. Graphics are pretty awesome as well, though during the first game they did not update the cutscenes, as they are still using the older versions, but in the second game they have, and its the more important one out of the two, so its not a big blemish.

Multiplayer is pretty fun too. There's nothing quite like boosting around like crazy with a friend and attempting to hit the other while dodging the others attacks. It's fairly intuitive and simple gameplay, but very rewarding.

All in all:
Gameplay: 10/10
Graphics : 9/10
Storyline: 6/10
Multiplayer: 8/10
Replayability: 7/10

Overall Score: 9/10

A really fantastic game, give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Revisited, April 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
Loved this series back when it came out on the PS2 over 10 years ago, just as good as I remembered it. If you're looking for a fast-paced shooter, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An updated, improved Zone of the Enders, November 15, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
I first played these games on PS2 back when they were first released.

ZoE 1 has been cleaned up and streamlined, the cinemas don't look much better but the gameplay itself looks and feels smoother. On an HD TV though, it doesn't feel too much different from the original.

ZoE 2 has been much more improved, cinemas and gameplay look and feel better overall. I preferred this game over the first, this stays true today. Awesome, awesome game, great gameplay, story, pacing, action, everything. ZoE2 rocks, and it's been much improved by this HD Release.

Overall this is a solid release, ZoE1 has been slightly improved, ZoE2 has been greatly improved, it was great to play both games again on my Xbox after such a long time. Both games really held up with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best mech based game on 360 easy!, November 16, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
i wasnt a big fan of the zoe series on ps2, it lacked depth of motion, the mechs were choppy looking and the control was rather touchy (much like the armored core series which really didnt catch my fancy until the newest incarnation for ps3 which is fantastic).

what konami did here is not just port the game over with enhanced visuals but theyve addressed nearly every issue to the point that this is easily the best mech game on 360 and one of the top 5 games ive played all year. its so fluid youd swear it was a brand new title by a new and improved developer.

easily 5 stars and a chance to try out the new metal gear which turns the series on its ear (in a good way). kind of like ninja gaiden black meets metal gear solid.

at 40usd this is def . worth the price...4 1/2stars

i did not factor in the japan only virtual on 4orce when i put this review together, but the games are totally different styles (one is a mech fighter and one is a level based adventure so i dont really think theres a comparison, especially when you factor in the fact that to be enjoyed thuroughly you really have to have the hori twin sticks for v-on, which i do, but i think im 1 of maybe 200 us players that actually shelled out for them since the cost as much as a console when they were released andcan now run you as much as 1000 usd if you try to snatch up a pair from someone that own one. voot 360 is good too but again, not really a comparable title on very many levels. sure beats the gundam dynasty warriors series ill tell you that :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good HD Collection For Any Mech Fan To Own., July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
While I never actually played these games when they first came out the HD collection series with its improved graphics and audio made this purchase a good choice. Overall it's a must have for mech fans as you have free roaming space for the most part in the battles and a pretty good storyline as well. Still for those unsure try seeing if you can try out a demo online or at a game store to see if this is one game you'd like to add to your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
Zoe, I remember playing this along time ago on the PlayStation two. It was awesome, actually it was amazing. This is different, in. A good way. the gameplay is still amazingly fast and fun to learn and play. Fighting groups of enemies in mass and destroying things quickly is key. Moving around using your jump jets and quickly switching to the weapons never takes away from the battle, fact get your moments strategy to figure out what you going to do next. Zone of the Enders requires a lot of patience but it is very rewarding once you learn how to pilot the orbital frame correctly. And for the price of this game, why aren't you buying this right now? Buy it, it's two games that are amazing for a great deal. The music intertwines with the gameplay very nice, I can honestly say the second game is better than the first. The first game is more of a training manual for the second one. Why oh why didn't they make a sequel to the second? It is well-deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jehuty, June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
The game was an amazing experiance 10\10 the story had me hooked and was a excellent remake.if part 4 came out ill be the first to have it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Nostalgic, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
This game still hasn't lost what makes it great it was fun back then and it is still fun now. This game is tons of fun and I would recommend it even to a new player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zone of the Enders HD Collection (Video Game)
This game is a HD remake of the awesome Zone of Enders games back on PS2. To find it on Xbox....that makes me happy. The graphics have been updated yes, and it looks very good. The gameplay is smooth, the action is fast, the controls are tight. If you like mecha games, play this game, because it's better than Armored Core or Mech Assault. I grew up on Gundam, and this game gets me closest the to the feelings that the anime evokes, even more so than the actual Gundam games. Looks like Konami needs to make the next open world Gundam game...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zone of the Enders HD Collection
$29.99 $12.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.