Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource Manual, September 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare (Paperback)
This book is an excellent reference manual for a wide variety of zookeeping topics. It discusses everything from exhibit design to fencing to different ways to offer water, to nutrition, behavior, captive research, and more.

The coverage of some topics are very thorough (types of fencing, etc) while for obvious reasons some topics are much of an overview, such as nutrition and behavior.

This is a British manual, and so discusses much of BIAZA and other overseas regulation as opposed to US policy (although there is adequate mention of all oversight associations), and there is a SLIGHT bias toward the European ways of doing things (and public) but this is only obvious in a handful of instances.

All in all, this is a great read for a zookeeping professional or someone wishing to enter the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare, May 19, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare (Paperback)
As a person, involved in everyday zoo life, I found this book a useful tool namely for the education of junior management and caretakers alike. It is a powerful tool when explaining the importance of matters such as documentation of animals, behaviour of many species and eventually it has proved itself to be useful also when in need, for the correction of certain professional fixations and misbelieves.
On the down side this book tries too hard to cover all aspects regarding zoo life and it also attempts to be digestible to all personal and interested public alike. This leads to a general feel (compensated by an excellent reference range) of "lightness".
All and all, I use this book regularly and with success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource!, January 10, 2011
This review is from: Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare (Paperback)
This textbook is a must-have for any aspiring or current zookeeper. It covers a wide range of zoo related topics and is very easy to read and well structured. The only complaint I have about this book is that its authors are from the UK and so a lot of the information about legislation, history of zoos, and specific examples come from the UK. This only takes away because I am American and would prefer to read resources more relevant to my work area. That said, I still found this book to be a valuable source of knowledge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wasn't paying attention that its a college book lol, March 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare (Paperback)
this book is great, i bought it for a research assignment in a core corriculum class and was expecting a thin book. NOPE haha it was a college book but it works out because i am going into zoology and may need it down the road and what they talk about is still interesting to read now so i have no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars birthday present for my daughter, September 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare (Paperback)
my daughter is planning to get her masters in zoology so she had this on her amazon wish list. She received it in August and called the evening she had a chance to look at it and told me she loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cover and an easy read!, December 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare (Paperback)
This book is a must for those looking to learn a little bit more about wild animals in captivity. It gives you a fantastic overview of what zoos and aquariums do and then breaks it down in many different chapters. It is an easy read and very easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars College Level Text: Further Reading for Docents, Educators, November 19, 2011
By 
C. Marlan (Tampa, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare (Paperback)
This college level text book, despite the bias towards European standards, is an excellent read for the student becoming involved with Zoos, anyone seriously curious about how Zoos work, and where I recommend it to is the Docent, Educator or Volunteer who want to further their knowledge on the ins/outs of running a Zoo. The strict rules, regulations, high standards and daily requirements will change your perspective as such you will see your Zoo in a new light on your next visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare
Zoo Animals: Behaviour, Management and Welfare by Geoffrey R. Hosey (Paperback - March 15, 2009)
Used & New from: $25.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.