Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Huge, Hilarious Adventure
Eleven-year-old Griffin Bing is known throughout Cedarville, New York as "The Man with the Plan." Recently, he and his friends had gotten tangled up in a mess involving a stolen Babe Ruth baseball card. Since that crisis has been resolved safely, Griffin has been on the lookout for another adventure, and he doesn't have to look very far. His good pal, Savannah, to put it...
Published on October 5, 2009 by KidsReads

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zoobreak...
I liked Swindle. The story was original and creative and it was beautifully written. But I have some problems with Zoobreak.

Savannah just gets more annoying as the story goes on. The whole plot is driven by the fact she must get her monkey back, which she probably shouldn't have had in the first place. Moreover, she just seems...whiny and desperate. I mean,...
Published 14 months ago by ANP


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Huge, Hilarious Adventure, October 5, 2009
By 
KidsReads (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Hardcover)
Eleven-year-old Griffin Bing is known throughout Cedarville, New York as "The Man with the Plan." Recently, he and his friends had gotten tangled up in a mess involving a stolen Babe Ruth baseball card. Since that crisis has been resolved safely, Griffin has been on the lookout for another adventure, and he doesn't have to look very far. His good pal, Savannah, to put it mildly, is an animal enthusiast: she loves every creature and can recite all sorts of information on just about every one. She even has her own pet capuchin monkey, but to her horror, he goes missing, breaking her heart.

Griffin and his best friend, Ben, help her search for her monkey, but the boys find nothing. It isn't until their class goes on a field trip to a visiting zoo on a boat that they make a horrific discovery --- the "All Aboard Animals" floating zoo has Savannah's monkey locked up in a horrible cage. And what makes it even worse is that the entire zoo is dirty, and the animals are skinny and obviously miserable. Savannah tries to get her monkey back, but the zoo's operator swears he is the legal owner. There's nothing Savannah, her parents, or her parents' lawyer can do.

But there is something Griffin and his friends can do --- Operation Zoobreak! Everyone on the team has a special talent, like Pitch and her climbing abilities, Logan with his acting skills, and Melissa, who knows everything about computers. A person by himself or herself is alone, but a group of friends working together can accomplish anything. The team gets started right away on their plan to sneak aboard the floating zoo and rescue the monkey. Of course, things never go completely according to plan, and at the last minute, Savannah decides they should save every creature in the zoo. It's a good thing that Griffin is so talented with plans; they're going to need some good ones.

Gordon Korman has written a number of awesome books, and ZOOBREAK is yet another winner. He has a wild sense of humor, and his characters are colorful and entertaining. Griffin and his friends are so much fun; the pages flew by in a huge, hilarious adventure. This book is overflowing with energy, and each chapter ends with the promise of more excitement. In addition, woven perfectly into the story, without sounding preachy or lectured, are the themes of friendship, working together, accomplishing the impossible, and having the courage to do what is right. I can't wait to read more adventures involving Griffin and his friends.

--- Reviewed by Chris Shanley-Dillman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for children (and teens) of all ages!!!!!!!!!!, September 10, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Hardcover)
this book is the sequel to swindle, it is about the same group of kids, this time it involves a monkey, a trained attack owl and a plan, Savannah Drysdales monkey, Cleopatra is kidnapped from her back yard with a banana and then at schoool they go on a field trip at schoool and they visit a floating zoo only to reveal that is an awful enviornment for the animals and worst of all a certain kidnapped monkey seems to be there, how will the team figure this one out?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zoobreak..., July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Kindle Edition)
I liked Swindle. The story was original and creative and it was beautifully written. But I have some problems with Zoobreak.

Savannah just gets more annoying as the story goes on. The whole plot is driven by the fact she must get her monkey back, which she probably shouldn't have had in the first place. Moreover, she just seems...whiny and desperate. I mean, really, would it be that bad if she never got Cleopatra back or if the other animals were rescued later on? In addition she didn't really think about what she was going to do with a zoo-full of animals until after she rescues them. In so many ways Savannah lacks judgement and common sense in this book.

Also, many of the characters in Zoobreak seem static. These static characters don't change, adapt, or develop.

The children in this book openly defy authorities and take matters into their own hands. Breaking into a zoo in real life could get you in serious trouble. Furthermore, a good friend doesn't ask you to do dangerous things or defy authority to rescue their pet. At the very least, none of the characters are good role models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Kindle Edition)
It is a lot like Swindle with them needing two plans to get out of their situation and I look forward to reading the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, December 22, 2009
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Hardcover)
If it weren't for Savannah's capuchin monkey, Cleopatra, being stolen, none of this would have happened. But Cleo was stolen, and it did!

Griffin and his friends (if you've read SWINDLE by Mr. Korman, these are the same kids that managed to pull off the baseball card caper) are on a class field trip to the traveling exhibit All Aboard Animals. An old paddleboat has been converted into a traveling zoo. The kids are grossed out by the stench of the animals, and when Savannah finds Cleo in a cage marked Eleanor, she is absolutely livid. She demands her monkey back, but the zookeeper, Mr. Nastase, insists he bought her legally and has a bill of sale to prove it.

The kids, grumbling, leave the floating zoo, but Savannah is determined to get Cleo back. It's Griffin who comes up with the idea: Zoobreak. He assembles a team of friends, each with a specific job, and comes up with the plan.

The kids successfully (though with some hiccups in the execution) retrieve Cleo, along with all the other animals in the exhibit. If they had left the other animals, they'd have been home free. But Savannah can't stand the thought of leaving the rest of the animals in such squalid conditions.

Trying to conceal such exotic animals as a meerkat, loon, beaver and more create havoc in the kids' lives. They realize they have to get rid of the animals before they are found out. Their only option is to break the animals INTO another zoo.

If you think this is as crazy as it sounds, it is! The adventures Griffin and his friends get into are hysterical. The fact that the plans actually work are astounding. But of course, there are obstacles along the way, and it's navigating the obstacles that are the most fun.

This is the first story I've read by Mr. Korman, and after enjoying ZOOBREAK so much, I know I'll read more.

Reviewed by: Jaglvr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plan for Belly Laughs, September 20, 2009
By 
Karen Keyte (Cumberland, ME USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Hardcover)
Griffin Bing, The Man With a Plan, and his fellow felonious sixth graders are back in this hilarious sequel to Swindle. This time, the gang is up in arms when Savannah's stolen pet monkey, Cleo, turns up in a seedy floating zoo called All Aboard Animals. None of the adults - parents, police, lawyers - can help Savannah, so she turns to the ringleader of the baseball card heist team for help. Griffin hatches his most ingenious and intricate plan yet: Operation Zoobreak. Of course, Griffin's plans always go much more smoothly on paper than they do in real life and Griffin, Ben, Logan, Savannah, Pitch and Melissa soon find themselves in familiar territory - way over their heads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars high, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Kindle Edition)
I loved everything I've read all the books.
There one of my favorite series.
Hope they make a movie about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gordon Korman knows the middle school mind!, May 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Kindle Edition)
My 6-8th graders all have their Korman favorites, the Swindle series has great appeal for 4th-5th graders and 6th and some 7th graders really like it also. Humor and mystery are a winning combo for this age group!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1 of the best books ever!!!!!!!!, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Kindle Edition)
my friends kept sayin i HAD to read swindle.... i got i couldnt put the book down!!!!!!!!!!! no matter what i did i had kindle in my hands reading it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling and dramatic book, with a sweet ending, May 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zoobreak (Swindle) (Kindle Edition)
"zoobreak" was a well written book, with a sweet and heartwarming ending, but, the book has a sense of encouragement towards robbery/theft, because something good (and nothing bad) came out of the robbery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Zoobreak (Swindle)
Zoobreak (Swindle) by Gordon Korman
$5.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.