Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Zorro film ever!
This is arguably the best film version of Johnston McCulley's costumed swordfighter of old California, beating out both the 1920s Douglas Fairbanks film and the recent Banderas/Hopkins blockbuster (although both are good films in their own rights).
What this film has is Golden Age Hollywood style in spades: glamourous photography, music, and star power. It has less...
Published on January 28, 2004 by Claude Avary

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After all this time - disappointed
I'm sorry to say, that Fox classics did little if anything to restore or enhance the print on the DVD. There are still marks, smudges, etc on the print.
They have commentary by a film critic, and a biography on Tyrone Power that was on A&E. Big deal.
If you're a real fan of this film (the duel between Power and Basil Rathbone is worth having if nothing...
Published on October 26, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tyrone Power = The Real Zorro, March 6, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Mark of Zorro (DVD)
I've been wanting to see this movie for a long time; I love movies from the 1930s and 40s. I had never seen a Tyrone Power movie before, but I have to say that starting today I've become a fan. Tyrone Power gives a sumptuous performance as Zorro. The movie will keep you interested all along, and the whole cast is one of talented actors. Better than "The Mask of Zorro" with Antonio Banderas, I recommend this movie to any Zorro fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST ZORRO!, April 7, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mark of Zorro (Special Edition) (Colorized / Black and White) (DVD)
Tyrone Power, a highly underrated actor, was born to play "Zorro".Everything about his performance is perfect,his comedic timing is flawless.The entire is first-rate.Eugene Pallette as the Padre,Basil Rathbone as a dastardly villian,J.Edward Bromberg (as a corrupt Gov.-very funny),the beautiful Gale Sondergaard as his unfaithful wife,and Linda Darnell as Brombergs' ultra-beautiful niece.The score by Alfred Newman and the direction by Rouben Mamoulian is letter perfect.The disc contains the original black and white verson and the colorized version.Being a movie purist I stick with the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The supreme Zorro film, May 15, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Mark Of Zorro [VHS] (VHS Tape)
After the success of Warner Brothers "The Adventures of Robin Hood," starring Errol Flynn, Twentieth Century Fox released a film of their namesake, "The Mark of Zorro," starring Tyrone Power. It was a box office hit, and is a classic of it's time. While not in color, and wary of action, this film holds up as, in my opinion, the best of the Zorro films.
In the 1800's, the Spanish Empire rules California. Don Diego Vega (Tyrone Power), is "the best fencer of Madrid." He is ordered home by his father, Don Alejandro. Upon arrival, he hears that the alcalde is an evil tyrant. But Diego's fahter is the alcalde!
Diego learns from Capitan Esteban Pasquale (Basil Rathbone) that his father resigned, and that Luis B. Quintero (J. Edward Bromberg). Both Esteban and Quintero are worthless land theives, taxing the peons into pverty to fill their own pockets. However, Diego suddenly appears to have lost his swordsman skills, now acting foppish and peaceful, much to Alejandro's dissapointment. However, Deigo soon becomes the black-clad Zorro, a daring freedom fighter rescuing both the rich and poor from the tyrants. To disguise himself, he must remain foppish. Only the padre Felipe (Eugene Pallette) knows his true identity, along with Diego's fiance Lolita Quintero (Linda Darnell), a kind girl against her uncle and his henchman. However, when Fray Felipe is arrested as Zorro for trying to defend the mission taxes, Diego abandons both disguises and leads the caballeros and peons to battle, personally taking on Esteban in a spectacular showdown.
"The Mark of Zorro" was bassed on three stories. One was Johnston McCulley's original Zorro story. Unlike the Fairbanks film, the theme here focuses on saving the people from corruption, rather than defending Lolita. Another was Douglas Faribanks's "The Mark of Zorro" (1920). The other was "The Adventures of Robin Hood." Basil Rathbone and Eugene Pallette had roles in the Robin Hood film before starring in "The Mark of Zorro." Zorro here as a Robin Hood characteristic: he steals tax money and returns it to the people. Most Zorros force their enemies to give the money back themselves.
Sword battles in this film occur mainly between Diego and Esteban. The fencing in this movie is excellent. Rathbone is one of the best fencer's of all time, as is Power. The Zorro in this film is the closest thing ever that fits the Zorro legacy. This is a beautiful colassic, one than cannot be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After all this time - disappointed, October 26, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mark of Zorro (DVD)
I'm sorry to say, that Fox classics did little if anything to restore or enhance the print on the DVD. There are still marks, smudges, etc on the print.
They have commentary by a film critic, and a biography on Tyrone Power that was on A&E. Big deal.
If you're a real fan of this film (the duel between Power and Basil Rathbone is worth having if nothing else), certainly buy this.
Just don't expect anything special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ABSOLUTE MASTERPIECE!!!!, September 3, 1999
By 
This review is from: The Mark Of Zorro [VHS] (VHS Tape)
My history teacher originally reccommended this movie to me, and, confidentially, I was a bit skeptical. My father said he had seen it before and also thought it was wonderful, but I still wasn't sure. So one day, I watched this movie on AMC, and, believe me, I am now in agreement with my teacher and Dad!! Every single time it is on TV I watch it, even though I already have it on tape. Just recently I saw the Douglas Fairbanks version, and I must say that while I didn't feel it was better, and I did not feel it was worse either, I thought it was much funnier. Fairbanks has you in stitches while he's running around in his Zorro costume, jumping over things and throwing food at people. If you haven't seen the Tyrone Powers version, go rent it immediately!! If you haven't seen the silent version, see that now, too!! (Don't let the quality of the silent one discourage you. In the one I saw, the film was constantly going from blindingly light to almost pitch black. Even so, it is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen.) SEE THESE MOVIES NOW!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Mark of Zorro (1940) ... Tyrone Power ... 20th Century Fox (2005)", July 29, 2007
This review is from: The Mark of Zorro (Special Edition) (Colorized / Black and White) (DVD)
20th Century Fox present "THE MARK OF ZORRO" (Special Edition) (Released: November 8, 1940) (93 mins) (Fully Restored/Dolby Digitally Remastered) --- now in COLOR and Glorious Black and White --- "The Mark of Zorro" is a 1940 feature motion picture directed by Rouben Mamoulian and produced by 20th Century Fox --- It starred Tyrone Power as Don Diego de la Vega (Zorro), Linda Darnell as his love interest, (Lolita Quintero), Montagu Love as (Don Alejandro Vega), Gale Sondergaard as the naughty (Inez Quintero), Eugene Pallette as (Fra. Felipe), with Basil Rathbone, one of the most durable of screen villains who has mastered stage fencing but never won a sword fight, plays the cruel (Captain Esteban Pasquale), the Alcalde's military adviser and J. Edward Bromberg was the corrupt governor (Don Luis Quintero ) --- The film was directed by Rouben Mamoulian and produced by Raymond Griffith and Darryl F. Zanuck.

Based on the Johnston McCulley story "The Curse of Capistrano", originally published in 1919, which introduced the masked hero Zorro, the movie's story is set in Southern California during the early 19th century --- It deals with the foppish son of a wealthy ranchero who returns to California after a sojourn at school in Spain, only to be horrified at the way the common people are being mistreated by Governor Quintero --- Don Diego adopts the guise of Zorro ("the Fox"), a Robin Hood like outlaw who becomes a defender of the people --- In the meanwhile, he romances the governor's beautiful niece, Lolita, and fends off the governor's ablest henchman, the malevolent Captain Pasquale --- The high point of the picture is the fantastic duel between Power and Rathbone, a masterpiece of screen Swordplay --- Tyrone Power had joined Errol Flynn as the reigning 'kings' of swashbucklers, a title both would find amusing, if limiting, but which would be how both actors are best remembered, today! (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

Under Rouben Mamoulian (Director), Raymond Griffith (Producer), Darryl F. Zanuck (Producer), John Taintor Foote (Screenwriter), Garrett Elsden Fort (Screenwriter), Johnston McCulley (Short Story Author), Bess Meredyth (Screenwriter),Arthur C. Miller (Cinematographer), Alfred Newman (Musical Direction/Supervision / Composer (Music Score), Robert Bischoff (Editor), Richard Day (Art Director), Joseph C. Wright (Art Director), Thomas K. Little (Set Designer), Travis Banton (Costume Designer) - - - - This film is essentially a remake of the 1920 United Artists silent version, "The Mark of Zorro", which starred Douglas Fairbanks --- The 20th Century Fox 1940 version under Alfred Newman's Oscar-Nominated score and despite the unusual absence of Technicolor, the film (the first of the great Tyrone Power swashbucklers ) is great fun, full of vitality and suspense, an exciting, deliciously ironic swashbuckler

the cast includes:
Tyrone Power ... Don Diego Vega/Zorro
Linda Darnell ... Lolita Quintero
Basil Rathbone ... Captain Esteban Pasquale
Gale Sondergaard ... Inez Quintero
Eugene Pallette ... Fray Felipe
J. Edward Bromberg ... Don Luis Quintero
Montagu Love ... Don Alejandro Vega
Janet Beecher ... Señora Isabella Vega
George Regas ... Sergeant Gonzales
Chris-Pin Martin ... The Turnkey
Robert Lowery ... Rodrigo
Belle Mitchell ... Maria de Lopez
John Bleifer ... Pedro
Frank Puglia ... Propietor
Eugene Borden ... Officer of the Day
Pedro de Cordoba ... Don Miguel
Guy D'Ennery ... Don José
Stanley Andrews ... Commanding Officer
Ralph Byrd ... Student/Officer
Charles Stevens ... Jose, a Peón

BIOS:
1. Tyrone Power
Date of Birth: 5 May 1914 - Cincinnati, Ohio
Date of Death: 15 November 1958 - Madrid, Spain.

2. Linda Darnell
Date of Birth: 16 October 1923 - Dallas, Texas
Date of Death: 10 April 1965 - Glenview, Illinois

3. Basil Rathbone
Date of Birth: 13 June 1892- Johannesburg, South Africa
Date of Death: 21 July 1967 - New York, New York

4. Gale Sondergaard
Date of Birth15 February 1899 - Litchfield, Minnesota
Date of Death: 14 August 1985 - Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, California

5. Eugene Pallette
Date of Birth: 8 July 1889- Winfield, Kansas
Date of Death: 3 September 1954 - Los Angeles, California

6. J. Edward Bromberg
Date of Birth: 25 December 1903 - Temesvár, Austria-Hungary. [now Timisoara, Romania]
Date of Death: 6 December 1951 - London, England, UK

7. Rouben Mamoulian (Director)
Date of Birth: 8 October 1897 - Tiflis, Georgia, Russian Empire. [now Tbilisi, Georgia]
Date of Death: 4 December 1987 - Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, California

SPECIAL FEATURES:
1. All new Colorized feature
2. Restored Black & White feature
3. Commentary by Film Critic Richard Schickel
4. Tyrone Power: :The Last Idol" as seen on Biography on A&E Network
5. Special Edition - Collectible Movie Photos from the film "The Mark of Zorro".

Hats off and thanks to Barry B. Sandrew Ph.D. (Founder, COO, CTO & Board Member) and his Legend Films Staff --- looking forward to more high quality releases from the vintage era of the '20s, '30s & '40s --- order your copy now from Amazon where there are plenty of copies available on DVD --- if you enjoyed this title, why not check out Legend Films where they are experts in releasing long forgotten films and treasures to the collector --- all my heroes have been cowboys!

Total Time: 93 mins on DVD ~ 20th Century Fox Video. ~ (10/18/2005)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love the movie, dissapointed with the lack of restoration, November 22, 2003
By 
Gerald Siegel (Mililani Town, HI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mark of Zorro (DVD)
I just bought the DVD thinking it would have been digitally restored or duped from a good print or negative. Sadly, no. There are too many scratches for a state of the art digital DVD. Shame on the producers for not taking the effort to find a better print to work from, or to use computer technology to clean it up. I may miss my guess, but I believe that I have a VHS version that is cleaner than the DVD. That said, this is a classic to have. It moves at a fast pace with no wasted dialogue. Power gives a fine performance as do all the characters, such as Bromberg and Rathbone, with a twinkle of humor. The Darryl Zanuck joke on the extras is fun to see. Shickel commentary is kind of humdrum, and when he introduces Darnell, at her loveliest, as the "daughter" I felt hmm Richard you lost me already (she is the niece). I still await a better technical quality version on DVD. For now this will do.Zorro theme was actually done by Hugo Friedhofer,not Alfred Newman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swordplay and Swashbuckling at its Best, June 17, 2011
This review is from: The Mark of Zorro (Special Edition) (Colorized / Black and White) (DVD)
The duel in The Mark of Zorro at the end is superb. In the climax, Tyrone Power, son of the Ohio women's fencing champion, and Rathbone, lifelong fencing enthusiast, square off for one of the all-time classics on-screen battles to the death. No doubt Power's most durable role. Great script, beautiful girl, wonderful supporting cast. The plot is simplicity itself: Don Diego sees people being abused, dons his mask as Zorro (the Fox) to right the wrongs of the tyrants, he finally reveals himself and leads a big screen revolt against the bad guys. Absolutely unbeatable. When they did a TV version with Frank Langella, they simply reshot the same script. And the later Banderas version, as good as he is, still doesn't stack up against the Tyrone Power version. As with The Adventures of Robin Hood, once you watch the latest slick, multi-million dollar remake, go here and see how its done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the grandchildren, July 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mark of Zorro (Special Edition) (Colorized / Black and White) (DVD)
I have grandchildren from 3 sets of parents and each has different standards for what their kids are allowed to watch on TV. When all the grandkids spend the night, it is difficult to find programs that meet all the standards. I have found that many DVDs of movies from the 1930s and 1940s meet the standards and are still fun for kids aged 10/13. Mark of Zorro is an exciting drama with romance, but no sex, and just mild violence. The grandkids loved it and the parents found nothing objectionable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the movie, minus one for the annoying commercial, May 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mark of Zorro (Special Edition) (Colorized / Black and White) (DVD)
First, I'll agree with all the other posters on the quality of the story and acting. Swashbuckling, action fun in a way that simply doesn't get made anymore. If you enjoyed Adventures of Robin Hood with Errol Flynn, you'll like this one too - two of the actors from Robin Hood even appear in Zorro in almost identical roles.

So, now to the annoying feature that lost this particular version a star: that stupid anti-piracy ad in the beginning of the colorized version that you can't skip past. I appreciate having the option to watch either the color version or the B&W, but if I have to sit through that 30-second torture every time I want to watch the color version, I think I'll stick to the B&W one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Mark of Zorro (Special Edition) (Colorized / Black and White)
$14.98 $9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.