Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.25
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Zuckerzeit
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Zuckerzeit Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered, July 17, 2007
$19.99 $18.83

Hot Hot

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 17, 2007)
  • Original Release Date: 2007
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording reissued, Original recording remastered
  • Label: Revisited / Brain Records
  • ASIN: B000QUU2Y8
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #116,713 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Hollywood
2. Caramel
3. Rote Riki
4. Rosa
5. Caramba
6. Fotschi Tong
7. James
8. Marzipan
9. Rotor
10. Heisse Lippen

Editorial Reviews

The most important and consistently underrated space-rock unit of the '70s, Cluster (originally Kluster) was formed by Dieter Moebius, Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Conrad Schnitzler as an improv group that used everything from synthesizers to alarm clocks and kitchen utensils in their performances. Continuing on as a duo, Moebius and Roedelius eventually recorded many landmark LPs - separately, as a duo, and with all manner of guest artists from Brian Eno to Conny Plank to Neu!'s Michael Rother - in the field of German space music, often termed kosmische. Cluster also continued to explore ambient music into the '90s, long after their contemporaries had drifted into tamer new age music or ceased recording altogether.

Zuckerzeit (Sugar Time) is a well titled release; after the stark and (at times) testing Cluster II, this is an altogether sweeter affair. The music here is much denser, with more colour and a much greater degree of poppiness, all lending the album a pleasingly light and upbeat feel. One very obvious difference to Cluster II is the extensive use of drum machines, meaning that where tracks had previously consisted of layers of synthesizer noise, they now have a definite rhythm, seeming to free the melodic side of the band. Actually, Zuckerzeit is an album put together by two separate artists operating under a collective title, with Moebius and Roedelius each contributing five tracks and while this kind of behaviour rarely produces a unified outcome, here the album holds together nicely. Although Cluster are less well known than the likes of Kraftwerk, this material deserves to be considered as being as influential and important in the development of electronic music. This is powerful and creative music and for anyone looking to venture into the less Rock side of Krautrock, or into groundbreaking electronic music, it s a very fine place to start.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By squarehawk2 on January 5, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Zuckerzeit ("Sugar Era") proves to be a classic upon first listen. The album was a progressive move forward for Roedelius and Moebius who began to compose with rhythmic structures by way of an early drum machine and a stronger emphasis on harmony, a great departure from "Cluster II". What results is a fresh and warm analog experience which many to this very day are trying to recapture but so very few do. Re-mastering seems to have been well done.

I wonder why this release is not as well known as the classic "Autobahn" considering they both came out in 1974.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Paul Allaer TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on February 2, 2009
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
First things first: I recently saw the instructive "Kraftwerk and the Electronic Revolution" DVD documentary, and in it a bunch of Germany's so-called "Krautrock" scene is discussed, including of course Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, Klaus Schulze, Neu!, Can, etc, but also a number of bands with whom I was less familiar, or not familiar at all. Kluster (later renamed to Cluster) is one of those bands, so I started reading up a bit on these guys, and ordered this CD.

"Zuckerzeit" (1974; 10 tracks, 38 min.) is somewhat of a curiosity. Band members Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Dieter Moebius were at a crosspoint in their career, and for this album rather than the full-blown space rock one might suspect, Roedelius and Moebius each contributed 5 racks, ranging from 2 to 6 min. Moebius seems to be the pushing the band into a further experimental direction, check out "Rote Riki", by far the longest of the tracks here, and also the most abstract piece. I love it. Roedilius' pieces remind me more of the latter days of Tangerine Dream, almost new age-like. Check for example "Rosa" and "Hollywood". Not bad, but not terribly engaging or demanding either. His "Fotchi Tong" and Marzipan" tracks are much better, though.

In all, this is not a bad album, but not a great one either. I will be exploring more of the Cluster albums in the near future, in particular and can't wait to see where that will lead me, but I've got "Cluster II" and the Eno-collaborations on my radar screen already.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?