Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good set, and a not so bad value either.
As far as the premium henckels knife sets go, this one is one of the cheaper ones. They were a gift for my mother and a extreme upgrade over the old dull knives she had been beating on for years. Its hard to find a good henckels set (not those henckels international ones) for $200 or less. These knives were about $200 which compared to the top of the line sets from other...
Published on December 27, 2007 by KMull

versus
39 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great
I was always awed by the quality of the Henckels's brand knife and decided to finally take the plunge and shell out the $300 for the block and steak knives. While there is absolutely no comparison to the crappy knives I got at Target 2 years ago, I was a little dissapointed overall. The knives, while extremely sharp, actually feel a bit flimsy in the hand. I'm not...
Published on June 5, 2007 by Steve in NY


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good set, and a not so bad value either., December 27, 2007
By 
KMull (Providence, RI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
As far as the premium henckels knife sets go, this one is one of the cheaper ones. They were a gift for my mother and a extreme upgrade over the old dull knives she had been beating on for years. Its hard to find a good henckels set (not those henckels international ones) for $200 or less. These knives were about $200 which compared to the top of the line sets from other brands. As a general rule, if I can find what I need from a respected brand, even if its not that brands best product, I will always choose that over something from an inferior brand, at the same price.

Out of the box the high quality of the knives is evident. I was looking for sets with all the knives you could want without wasting money on steak knives. This set is perfect. If your like my mom, and are transitioning from a dull set, be careful! After a few nicks, you will stop underestimating their sharpness.

Unfortunately they tell you not to put them in the dishwasher. I cant blame them for trying to protect their product but I cant say they are going to be washed by hand all the time either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knife and block review, February 24, 2008
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
We bought this set as a Christmas gift to ourselves, because the $10 knife set I bought from Wal-Mart years ago was never very good in the first place and we wanted to stop fighting to cut through food.

These knives are fabulous. There is a large variety to choose from, and they all cut through vegetables and meat like butter. I am in love with the knives.

I would have given 5 stars, but the one thing I hate about the set is the pre-fab "one size fits all" knife block. I can't stand it. I would much prefer a block where the slots are cut to the size of the blades. I would suggest if that is a pet peeve of yours as well, to go out and find a new block that you like. We are in the process of doing so ourselves.

Otherwise the set is great. I have always heard great things about Henckels, and knew that they were the knife set I wanted. Upon use, I am glad to find out that they are just as great as I had heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, June 5, 2007
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
I was always awed by the quality of the Henckels's brand knife and decided to finally take the plunge and shell out the $300 for the block and steak knives. While there is absolutely no comparison to the crappy knives I got at Target 2 years ago, I was a little dissapointed overall. The knives, while extremely sharp, actually feel a bit flimsy in the hand. I'm not suggesting one try to cut a can of beans in half with one of these, but the feel of the knives, especially the smaller, ones was a bit underwhelming. I did research after this purchase and discovered that this particular set is essentially a starter set and that there are several higher quality Henckel models whose cost is into the thousands.

So I suppose for the money the knives were a decent deal but don't expect top-of-the line performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henckels--a sharp deal, January 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
Excellent quality knives--very sharp--don't cut yourself. Amazon had lowest price around. Delivery was on schedule.

Minor annoyance--advertising claims knives are dishwasher safe, but Henckels does not recommend putting in dishwasher. We are following the manufacturer's advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wood Block does not fit the knifes set, September 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
Knifes are excellent good quality and Germans but wood block really does not fit the knifes set, and is low finishing (made in China)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved them, November 2, 2006
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
I bought these for my step-dad as a gift. He absolutely loves them! They are superb knives. He cannot stop talking about how wonderfully sharp they are and how they can cut with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Knives, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
Even though they are supposed to be durable they blades do get bent, so it's important to use the sharpening tool (included in the kit) especially on the knives used often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp, October 27, 2012
By 
Mushjet (Miami, Fl USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
After years of using cheap knife sets my husband was complaining about the knifes we were using. I decided to buy this set for him for his birthday. We will never go back to using the cheap knife sets again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect knives, awesome set!, May 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
These knives are amazing and super sharp. They cut extremely well! The only down side at all to this set is there are no steak knives but that is a matter of just buying them! Totally would recommend to any and everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars knives are great. not so much for the block, August 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zwilling J.A. Henckels Twin Signature Stainless-Steel 11-Piece Knife Set with Block (Kitchen)
i love these knives! they are individually packaged when they arrive, and the quality of them is incredible. my only beef with this product is the block. It has a slot for the same number of knives that it comes with, but the actual slots don't make sense. you end up with the smaller knives in slots that are way too big for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.