Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great refill for Pen MOD
I bought these refills and modified them to fit in Pilot G2 and Q7 pens. These refills are awesome, no noticeable drag when writing compared to the original Pilot pens. Any one wondering if they should try this MOD should and just google for help. All that is required for this mod is cutting the plastic cap end 1/8 off to if in a Pilot pen.

Works beautifully...
Published on April 27, 2006 by iMigraine

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Expect Them to Last a Long Time
These fit my meisterstuck nicely. But, as many others have mentioned, they do not last very long. This is not a recent problem; I have had trouble with refills for the 10+ years I have owned the pen.
Published on October 31, 2010 by Sand Dog Dave


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great refill for Pen MOD, April 27, 2006
I bought these refills and modified them to fit in Pilot G2 and Q7 pens. These refills are awesome, no noticeable drag when writing compared to the original Pilot pens. Any one wondering if they should try this MOD should and just google for help. All that is required for this mod is cutting the plastic cap end 1/8 off to if in a Pilot pen.

Works beautifully and writes the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't Expect Them to Last a Long Time, October 31, 2010
By 
Sand Dog Dave (San Diego, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mont blanc usa 15158 Medium Point Rollerball Refill, 2 per Pack, Black Ink (Office Product)
These fit my meisterstuck nicely. But, as many others have mentioned, they do not last very long. This is not a recent problem; I have had trouble with refills for the 10+ years I have owned the pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MB Refills seem to be bad, no matter the color..., July 21, 2008
By 
Summary: If your MB refills suck, don't worry! It's how they are. Don't assume they're counterfeits- I think that's just brand mythology, at least in real retail outlets in the US. However, if you are willing to give them another go at less than full cost, call Mont Blanc and they should be able to arrange something. If not, take them back to the store from which you got them.

I'm a fountain pen guy, but everyone has to journey back to the dark side once and a while while filling out a form. For a long time, I'd just kept a Parker Jotter w/ a Parker Gel refill in my bag just in case, and it was serviceable, though it did suffer from running out very quickly as well as random dry outs that no amount of spit or hot water could bring it out of. That said, it worked- though you did end up wasting a bit of cash on the Parker brand. They make nice fountain pens, and made nicer ones in their hayday, but their Gel pens... meh. So, out looking for a new rollerball or gelpen to be my just-in-case pen I was convinced by a friend to try out a Mont Blanc. We went to a local pen shop and I tried out some of the higher end FPs- I'd only used some of the sub-$500 MB FPs; and in their world, that's cheap- as well as their ball pens. My friend spoke well of the MB rollerball refills- and the clerk, not surprisingly, raved about them. Neither actually used them, so I suspect a rather simple minded attachment to brand or image.

Much to the chagrin of the clerk, I decided to play it safe and just buy a pack of the MB refills, using some hackish engineering to shoe-horn the refill into a very secure screw-top Esterbrook that was quite nibless. At first, I was pretty pleased with myself- not only did I have what was supposed to be the finest writing refill on the planet (according to the clerk and MB), I managed to make it happen in a much classier pen than any modern MB could aspire to be.

In the end, the rollerball fared much worse than the medium-quality Parker Gel refills did. I don't know how often they run out- I never managed to get past 3 days before it dried out. The first one lasted two days, and in the second one I borrowed a friend's Starwalker Fineliner and had it go three days. To round out the experience, the refills suffered from chronic skipping that wasn't helped by all of the random suggestions I got.

I'd read a bunch about "counterfeit" refills, and in the interest of science got a MB rep's phone number from the pen shop- they sent out a new pack of 2 refills for a small fee, which is pretty lame but understandable. With these, I managed only 3 days again, with each refill being split into being used in the Estie and the MB to see if there was a difference.

In the end, MB makes a lot of over-priced plastic doo-hickeys. I'm sure it's a good way to buy some cred around the country club, but as far as writing utensils go they're pretty third tier. I didn't expect much from a rollerball refill in general, but for refills that cost $5 each I expected something quite a bit better than the Parker or generics I usually use. In fact, I got worse.

For the $12.50 I spent on the original refills and the S/H fee I paid later, I could've just bought a bottle of Noodler's Ink, or better yet, bought one of those fountain pen ink refillable rollerball pens and skipped over re-learning the lesson that "Mont Blanc is nothing but jewelry for dandies, not serious pens for people who write." Live and learn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Writes great but only for short time., July 16, 2009
By 
weavelink (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My first refill of the two in the package lasted less than a month before it dried up while the fineliner that was included when I purchased starwalker lasted about 6 months. I'm already on the second cartridge and hoping this will last a little longer than the first cartridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Came as ordered, works as expected, September 5, 2011
By 
S Λ F 1 (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mont blanc usa 15158 Medium Point Rollerball Refill, 2 per Pack, Black Ink (Office Product)
I have bought original Mont Blanc refills for my starwalker pen at Mont Blanc stores and they never lasted more than a couple of months, even when I don't use the pen. I am agreeably surprised that these have been going for the last 4 months, and I am using the pen more than i did before.

I feel one has to keep using them regularly otherwise the ink dries up, and it feels like a cheat. So it's not the quality of the refill, it's usually that lack of use makes the buy not worth it. If you are not using your refill, remove it and cap it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They work, December 24, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In my pen, a starwalker, the original ink lasted about 5 months with regular writing. This refill fits the pen, is not loose or otherwise poor quality, and writes like the original did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for a week or two, February 7, 2013
By 
Smith (Blacksburg, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mont blanc usa 15158 Medium Point Rollerball Refill, 2 per Pack, Black Ink (Office Product)
This insert was amazing at first. Wrote smoothly and the ink dried immediately. Better than anything I've tried.

A couple weeks of light use and it's no longer working at anywhere near an acceptable level. Writes like a knife; ink doesn't flow properly.

Will not purchase these again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Disappointed, June 7, 2012
This review is from: Mont blanc usa 15158 Medium Point Rollerball Refill, 2 per Pack, Black Ink (Office Product)
Quality is apparent. These refills last a long time. I write little notes frequently and the ink flows effortlessly each time I write. Highly recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a nice way to write, October 24, 2013
By 
hlew "4 timer" (Palos Park, IL, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mont blanc usa 15158 Medium Point Rollerball Refill, 2 per Pack, Black Ink (Office Product)
This refill I am using with a pen body made for it even though it is not a Mont Blanc so I am getting the joy of writing with a Mont Blanc pen without the high price of a Mont Blanc pen body. It writes so very nice and makes me want to toss the computer aside and write more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Pilot G2 replacement., August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mont blanc usa 15158 Medium Point Rollerball Refill, 2 per Pack, Black Ink (Office Product)
I purchased these in order to modify them with use in a Pilot G2. The quality of those refills is much better than the standard rollerballs that come with a G2. They wrote relatively smooth and the ink dries quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.