canon p&s 300 or 4500 elph? Which should I get, the Canon Power Shot ELPH 300 or the Canon Power Shot ELPH 4500? Price is the same on here. I loved my ELPH 1200 but I dropped it and broke it. Please help me decide. I use my camera for travels and family... nothing elaborate needed, but just a good all around camera. Thanx!
asked by Histo on November 1, 2011
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-2 of 2 answers
A
votes
I bought the 300 last May and have been very pleased with it. It's very small and light, can fit in the smallest pocket. I'm a lazy photographer these days and only use the auto/program mode. Zoom and close-ups are nice, and it takes excellent shots in low light without using the flash. Best of all, I dropped it on a concrete sidewalk, banged a good chunk of paint off but it still works fine! But before I knew it would be OK, I knew I'd buy another because I liked it so much.

Can't compare it to the 4500.

Be aware that it doesn't come with a picture card, you have to buy that separately. Some reviewers downgrade it for this, but that's how they keep the camera price down, it's not the camera's fault.

ETA: You also don't get an instruction guide; only a CD that you can print out. This DOES bother me, but the basic mode of the camera is so easy to use that it hasn't been an issue.
Log Cabin Pat answered on November 8, 2011

A
votes