canon eos xsi I am a beginning photographer and am contemplating buying the Canon EOS XSi camera body. I want to purchase a lens that is somewhat all purpose for starters. Any suggestions?
asked by Traveler99 on June 19, 2010
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 answers
A
Actually the XSi does support live view mode from it's LCD screen. I know since I own one. Go to your XSi's setting's menu first. Then go to the icon with the wrench and the two dots. It's the 5th one from the left (3rd from right). From there scroll down to "Live View function settings" and click set. Here you'll be able to enable or disable the live view functionality. Once enabled you can always toggle on and off between live view mode and viewfinder mode by clicking on the set button while you're composing your shot.

That being said the only times I use it is when I'm positioning my camera at odd angles and looking through the viewfinder is inconvenient. I mostly like to compose my shot from the viewfinder. ALSO, for whatever reason, I do seem to lose the ability to auto focus one I'm in live view mode which is a bit irritating. I don't know if this is a problem that's encountered only with the XSi models or if it's supposed to function that way.