Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muy disfrutable
El nuevo libro de Ruiz Zafón - el Juego del Ángel, en verdad me cautivó. El final puede ser discutible, acelerado, con no todas las respuestas a todas las posibles preguntas, pero las primeras 640 páginas ( de las 666) son fascinantes, disfrutables de leer, de gran imaginación, y de alguna manera te hace sentir en una Barcelona de...
Published on June 27, 2008 by Walter Landesman

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nightmarish barcelona
Very similar and very different from La Sombra del Viento. The romantic location is the same, but where the other book was a gothic mystery, fundamentally rational and with a coherent and satisfying solution, this is a totally irrational story, a fantasy book. Good in its own way, but a deception nonetheless.
Published on July 27, 2008 by B. Mauro


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muy disfrutable, June 27, 2008
El nuevo libro de Ruiz Zafón - el Juego del Ángel, en verdad me cautivó. El final puede ser discutible, acelerado, con no todas las respuestas a todas las posibles preguntas, pero las primeras 640 páginas ( de las 666) son fascinantes, disfrutables de leer, de gran imaginación, y de alguna manera te hace sentir en una Barcelona de comienzos del siglo xx.
Intriga, misterios (más lineales que en La Sombra del Viento , donde uno llevaba a otro y era como un juego de damas chinas), una atmósfera mágica, extraña y de a momentos cuasi mística. Realmente muy interesante y de lectura muy recomendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's discuss the contents and not so much the binding ..., June 14, 2008
I read "La Sombra del Viento" (Shadow of the Wind) in one sitting, and thought it to be one of the best books I've read in the last 10 years. It took me just three days to finish this one, which is supposed to be a sequel, but you can perfectly read it independently of The Shadow. I don't want to be unfair with this one, cause I loved the other one so much. It is a good book, kept me going and interested, and found some parts very catching. I am not giving it 5 stars cause I was a bit dissapointed with the end, I felt the author had already written too many pages and some editor told him "that's it, you have to end it". Nevertheless, I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ¡Me encantó!, November 29, 2008
By 
Lubumba (Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
Una vez empiezas esta novela, es difícil parar de leer. El libro está escrito en un lenguaje sencillo y de acción rápida - de una sorpresa a la otra. La descripción de Barcelona y sus alrededores pone al lector en el centro de la acción. El lector sigue el personaje principal a través de sus desventuras e intrigas para culminar en un final que, lejos de explicar el misterio, deja muchas de las historias sujetas a la interpretación del lector. Este libro lo deja pensando y atando sus propios cabos. Merece una segunda lectura.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done, July 22, 2008
This is quite possibly one of the best books I have EVER read. Very well written, and very moving with every scene that attempted to invoke it. His style is fantastic, and this book made Zafón one of my favorite authors of all time, adding so much flavor to our current literary scene. Don't get me wrong, I loved La Sombra del Viento also. This one was incredible to say the least. Someone else mentioned on here that this is a sequel. This is actually a PREQUEL to La Sombra del Viento, as according to the Epilogue, Daniel Sempere is born, and someone important to him dies a little later (I won't spoil it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars el artista de la plumilla, February 27, 2009
Zafon es un maestro de la descripcion y un genio de la personificacion. El da vida a los objetos que coexisten en los alrededores del personaje principal, es este caso Martin. El autor es capaz de crear a Martin, que existe como ser humano y que cambia a traves de los sucesos y aventuras que estan a su camino. Si has leido la Sombra del Viento, este libro te va a fascinar ya que toma algunas cosas prestadas como el Cementerio de los Libros Olvidados y la libreria de Sempere e Hijos la cual tiene un parte muy importante en este relato. Para mi Zafon es mas que un escritor, es un artista que crea un mundo visible en mi cabeza, a traves de la escritura.
Creo que una de las cosas menos celebradas en la escritura contemporanea es el final. Muchas veces he visto peliculas o leido textos que son excelentes pero el final es debil. El Juego del Angel tiene un final donde la felicidad y la tristeza son uno. Zafon es capaz de empezar y terminar el libro con fuerza, determinacion y especialmente claridad.
Reir. La interaccion entre Martin y Isabella es muy graciosa. Mientras leo me causa risa ver como este par de personajes de desenvuelven ironicamente conviviendo bajo el mismo techo.
Andreas Corelli y su sonrisa lobuna cuativan la atencion del lector con sus misteriosas apariciones. Puedo decir que Corelli me da escalofrios.
Barcelona. Zafon y su descripcion de Barcelona en las primeras decadas de 1900 traen a la vida a esta ciudad obscura y gotica. Me encanta como Zafon empieza sus capitulos describiendo no solo la ciudad pero el clima; La lluvia, el frio, el lago congelado, la nieve y las nubes negras que traen encuentros inesperados y estrafalarios a Martin.

Este libro lo tiene todo, amor, pasion, aventura, accion, misterio, comedia,terror y sobre todo historias encima de las otras las cuales Martin explora.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skeptial at first - fascinated at last, July 28, 2008
Without having red his first adult novel (and best seller) I sat with a bit of skepticism to read "El Juego Del Angle" by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. To my surprise and delight I found a story of dark mystery, so well written, I had trouble putting down the 667 page volume I carried everywhere for a week. I found, that Spanish cordiality and humor I so much love of the culture in every page. . . . Kudos Zafon for a great piece of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nightmarish barcelona, July 27, 2008
By 
B. Mauro "borden" (Milano, Milano Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very similar and very different from La Sombra del Viento. The romantic location is the same, but where the other book was a gothic mystery, fundamentally rational and with a coherent and satisfying solution, this is a totally irrational story, a fantasy book. Good in its own way, but a deception nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classico Zafon, May 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Zafon mantiene el suspenso en este tomo, en su forma clasica de tejer un cuento. Lo unico que encontre un poco desconcertante es la tendencia de Zafon, en este libro, a comenzar los capitulos con descripciones del ambiente que, en ciertos momentos, resultan repetitivas. "El Juego del Angel" captura al lector, aunque no con la misma intensidad de "La Sombra del Viento". Sin embargo, lo recomiendo a los lectores que disfrutan de la forma lirica en que Zafon usa el lenguage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for all lovers of Barcelona and of books, July 20, 2013
I read this book in Spanish; the author's use of language is beautiful and is what I love most about his books (can't speak to how well this translates over into the English version). Characters are fully realized and I felt very enmeshed in their lives. The city of Barcelona is even a "character" of sorts. In fact, this book had many more references to places in the city that I recognized than did "The Shadow of the Wind." There are some wonderful expository sections in which Big Themes are examined, but never overdone. The dark, gothic atmosphere of the story is frequently lightened by characters who react with humor and authenticity to situations that are straight out of an Edgar Allen Poe story. Thoroughly mesmerizing; I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Exhausting, December 6, 2011
By 
It's always difficult to pull off a coherent story that includes time shifting and supernatural characters. With this novel I'd have to say "nice try". I read this in Spanish without difficulty (I have a C1 level in Spanish now), although it was a rather exhausting process: the book is almost 700 pages and Zafón's florid descriptions often seemed gratuitous. The most difficult part however was being able to suspend disbelief: the protagonist's ignorant complicity with "el patrón", coupled with the patrón's evil omnipotence were just too much to swallow. These considerations, together with Zafóns typical dark tone and trademark turns-of-phrase ("tragué saliva..."), were enough to have me swearing off Zafón for good, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.