G700 compatibility with Mac computers? I know there are similar discussions out there, but I wanted to ask if any Mac users have had success (yet?) with the G700?

==

* additional information *

I'm not a gamer. I'm a graphic designer and have been using the MX Revolution for my design work for over 4 years now. I have become 100% dependent on the 9 programmable buttons that the MX has and have taken full advantage of this feature for several of my applications.

I tried the Performance MX last year and was slightly disappointed. Although it was the most comfortable mouse I have ever used, with there being two less programmable buttons for me to use, it hinders my performance in my work, slightly.

Well, once I noticed the G700, my jaw about dropped when I saw how many keys were programmable. However, as I have with all of my peripherals, I did my research and have read that it is not compatible with the Mac.

I currently use the newest intel-based iMac i5. I do not own a PC and do not have any intentions on moving away from my Mac. I do understand that since I'm on a mac that I'll be limited regarding any externals I want to buy. I've been using Logitech for over 5 years and everything to date has been compatible with my Mac. I've used 3 different keyboards: the WAVE, ultra-thin illuminated and now the K800. Also the MX Revolution, Performance MX and the G13 game controller. All of those worked great for me on a Mac. I wonder if there's any sort of 3rd party software or workaround to make the G700 work without issues on the Mac.

I did also write something similar in an email to Logitech and posted on their forums as well. I have not received a return email as of the time of this post... but rather than serious replies on their forums, it seems that I instead started a war between Mac and Windows. Not exactly helpful. :\

Anyway - thanks for reading.
asked by Oscar W. on April 8, 2011
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-3 of 3 answers