Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


184 of 197 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The destruction of America's education system
This book argues that the academic meltdown in our public education system is intentional. It asserts that change agents have been working at the Education Department to change curriculum, not to improve teaching but to promote a socialist agenda. Their role is to create schools which will mold obedient citizens who no longer have the knowledge and skills to improve...
Published on February 12, 2000

versus
19 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Right Wing Pundits Love This Book
I agree wholeheartedly that education has been dumbed down.
I agree that education is probably the most valuable thing a person can posess for themselves and their communities.
I agree with many of the observations of the author regarding silly, invasive and ill-conceived programs, inclicted on schools by self-serving politicians and "educators".
I think...
Published 21 months ago by William Wallace


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

184 of 197 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The destruction of America's education system, February 12, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
This book argues that the academic meltdown in our public education system is intentional. It asserts that change agents have been working at the Education Department to change curriculum, not to improve teaching but to promote a socialist agenda. Their role is to create schools which will mold obedient citizens who no longer have the knowledge and skills to improve their lot in life, but are dependent on governement/multi-national companies' guidance to survive. The system will create imprisoned citizens that will be managed from cradle to grave to serve the needs of the state's managed economy. The book is clearly written,copiously documented, and finally asnwers the question "Why can't our kids read, write, and count?" A must-read for anyone with children. It presents a scary view of America's future if nothing is done to bring back our schools to the excellence of the turn of the century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


193 of 210 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Documenting a 100 yr. silent war on education in the USA, March 21, 2000
By 
"medow" (Livermore, ME United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
For years many parents and teachers have known that there was something wrong in the schools but often couldn't put a finger on it. Starting with receiving an invasive questionnaire brought home by her young son, Charlotte started a search which has culminated in one of the most amazing books I've encountered. When I first saw the volume, it was intimidating by its size (8 1/2" by 11" and quite heavy). However, the book is attractively laid out and invites readers to discover what has been happening to American education for the past 100 years -- all with quotes from those "change agents" who deliberately set out to have schools changed from individual excellence in becoming educated to groups being trained to think alike and, rather than following the personal goals for life, being readied to walk in lockstep with those who want a one-world government with compliant serfs. The book is organized by decades from the 1890s until the "noxious nineties". The publishers did an excellent job. The paper is acid free. The font is comfortable to read. The binding is such that you can copy pages easily, if desired. Surely no other history book has been made so accessible and helpful with as much documentation to peruse so easily. Iserbyt chose to self-publish in order to maintain the integrity of the information. This is a magnum opus of which the author can be proud. Those who want to know what has been happening will discover the facts. Armed with such well-organized information may help to convince the American public of the need to put a stop to the U. S.Department of Education -- as President Reagan had announced that he would do. This is an important book, vital to be shared with elected officials in any and all branches of government. Hope is not lost. This information should help citizens work together with confidence to make positive changes. Nothing is out of context. Trends and documentation is traced from beginning to end. Hats off to a grand, diligent and courageous lady whose persistence is paying off. A monumental task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exposing the Myths of Education and the Economy, March 19, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
Iserbyt's exhaustive research regarding education and the economy has exposed the many myths and misinformation underlying the history of related reforms. Presented in chronological order, the author presents a stunning indictment of public and private partnerships designed to restructure education and the economy, and ultimately to redefine the very nature and purpose of not only education, but man himself. Teachers will find this book extremely useful and instructive in identifying and comprehending recent changes in education certification and training that are increasingly threatening to academic freedom, and driving many out of the teaching profession altogether. Parents of children in public, private, and home-schools alike will find Iserbyt's research equally applicable to all, as the new system is deliberately mandated for everyone. No student or adult is to be exempt from the new systemic education and labor reforms. Only by understanding the underlying agenda and strategies of the reformists can we hope to restore academic freedom and moral agency in society, and protect our children. A Must Read for every parent, educator, and legislator concerned about our children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can read this book online for FREE:, February 13, 2007
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
... Or at least many parts of it. Go to "deliberatedumbingdown (dot) com" and you can download a .pdf version of the full book for free. It's complete. That's how I read it (couldn't find it on my library search system... hmmmmmmmm?!?!) There's also a newer version by the author.... one which is abridged. (available at the same website.) HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required Read for Anyone Interested in the Future of America, May 22, 2002
By 
David Martin (DeLand, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
As an educator for the past 28 years, and believing myself to be at least a little left of center polically, I found "The Deliberate Dumbing Down of America" to be the scariest thing I have ever read. Some will brand this book as conservative propganda. But those of us in the teaching profession wonder aload to each other and anyone else who will listen, what politicains are thinking about when they pass educational reform legislation. It would seem impossible to make some of the decisions that are being made without having deliberately set about to wreak the education system in America. If the facts laid out in this book are true (and the book is full of documentation) what is happening to education in Washington D.C. is worse than the Twin Towers tragedy and the attact on Pearl Harbor combined. The promotional material for this book says that it should be required reading for parents. I think it should be required reading for every educator or university student considering a career in education. A difficult read, but eye opening to the point of being painful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Analysis of Education, The Ultimate Expose'!, April 21, 2000
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
If one wants to find out exactly what American tax dollars havebeen funding for decades while students'education has been goingdownhill, just read Charlotte Iserbyt's new book, 'The Deliberate Dumbing Down of America.'
In this book, concerned parents, teachers, school superintendents, senators and representatives on the State and Federal levels, and educational researchers will find thoroughly documented facts, which are needed in order to understand what's happened to our once excellent educational system. Iserbyt is meticulous in her research. In addition, she includes firsthand experiences, and writes in an easy to read style. Important and recognizable trends are covered by decades, so that they may be readily followed by those who are interested in understanding the plans and events which have contributed to the downward transformation of our schools and our society.
So impressed by the need for wide circulation of this dedicated researcher's findings, I personally donated "The Deliberate Dumbing Down of America" to the library system in my area. hopefully, other readers will want to order and donate it to their local public library or nearby college library, or request that local libraries order it. The sooner its distribution all across our country occurs, the sooner a greater public awareness and understanding of our educational crisis will occur, and thus a real solution should soon follow... END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A parents nightmare but a must read!!, March 6, 2005
By 
L. Stone (Atlanta Georgia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
This book is so informative and will expand on many avenues of how our education is where it is today. Even how the Board of Education goes against the Constitution and that you can not change, but what you will gain from this is a wealth of knowledge that first will make you extremely mad and sick to your stomach. You will begin to see the whole picture as to the why's of the government's agenda. I see other reviews that want to say this is a right wing conspiracy you will see this is not just right wing it is just what the elite who control this country want to see happen. Even Rockefeller is quoted as saying that education for the masses should only enable you to buy products and read a newspaper but the end result keeps you from understanding their agenda and also from learning in the manner that only the elite feel they are entitled to know. This book defines the Goals 2000 Clinton set out to accomplish and he is liberal. History books are rewritten and important things omitted, math is taught 5 different ways so thats it is purposely confusing. Students are profiled for future employers even in the second grade. When I pulled my kids out of public school a Teacher literally fell to her knees and thanked God for me doing the right thing by my kids. When teachers finally figure out what is going on if they choose not teach this way they are threatened with their job. Schools that don't implement this teaching do not get federal funding. Look at your kids are their ideals different from yours. Ask them if they have ever been told it doesn't matter what your parents teach you you don't have to listen to them you can be your own person. Buy the book be enlightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Spy" in the Department of Education, June 29, 2000
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
"Double agent" author/educator Charlotte Iserbyt was fired from her Washington DC post in the Department of Education for leaking this information to the press. Now, 15 years later, we get the rest of the story, packed with hard facts she confiscated from the files. A no-holds-barred approach. From conservative to liberal, no name is sacred, and all are accomplices to the crime. A MUST READ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Deliberate Dumbing Down of America, July 8, 2000
By 
Lois L Simpson (Woodbridge, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
This book is THE BOOK - to have- EVERY CONCERNED PARENT in America should invest in a copy of it. It's the encyclopedia -IN YEAR DATE ORDER- of just what has been going on in America in the public school system- now for years and years. I can't recommend this book enough- it holds alot of answers to so many unanswered questions. YEARS OF RESEARCH at our fingertips- & it's the size of a telephone book. It's the best inside look- it's HONEST- OFFICIAL DOCUMENTATION- undisputable evidence. If every parent were to read this, we could right a terrible wrong being done in public schools today. I purchased two copies- one to share with a friend & one to keep by my computer on hand. Saves me years of research AT MY FINGERTIPS. What can I say, I could of used this book ten years ago. So don't be too late being really informed- the time to catch up is now. The fact she was once a Senior Policy Advisor for the US Dept. of Education- weighs alot on the books creditablity factor. It may be in the number FOUR slot- but to me it's NUMBER ONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The single best book ever on 'education' in AmeriKa, April 9, 2004
This review is from: the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail (Paperback)
(...)?
After reading Charlotte Iserbyt's book, I have to conclude that this was done on purpose. She provides all the documentation right in the book; all the secret reports, all the news articles that ran once and quickly disappeared, and virtually everything the authorities have desperately tried to keep from public view.
This book is exhaustively researched; Iserbyt makes no statements without providing the reference source material as proof. Once the reader starts to make the connections between all of these profusely cited documents and the demonization of 'home schooling' that is currently underway in our so-called FREE country, it will become apparent that this was all done on purpose with the intent of creating groupthink and to destroy individuality and self-reliance.
Anyone with young children needs to read this book BEFORE their children become of school age.
Also, I would give this book a realistic rating of 100 stars (out of 5). It is that good and that important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

the deliberate dumbing down of america - A Chronological Paper Trail: A Chronological Paper Trail
Used & New from: $65.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.