does it have to be updated?
asked by Valerie Victory on January 2, 2013
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 answers
A
I don't believe there is any updates. All it's doing is drawing info from the computer. So if the computer does not put out the information then you won't receive it. I've been using it for 3 years now. I love it and no issues at all. I've used on 6 different vehicle ranging from 2003-2008. Honda, gm, and ford. The only draw I know Is that for check engine lights it only gives the code number. No issue really just look it up haha. I mainly use the gauge for intake temp, water temp, throttle position, and battery voltage. Hope this helps..... Side note vehicle must be obd-II... Like 96 and up vehicles
Natedawg answered on January 2, 2013
Comment (1) | 1 of 1 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
It's worked great and I have not had to update it nor needed to. Get it, you'll love it! It's even sort of fun to customer program it, just read the manual, it's very easy!
MC1 answered on January 2, 2013
Comment | 1 of 1 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
There is nothing to update, It reads error codes when the appear, just numbers or codes. You can then look up the codes on the internet, most are universal on car that OBD ll, most from the last ten years. If you fix the problem and use the gauge to clear the error, the car will be good to go after a short time. The car computer has to go through a few cycles with no errors before it can be ready for passing smog. Most of the time I use it as a secondary set of gauges, nice to see your MPG as you go. So no updates and good until the cars change their input parameters, I hope that helps.
David W. Bailey answered on January 3, 2013
Comment | Do you find this helpful?  Yes No | Report abuse

A