Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: I don't want to choose: How middle school kids can avoid choosing one parent over the other
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 31, 2009
This book is a lifeline to children who may otherwise drown in a sea of self-important parents who put their own hate above their child's love. A better use for this book may be to get it into the hands of these children BEFORE the seas get rough. Parents need to read it too, because I would imagine most parents who harm their children this way have no clue regarding the impact their words have. I work with these types of families and found this book to be a great resource.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2009
As a targeted parent with 3 children under constant alienation pressure by their mother (AP), this is a great resource for me (or any parent) to help kids approach their ambivalence and fear. Even if only used by one parent, it allows that parent to help their kids see that they are loved, no matter what. A reference point for the kids to see that they are not at fault, and ways to help deal with their own feelings of confusion and loss.

If only the Family Court system had this much insight and reason.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
This is a pamphlet, not a book. It is seriously over priced. $2 would be more appropriate. Also the $3.95 mailing fee that had .90 postage in a small manilla envelope. It gives many short examples of Parental Alienation. And starts to promote a consciousness, but doesn't get there and fails to teach the skills a middle school aged child needs to deal with PA. I found this ineffective and a waste of money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2009
This book is strongly recommended for children/adolescents who are in the early or middle phases of parental alienation. It brings the subtle manipulations of an alienating parent to light in a language that is understandable and offers immediate techniques to empower the child who is trapped in the drama of a high conflict divorce.

Margarethe S. Smith, MFT
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
Purchased for my teen nieces after a particularly difficult and protracted divorce "battle" threw their world into a spin. Not only did they utilize them... the workbooks received rave reviews from their family counselor! (She called me to "source them", as she plans to use them in her practice.)

Definitely worth the price to help a beloved niece, nephew, or other burdened teen make his/her way through the various and difficult challenges faced by so very many of today's youth!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2009
This book is very friendly to pre-teens. I am most impressed by the way it identifies and defines feelings, relating them directly to common scenarios faced by kids whose parents are divorcing. If you are a divorcing parent, give this book to your kids. Read it with them and discuss how you can help them feel comfortable going between two homes.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
My only suggestion is to develop another version. This generation has children reading Harry Potter on their own by 2nd grade. A version for elementary students would be most helpful. Or, perhaps the middle school reference could be removed in the next printing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2012
I am a targeted parent (by a very effective manipulator and his equally effective coercive new wife -They are both literally teachers at the military intelligence school for human intelligence collections)and I got this for my son *hoping* that it would help him understand that he is loved and that being put in the middle is wrong, and of course that he doesn't have to choose. It seems pretty good, but a bit slanted. Although they swap when "mom" does blank I feel blank with when "dad" does blank I feel blank, it seems that it is still subtlety slanted toward Father's being victimized based on the "things" each parent are doing. Often when people think of PAS they think of mothers instigating it, but more and more they are finding that abusive men use it to gain custody away from already battered mothers. Really yucky stuff either way. The book is decent, I just wish it didn't passively (and again, very subtly) lean toward fathers.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2009
I am a "target parent" who lost his only daughter to PAS by a rogue Mom - in Family Court.
Having read mounds of literature about PAS, this is the first book I encountered that engages the child in the process of normalization between s/he and both parents.
Well thought, planned and executed.
Required reading for all Family Court Judges, Law Guardians and CPS Agency caseworkers.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2011
Easy reading. Great conversation started for the kids that are being put in the middle. Facilitated me to talk to the children without attacking the other parent. One of my daughter commented that it was like therapy on a book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.