Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


205 of 213 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read on selling on eBay!
"eBay income," by Cheryl Russell is unique among the hundreds of books on the subject, in that it takes the reader on a step by step journey through the process of learning how to sell on eBay, without overloading them with difficult to understand language that is so prevalent in other books on eBay selling.

The author manages to cover every imaginable aspect...
Published on June 22, 2006 by Expressed Reviews

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good info, but outdated
I actually like this book because it does exactly what is claimed, which is to describe methods for making money on ebay. However, the reason I say it is outdated is because, let's face it, all the easy money has already been made. As in anything, you need to be one of the front runners to realize the most potential. If you comparison shop on ebay you will see that the...
Published on May 25, 2008 by G - Men Fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

205 of 213 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read on selling on eBay!, June 22, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
"eBay income," by Cheryl Russell is unique among the hundreds of books on the subject, in that it takes the reader on a step by step journey through the process of learning how to sell on eBay, without overloading them with difficult to understand language that is so prevalent in other books on eBay selling.

The author manages to cover every imaginable aspect of selling on eBay and does so in a manner that actually makes the learning process fun. Russell also deserves kudos for writing a book about selling on eBay, without having any kind of hidden agenda, such as leading the reader to purchase additional books or enrolling in expensive seminars. I mention this, because I have read several books on the same subject matter and it seems that all too often, the authors main interest is in selling additional materials, such as seminars that cost thousands of dollars. Such is not the case with Cheryl Russell. She writes in a very straightforward style that is very easy to follow and understand. The book contains vital information for both the newcomer and the experienced eBay seller alike.

There are so many books published on how to become a successful eBay seller, with new ones being issued on a near daily basis. It is a pleasure to finally discover one that is heads and shoulders above the rest of the ones that I've read. This is not to say that "eBay income," is the only good book on the subject, but I can say that in my case it is the best book about eBay selling that I have read to date. It will certainly prove to be an excellent reference source for my eBay business and since each chapter contains a summary checklist at the end, it makes for a simple job of finding exactly what topic you may be looking for. This is definitely a 5+++ book on the Amazon rating scale and one that every eBay seller would benefit by having in their library of books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


153 of 158 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sound eBay Business Primer!, May 27, 2006
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
I am one of only 11 certified education specialists trained by eBay to teach new and experienced sellers how to succeed on eBay. There isn't a day goes by that one of my students or business consulting clients doesn't ask me if I can recommend a good book for serious sellers. At last I can finally say YES! eBay Income is "A sound business primer. It not only provides accurate and insightful information on how to sell on eBay, but it goes beyond that to include essential information and resources important for first time business owners. A must have for the serious eBay seller."

James Scurlock

Certified Education Specialist

Trained by eBay

Dean of Power Seller University, psunv.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do Yourself a Favor and Read This Book, February 8, 2007
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
Let me tell you why this book is important:

1. Listing fees on ebay can eat you alive if you don't pay attention.
2. Security risks are high on ebay,as its success has brought every low-life in the world into its realm.
3. If you want to make a bunch of money buying and selling goods, ebay is a place to do it.

That said, I believe this book provides as good of an overview of the ebay business as any.

You may also want to read "Think and Grow Rich" by Napoleon Hill and "The 17 Principles of Creating Wealth" by Phillip Collinsworth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the basic to the inspired, June 5, 2006
By 
DeAnna Knippling "Word Nerd" (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
Never been on eBay before but looking for a place to sell some treasures that you found at the second-hand shop? Put up a couple of auctions and wondering why they never sold? Trying to figure out how to maximize your profit in such a variable environment? Look no further! Russell's book covers everything from setting up a seller's account (and the different types thereof) to writing a business plan, marketing strategies, and success stories. The main point of the book is that, like any business, running an online eBay business required professionalism in all areas. What separates the eBay hobbyist from the profitable business owner is the willingness to plan ahead, account for income and expenses responsibly and legally, and to sell yourself at every opportunity. This book will show you how. After the first chapter (an introduction to eBay's mission and history), the book moves through the information you'll need to know through the process, and each chapter ends with a checklist of steps to complete before you move on to the next chapter. The book is clearly and entertainingly written, with lots of fun anecdotes showing you other eBay sellers and how they learned the hard way (so you don't have to). Although you may not be able to find exactly what you're looking for using just the chapter titles or section headings, I really would recommend that you read the entire book and complete the worksheets before moving on, anyway. I've recommended this book to a number of my personal friends and clients, and I definitely recommend it to anyone looking to increase profits and reduce hassles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good info, but outdated, May 25, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
I actually like this book because it does exactly what is claimed, which is to describe methods for making money on ebay. However, the reason I say it is outdated is because, let's face it, all the easy money has already been made. As in anything, you need to be one of the front runners to realize the most potential. If you comparison shop on ebay you will see that the competition is fierce, and that unless you are getting your salable items for next to nothing you will not make any real money.

Which brings me to point number two. The book talks of buying items at wholesale and selling on ebay at a profit. Realistically, most people cannot buy at wholesale unless they have a brick and mortar storefront and a verifiable tax id. There are many companies claiming to be wholesalers available to anyone but my research has shown that they are actually just middlemen. THEY get to buy at actual wholesale, and then they mark up the price to sell to you. So you will not get the items cheaply enough to sell at much of a profit.

This is not a negative review, just a realistic one. Yes, you can make some money on ebay using this book, but the big players have already made most of the money available. After factoring in your cash outlay to purchase items, ebay's fees, and the fees charged by PayPal, you may find - as I have - that it requires a lot of effort and time to make only a few dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eBay Basics & Beyond, December 20, 2006
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
Even though I own my own ecommerce business, I had no idea about the tax advantages of getting a resale license or becoming incorporated.

Even after I thought I was ready to begin auctioning, but Ebay Income showed me I needed to master some specific tactics before starting. These instructions saved me a lot of time that would have been wasted by helping me to understand several aspects of on-line marketing, such as search engine techniques.

Ebay Income is a book you can grow with. The "Checklist of Tasks" is absolutely invaluable to anyone wanting to establish a legitimate Ebay business. There are image-captured pictures of the actual website pages to help newcomers navigate through the auctioning process. More experienced Ebayers will want to know how to send customized emails or set up discounted shipping programs, and they'll definitely appreciate the tax info and instructions for [newly-weds] merging accounts.

I highly recommend Ebay Income to anyone who is thinking about internet marketing or wants to advance to the next step in their on-line business ventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay, January 2, 2007
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
Cheryl Russell has done it again with "eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay". This book will save the person that wants to sell on eBay both time and money. I wish that I had this book before I started selling on eBay. Cheryl lays out a very detailed plan on what you need to do and what you do not want to do for selling successfully on eBay. I would recommend this book to anyone (and to everyone) that is thinking about selling on eBay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A knowledgeable "reader friendly" grasp of just how to go about doing business on the eBay website, June 7, 2006
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
eBay Income: How Anyone Of Any Age, Location, And/Or Background Can Build A Highly Profitable Online Business With eBay by Cheryl L. Russell offers a knowledgeable "reader friendly" grasp of just how to go about doing business on the eBay website. Outlining in considerable detail the most tactful and profitable approach to making the most profitable and productive management approach to sales online through the auspices of eBay, readers are provided with a wealth of first hand, experienced-based, practical advice that can have those readers up and operating before the day is out. If you have something to sell or are looking for something to buy as part of your own online entrepreneurial venture utilizing the Internet's most popular do-it-yourself website for buying and selling, then eBay Income is especially recommended and essential reading for its profusion of precise, intelligible tips, overall ideas, and step-by-step instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helped me Alot, December 8, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
I am very overwhelmed by Ebay but interested at the same time.

This book helped me understand the big picture as well as walk through all the little steps to Buy and Sell.

I am by no means a power seller, however, as an infrequent seller, this helped me gain confidence to buy as well as sucessfully sell three items!

It gave me and understanding of what to do and not to do.

Worth my money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars eBay beginners, April 6, 2008
By 
Jen (Albany, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eBay Income: How Anyone of Any Age, Location, and/or Background Can Build a Highly Profitable Online Business with eBay (Paperback)
Great book for those who are serious about starting to sell on ebay with the hopes of attaining a successful income and business. This book brought up alot of good points and stresses the importance of starting it up as an official business, from the get go. I have not finished reading it yet, but it is a great resource for things to expect, easier ways of doing things, and also some of the problems and how to deal with them (or avoid them!).

For those who are already business savvy, this might be too "beginner level" for them. For me, it is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.