Customer Reviews


1,980 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,173)
4 star:
 (314)
3 star:
 (154)
2 star:
 (73)
1 star:
 (266)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great for the Galaxy Nexus
I ordered two to use with my Galaxy Nexus. At first, it took a minute for my phone to recognize the adapter. Now, it will instantly recognize everything connected to the adapter. I am able to power a lit keyboard and a mouse attached to an unpowered USB hub connected to the adapter without problems. Mounting a flash drive works great as well.
Be warned, using a...
Published on January 5, 2012 by Stephen Hayes

versus
306 of 319 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: some good and some bad versions from different sellers
===========
UPDATE #3 - AMAZON is lumping several sellers of this product with this single review thread. THAT IS A REALLY BAD IDEA because some sellers are shipping products that DO match the Amazon product photo and some are shipping inferior bad-fitting versions that DO NOT match the photo and either DO NOT WORK or just fit poorly and barely work. Since product...
Published on August 1, 2012 by Bob Carroll : Gooplusplus•com


‹ Previous | 1 2198 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

306 of 319 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: some good and some bad versions from different sellers, August 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
===========
UPDATE #3 - AMAZON is lumping several sellers of this product with this single review thread. THAT IS A REALLY BAD IDEA because some sellers are shipping products that DO match the Amazon product photo and some are shipping inferior bad-fitting versions that DO NOT match the photo and either DO NOT WORK or just fit poorly and barely work. Since product quality varies so much, to be useful, reviewers really should state their seller's username in reviews.
===========
UPDATE #4 - Great news - there is now a $2 Android app called Nexus Media Importer that lets you view/listen to your USB media files without "rooting" your Nexus 7 tablet. It works great. I have a short review with images at LasValley702 forums.
===========

First, the "only" good news - shipment from this seller "Crazy-Stores" from Hong Kong was quick. This one arrived several days ago and an identical one bought from a different Amazon seller "Warm Mart" ordered on the same day still has not arrived. I will note that the shape of and markings on the received micro-USB OTG adapter do NOT match the seller's Amazon product photo.

The micro-USB plug on this adapter will not make electrical contact with the Google Nexus 7 tablet because it will not insert fully into the N7's USB port (bad fit or poorly made, your choice). If I wedge something between a USB keyboard case I bought for the N7 and N7's USB port, the keyboard will work BUT constant pressure must be maintained or it will not. BTW, wedging something against the N7's USB port is just not a good idea and could eventually damage it. So, for me, this micro-USB OTG adapter is worthless.

As I said, the 2nd OTG adapter I bought from the other Amazon seller "Warm Mart" still has not arrived from Hong Kong. So, I bought a 3rd adapter from Ebay seller "itrimming". This one from Ebay fits snug and works perfectly with my Google N7 tablet.

If you have a Google N7 tablet, avoid this seller's adapter. (It "might" work fine on other devices.)

BTW, this adapter came in the mail with nothing but the adapter inside. There was no indication which Amazon seller had sent it so I had to email both of them to inquire if "Tom Tang" and the SKU-XXX belonged to them or to someone else. I don't think it is too much to ask that Amazon sellers at least mark their packages and/or contents with their seller name.

UPDATE #1: see my two user images at the top to see the difference between this Amazon purchased adapter (not compatible with the Google N7 tablet) and the one I bought on Ebay.

UPDATE #2: I received the 2nd Amazon purchased adapter (seller: Warm Mart) today. I notice that the seller names (1) Crazy-Stores and (2) Warm Mart from my order now seem to point a link to a new one "Digital Center". Both Amazon purchased adapters look identical (and not the same as the product photo). Both have a plug too long for the Google Nexus 7 tablet. Surprisingly, the 2nd one actually works anyway (at least for the moment) even though it sticks out from the N7 USB port way too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incorrectly sized connector fits loosely, August 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
I ordered two of these for 0.70 each. The micro USB connector is sized strangely, it's about twice as long as it should be, and the actually width of the connector is slightly smaller than typical. The effect is a very loose, wobbly connection. It does work, however, and for the price I paid I'm satisfied. The problem is that it's just not very secure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great for the Galaxy Nexus, January 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
I ordered two to use with my Galaxy Nexus. At first, it took a minute for my phone to recognize the adapter. Now, it will instantly recognize everything connected to the adapter. I am able to power a lit keyboard and a mouse attached to an unpowered USB hub connected to the adapter without problems. Mounting a flash drive works great as well.
Be warned, using a keyboard and mouse will drain battery life quickly and there isn't a way to charge while using the adapter.

For other Galaxy Nexus users: The phone doesn't have drivers included to natively mount USB storage devices. Download StickMount on the market if you have root access and mounting flash drives will be quick and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective product... qc needs to step it up, July 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
The male part that goes into micro usb did not go in all the way. I know its less than $2 but seriously..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NEXUS 7 USB TABLET KILLER USB adapter - DON'T DO IT!, September 10, 2012
By 
Roobah Fox "roobah" (Tooele, UT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
DO NOT INSERT DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT FOR YOUR NEXUS 7 TABLET UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!!! (READ and know that you have been warned.)

Also tried on my HTC EVO and it did power it, but causes unusual program anomalies (as soon as I plug it in, it starts the EVO Dashboard Program and unit Camera at the same time -- a good indication that the unit is probably shorting somewhere???)

Ordered 3 of these, price was cheap. 1 came obviously defective (connect teeth "hold in place" pins missing.) Next, tried all 3, connector end that goes into the Nexus 7 tablet is WAY too long for the device (at least it's not too short, that's a good thing? How about just right?) No connection made. 100% failure rate.

Even worse: After plugging this into My NEARLY BRAND NEW NEXUS 7 tablet that I love so much, it will no longer power up. WTF!!! $280 down the drain? I am SOOOOOO MAD RIGHT NOW!!!

So, summarize: 1 cable has obvious visual physical defect, and all 3 have electrical connect defect for the Google Nexus 7 Tablet. Sounds like I'm not the only one having problems with this product, especially on the Google Nexus 7 Tablet. Product less than $1 - is it really worth returning? Probably not.

Better to just do a review and share my experience and hopefully the sellers with defective products will just go away! Amazon should consider whether or not this seller can stay on the network if the products can't meet basic expectations. Providing the seller name in the title because Amazon is apparently (based on other reviews) combining reviews from a number of sellers for this item... THIS EXPERIENCE WAS NOT COOL AMAZON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply does not work, August 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
I ordered several of these from this seller and another. They were all the exact same cable. They do not work. The micro plug appears to be too long and it does not seat all the way. I tried with an HTC Flyer and a Nook Color, both do have host mode. Nothing would be recognized because the plug does not fit.
Too cheap to bother sending it back, but PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY.
DOES NOT WORK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Work for Kindle Fire/Keyboard, October 19, 2012
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
I bought this hoping that it would allow me to hook up a mini usb keyboard to my Kindle Fire. Sadly it did not work.

Also this ships from overseas and tasks awhile to get here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Android Users, March 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
One of the best thing you can use with android devices. Just plug any small capacity USB drive. I was not able to connect my 500gb portable drive with my Samsung Galaxy S3, but that may be too much to handle by the phone itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Micro USB, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
If I knew it would take 2 1/2 months to arrive --I would n't have bothered!! You should let people know it was coming by slow boat and 3 continents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter (Personal Computers)
It's been a mini USB not a micro. It is the wrong the cable. It took weeks for me to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2198 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

eForCity Micro USB OTG to USB 2.0 Adapter
$19.99 $1.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.