Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly, but....
This is a size adapter only. It adapts a set of stereo headphones with a 3.5mm mini plug to a device with a 2.5mm micro stereo receptacle. It would also work on a mono earplug + mike setup. (note the two black rings on the plug in the product photo) If that's what you're looking for then look no further. But be careful, if you own a cell phone that plays mp3's you...
Published on September 1, 2007 by Cool Breeze

versus
51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what was pictured
I didn't receive what I ordered. This item is pictured as a cord. I ordered three, and received three adapter plugs instead. So instead of the L-shaped plug sticking out from the phone jack only 1/4" like I wanted, the whole contraption sticks out 1 1/2" instead. That risks damage to my treo's jack with the slightest tug on the headphones. Unacceptable. I'm not messing...
Published on October 15, 2007 by Scott Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly, but...., September 1, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
This is a size adapter only. It adapts a set of stereo headphones with a 3.5mm mini plug to a device with a 2.5mm micro stereo receptacle. It would also work on a mono earplug + mike setup. (note the two black rings on the plug in the product photo) If that's what you're looking for then look no further. But be careful, if you own a cell phone that plays mp3's you probably need something else.

If you have stereo headphones with a mike, or a device with a stereo + microphone output (like many cell phones) this won't work. That type of plug has three rings, like this one - Samsung A880, A890, A900, A920, A940, A950, A970 OEM Stereo Adapter AETS43CSEB/STD. Which is for headphones only, mike function is disabled.

If you actually want to listen to music and be able to easily answer your phone you need something like this, LG Handfree Stereo Headset for the LG Chocolate and other compatible LG handsets, which is actually an adapter with a built in microphone and a seperate headset (if you don't like the headset you can use most stereo headsets with the adapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what was pictured, October 15, 2007
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
I didn't receive what I ordered. This item is pictured as a cord. I ordered three, and received three adapter plugs instead. So instead of the L-shaped plug sticking out from the phone jack only 1/4" like I wanted, the whole contraption sticks out 1 1/2" instead. That risks damage to my treo's jack with the slightest tug on the headphones. Unacceptable. I'm not messing with a return since the shipping costs more than the item, but... buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Headphone Adapter for Palm Centro, February 19, 2009
By 
boringk (Fayetteville, AR) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
I have a Palm Centro and use it as my MP3 player, as well as streaming internet radio. My headphones are the standard 3.5mm, and the headphone jack on the Centro is 2.5mm, so I needed an adapter. I bought this one and it works perfectly. Unlike the previous adapter I bought from Radio Shack for over $10, and i had to trim some of the rubber flashing around the tip for it to fit into my phone, and after a few months it had a short in it. This one is cheaper, and works better - I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only plays one side, not as pictured, June 22, 2009
By 
Larry (Cleveland, Oh) - See all my reviews
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
As stated by others, this only outputs sound on the right side of the headphones for some devices (on my LG Lotus LX600 cell phone). I would have faulted myself for this oversight for lack of research, but the Technical Details are misleading. It says a microphone will not work, but that it IS for audio/music output.

Also, the item is not a black cord with a right-angle connection. It is a white cord with a straight connection. Work on your descriptions guys. Tough to beat the prices, but it's pointless to return items due to shipping charges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Item Sent, July 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
I ordered what was pictured here. A 2.5mm TRS PLUG to a 3.5mm TRS SOCKET adapter.
Instead I received a 2.5mm to 3.5mm headset adapter which is configured as TRRS not TRS.
TRRS will NOT work in a TRS socket.

I really need what I purchased, not what you sent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cheap item. not happy with., September 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
bought for 99c. shipped for 5.00. seller will refund my money less shipping. i have to ship back on my own. slick seller. and item is not as it looks either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work Great, but NOT FOR CELL PHONES, March 30, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
Don't be ignorant as I was when buying this - this product is not for cell phones, which require a 2.5mm male with THREE rings, not two.

This adapter is for converting one-way stereo audio (TWO rings).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work with E71x, September 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
Well i bought this item quite som time ago and it arrived promptly without any hassles so 5 star to Efforcity. But when I plugin my earphones into my E71x I get only mono output. I don't know why is that, but my guess is Nokia E71x produces mono sound through the earphones jack and the compatible earphone doubles up the sound. I primarily needed the converter for listening music with my favorite earphones, but will have to look for something else now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly with Palm Centro and your favorite 'phones with a mini-headphone jack, June 14, 2009
By 
sageone (USA, Southeast) - See all my reviews
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
This adapter works beautifully with the Palm Centro smart phone and Ptunes. It adapts the tiny 2.5mm input of the Centro to the "traditional" and ubiquitous 3.5mm "mini-headphone" male jack. The only quibble I have, and it has not affected performance to this point, is that inserting the headphone jack into the adapter isn't as smooth as I would expect; it feels like you have to force it when I wouldn't expect that. Maybe with use it will get smoother, and if that's the case, maybe it's by design.

That's the only quibble: if you have a Centro and a favorite pair of headphones, earbuds, earphones, or in-ear monitors with "traditional" mini-headphone size plug, then this will connect 'em.

If you get a call while listening to Ptunes, the audio will stop automatically, the display changes automatically for you to see the caller ID and answer the phone, and the incoming call audio is directed automatically to the earphones. The speakerphone microphone automatically becomes activated also. So you speak to the caller via the speakerphone, while you hear the caller via your headphones. All auto-magically.

I ordered 2 of these on a Tuesday evening. I had a flight the following Tuesday morning, one week away, and the Monday prior was a holiday, so there'd be no mail that day. I received my order on Saturday prior to my trip, 4 days after my order, on the last possible day for me to be able to carry it with me on my trip.

Since these are really tiny, and in the rush of travel or just daily life could easily be misplaced and/or lost, I wish I'd ordered a few more given the flat-rate (but compared with the unit cost of the product, expensive) shipping. The only reason I didn't was my hesitancy due to my not being absolutely sure that this would do what I needed it to do (some reviews here that said it wasn't for cell phones or that they received a "barrel adapter" instead of the "flexible" adapter pictured). While I can't guarantee that your experience will be the same as mine, if you have a Palm Centro and need an adapter for your favorite headphones, order at least 4 of these to get the cost of product roughly equal to the shipping! And if you lose one you'll have plenty in reserve, or you could just stow them in places where you might need them, luggage, glove compartment of car, backpack, laptop bag, briefcase, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless junk - doesn't work with Palm Centro, October 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: eforCity COTHXXXXAD01 Universal Headphone Adapter 2.5mm to 3.5mm (Electronics)
The title just about covers it. If you have a Palm phone, don't buy this adapter. It doesn't really work (there is sound, in both ears, but for some unfathomable reason the sound quality is absolutely abysmal). Of course, you can't return it - it's not worth the shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.