Customer Discussions > Best Books forum

Best book you ever got as a gift?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 30, 2012 11:14:49 AM PST
Mari Malcolm says:
What's the best book anyone ever gave you as a gift--and why did you love getting it?

In my living room bookshelves, I still have all the picture books my librarian aunt gave me when I was a kid--autographed by the author and often the illustrator, with a special note from my aunt and uncle about why they thought I would love the story. It was one of their traditions to give each of us kids a beautiful book at Christmas. It made us feel very special, and we probably read each of them more than a hundred times!

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 1, 2012 1:11:44 PM PST
In 2010, I had just undergone surgery for a severely broken ankle and was in the hospital. The owners of a small independent bookstore visited me in the hospital and brought with the a copy of Audrey Niffengger's then-new novel, Her Fearful Symmetry. I had always professed to dislike stories that have any fantasy within them. But this book changed my mind. The storyline held me from the first to the last paragraph. After I finished reading the book, I wanted to know more about the ending. It was a wonderful gift that I shall not forget.

Posted on Dec 4, 2012 5:39:17 AM PST
Tyler says:
I got the first Harry Potter Book for Christmas ~10 years ago.

Posted on Dec 4, 2012 8:00:36 AM PST
Diane says: