Customer Discussions > Children's Books forum

Ways to Get Kids Into Writing

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 26-38 of 38 posts in this discussion
Posted on Apr 10, 2012 8:55:29 AM PDT
Dan Cuoco says:
As a teacher and writer, I have a passion for getting kids hooked on writing (and reading.) I've found that many times, all it takes is getting a kid hooked on one genre of writing. In fact, many of my boys end up LOVING poetry...I share some different poems with them that would interest them (look up "creepy pizza"...that always gets them going). It also helps to use different formats to help them be successful (look up diamonte format for elementary students.) Some of my kids love writing narratives that include them, their friends, and sometimes...their teacher! Once students get hooked on a format, I can take two approaches in class for prompt writing. Prompts can be a useful tool, but often I either give students the topic and allow them to write whatever genre they want that we've studied, or give them the format and allow them to generate the topics. This makes it more interesting for kids and gives them ownership in their work.

Sometimes games can be interesting...have the whole class/small groups write a story by rotating who writes the next sentence. Some kids write me a weekly prompt that asks me to add to it at the end and they pick up where I left off the next week. As I said...as a teacher, first get them to LOVE writing...it doesn't have to be great at first. But once you get them to love expressing themselves, you can work on the format, grammar, etc...and they'll be more receptive to feedback.