Customer Discussions > Children's Books forum

Looking for good books for kids in kindergarten/ 1st grade level

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 30 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 8, 2012 1:33:46 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 8, 2012 1:35:31 PM PDT
sandy.morgan says:
Hello!

I am a first grade teacher and I am always looking for good books to give to my kids to read! I am looking for books that are inspirational...to help show kids how to deal with certain situations.

There are a few books I recently purchased that were great! I will share them below. Please feel free to share the books that your kids love as well!

http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/i-want-to-do-what-you-do-mr./id475846500?mt=11
( I got this book for my ipad but it is available on the kindle as well. Here is the link: http://www.amazon.com/Want-What-You-Kangaroo-ebook/dp/B0085DGJ36/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1339183183&sr=8-1)

You Are Special (Max Lucado's Wemmicks)

The Oak Inside the Acorn

Posted on Jun 8, 2012 6:20:54 PM PDT
merrystar says:
My first grader adored the Hopscotch Hill School books by Valerie Tripp I thought they were excellent as "how to deal with" books. The one on teasing was particularly good.

He also loves anything Berenstain Bears. The chapter books are not quite as "lesson-y" as the picture books, but he loves them.

Posted on Jun 8, 2012 6:47:55 PM PDT
Ms. P. says:
Here are a few of my favorite read-alouds for first through fourth graders. :)

Ruby The Copycat (Scholastic Bookshelf: Being Yourself)

A Bad Case of Stripes

Stand Tall, Molly Lou Melon

Thank You, Mr. Falker

Welcome Comfort

Owl Moon

The Little House

My Brother Martin: A Sister Remembers Growing Up with the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

Giraffes Can't Dance (Magnet Book)

Tacky the Penguin (Tacky Book)

Hooway for Wodney Wat

My Rotten Redheaded Older Brother (Aladdin Picture Books)

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 9, 2012 1:24:26 PM PDT
tinaffan says: