Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Ty Dolla Sign egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Martha Stewart American Made Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on Tikes
Customer Discussions > Classical Music forum

Dark Classical Music

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 64 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 21, 2009 11:05:45 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 21, 2009 11:08:15 PM PDT
So I'm not very experienced when it comes to listening to classical music (although I have been a musician for about ten years and have played a lot of classical music, as well as blues, jazz, rock, and metal). What I'd really like to find is some dark, mysterious, haunting classical music (hopefully that hasn't been played to death in modern culture), and if any of the experts around here could help point me in the right direction, I'd really appreciate it. It doesn't matter TOO much what time period it's from, although I am interested in the older classical music from centuries past. Anybody have recommendations?

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 21, 2009 11:15:56 PM PDT
Fear not. Dark is the new light. Just like gray is the new black, etc...

Frankenstein dark: Vierne - organ sonatas: Vierne: Organ Symphonies Complete
Serial killer dark: Gloria Coates - string quartets: Gloria Coates: String Quartets Nos. 1, 5, 6, Gloria Coates: String Quartets Nos. 2, 3, 4, 7 & 8

Posted on Jul 21, 2009 11:39:04 PM PDT
alaskan glam-metal-head,

You've come to the right place. We can help. Teh good news is that not much of any classical music is played to death anymore in the popular culture, especially the deep dark symphonies and concertos from the 19th and 20th centuries.