Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Learn more
Customer Discussions > Classical Music forum

Why Are You Or Are You Still Buying CDs?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 167 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 8, 2012 2:09:56 PM PST
Dmitri says:
I am just a diehard lover of the format and am too LAZY to switch to downloading.

Your excuse?

Posted on Mar 8, 2012 2:21:21 PM PST
Downloads are too expensive, and the thought of having to constantly keep a large collection backed up properly is rather off-putting.

Bill

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 8, 2012 2:23:24 PM PST
K. Beazley says:
Dmitri,

At my age (57), & the fact that I've been collecting CD's since 1983, means I have an enormous physical & emotional investment (not to mention financial) in my collection. Not only that, but I can see the day when I say, "Enough", & buy no more. It gets to the stage where you find a new forgotten composer, & it's got to be really good to stand out from what I already have & demand that I buy it.

To me downloading doesn't seem to have the permanency of the disc, unless I go to the trouble of burning it onto disc for keeping, or buying an i-pod or some other such device. With CD's I don't have to download the booklet, & I have something real & solid in my hands & on my shelves. I suppose it's the same reason I still buy books instead of getting a Kindle.

Perhaps I'm just getting older & set in my ways, but you know what? That's actually one of the pleasures you have as you age, that you're free to be retro! To heck with what the world thinks!.....

Kim.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 8, 2012 2:26:12 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 8, 2012 2:27:49 PM PST
K. Beazley says:
Bill,