Customer Discussions > Cooking forum

Thanksgiving Turkey help!

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 113 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 17, 2008 4:35:30 AM PST
Nanciejeanne says:
I only make a whole turkey on Thanksgiving, so I am not that experienced with it. I do defrost and handle correctly (like bleach the surfaces it touched) but mine is never great. It is good, but not as juicy as I would like. We get a free Butterball each year (usually 18-20 lbs) so suggestions such as "get free range" or "get a fresh one" or "brine it", won't really work in my situation.

The last few years, I have switched to using cooking bags which have seemed to improve it (and the cleanup) but the legs seem to always overcook before the rest is done. Should I tie/truss it? (I usually don't). I don't stuff the cavities with stuffing, only halved lemon and celery. Is 10 minutes per pound correct?

I do have a thermometer, but it doesn't seem to read a consistent temp. It is one that you put in and the little "reader" sits on the counter. But sometimes it will register as done, but you can smell that it isn't. Then the temp will drop. Is this just some liquid stuck on the probe or something?

So any help you can give me to make a better frozen Turkey (and keep the legs from drying out) would be great!

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 17, 2008 6:11:59 AM PST
Via B. says:
I apologize in advance for likely not being very helpful.