Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Beach House $5 Off Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Shop Popular Services pivdl pivdl pivdl  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Big Savings in the Amazon Fall Sportsman Event Baby Sale
Customer Discussions > Cooking forum

Beginning Pickling- Need Suggestions

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-21 of 21 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 31, 2011 3:29:09 PM PST
M.J. says:
Hello! I really want to take a stab at pickling, but really, JUST cucumbers.... don't care about okra, corn, apples, etc- just different cucumbers, and I guess, other squash.

I am a beginner- what's the best book for this? The Ball book looks great for a very versatile selection of options, but really, I'm thinking simple, common stuff right now- Suggestions?!? Thanks in advance!

Mike

Posted on Dec 31, 2011 8:41:57 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 31, 2011 8:42:47 PM PST
ace™ says:
hi mike!

most pickling books contain much more than cucs for pickling, so i'm not sure you will find something for just cucs. other squashes? i don't know. soft ones like zucchini wouldn't pickle so well and i've never really heard of pickling the harder ones like acorn and the like.

but... i started a thread a while back about pickled and fermented veggies (like sauerkraut and kimchee) but also added a post about my claussen pickle clone (if you have had the refrigerated claussens, you know that they are VERY crisp and tasty) so, here's my recipe:

CLAUSSEN'S CLONE

You will need a one gallon jar... or you can modify to make as many quarts as you like...

For one gallon, you will need:
1 cup pickling salt
2 T pickling spice
3 cloves garlic, halved
1 T black peppercorns
2 or more heads fresh dill, or, if not available, about 2 T dill seed
about 2 cups white vinegar