Customer Discussions > Arts & Crafts forum

beginner sewing machine

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 8, 2008 8:48:52 AM PST
I want to buy a sewing machine but, as a beginner, I'm clueless about where to start. What's a good basic, not too expensive, reliable model? Thanks!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 10, 2008 6:32:37 AM PDT
peace says:
Depends on how much you want to spend. Is there a Costco or Sams club near you. They sometimes carry sewing machines at good prices. But since you're a beginner, I would recommend going to a local fabric store/sewing machine store to actually try out the machines first.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 11, 2008 6:39:28 AM PDT
Sylvia says:
I would recommend going to a local dealer to try machines and discuss classes. Most dealers have machines for sale in a large range of pricing. The class will sometimes be included with a sale. And this is the one thing Costco and Sams
cannot give you. Good luck.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 31, 2008 12:40:42 PM PDT
I'd was in the same situation too. But a friend gave me her old machine when she got a new one. However, my stratagy was to take some sewing lessons to see what directions I wanted to go. Also some sewing places rent machines by the week. A great way to try out a machine. The place near me on Long Island rents a sewing machine for $25 a week. Call around and see if there's a deal like that or classes. Good luck.

In reply to an earlier post on May 20, 2008 11:42:16 AM PDT