Customer Discussions > Fantasy forum

Authors-read before posting

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-22 of 22 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 25, 2012 2:51:05 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 25, 2012 6:56:23 AM PST
Brian says:
Do not post about your book in this, or any other discussion forum. You're only going to hurt your chances of making a sale. The posters know one another and will boycot your work.
I'm a writer as well (probably a fact known by those who've seen my posts), and NEVER ONCE have mentioned the name of my work, or even my own name, for that matter. The reason is simple...I don't want to piss off the people who may have an influence on my sales.
But, good news! You can take part in the discussions, adding your own opinions and comments. You can even say that you're a writer. They don't mind, as long as you are a partisipant and not a spammer. And you won't be the only writer here. In fact, I enjoy, from time to time, taking part in threads that interest me.
PLEASE, take this advise. There are better sites to promote yourself....better ways all together, for that matter. A facebook page will get you more sales than posting here. Or, here's an idea-save up about $2000-$5000, and hire an agency to promote your work. This is what the King's, Rowling's, and Riordan's of the world do (though on a larger scale). The return is generally very good as long as you research, and pick a good agency. But, as Seth McFarlane said, "I digest".
I hate to see a new author do things that will hurt their chances...so you really should pay attention to what I've written.

Posted on Nov 25, 2012 6:01:11 AM PST
Couldn't agree more!

Posted on Nov 25, 2012 6:19:22 AM PST
Too right.

Posted on Nov 25, 2012 8:34:41 AM PST
some you can do it you are an author: