I wish I could read a book in French

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 30 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 25, 2010 12:29:05 PM PDT
Spork says:
but my French is not good enough.

Posted on Jun 25, 2010 7:29:23 PM PDT
Jane Doe says:
You eventually will. I have been studying French for only about two years, but I was able to read Le Petit Prince in the original French, with a dictionary at my side of course. I had already seen the movie, and I was able to get the bulk of it. After looking up many words repeatedly that I had not previously known, I was able to learn a lot of new vocabulary also. Le Petit Prince is pretty easy to read, so you should start out with that one and work your way up. If you do not get all of it the first time you read it, just reread it.

Posted on Jun 27, 2010 7:19:08 PM PDT
CaroB says:
On a simpler note, try reading young children's books that are easy to read. Such as books on T'choupi where not only are the words simple but there are visual aids to help along in the book. There is also petit ours brun and
La chenille qui fait des trous (The hungry caterpillar). good luck!

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 11, 2010 9:44:22 AM PDT
Search "French reader" on Amazon for a lot of books with French readings for beginners, or search it on Google to get a lot of free downloads for that.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 11, 2010 2:43:22 PM PDT
Why don't you get a bilingual edition?

Posted on Jul 14, 2010 12:22:41 PM PDT
Alekos says:
I always figger if I can do it anyone can do it. I have read several serious books in French and so can you. Just get to it. Gett hopping. With a pencil and a dictionary, maybe.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 15, 2010 8:39:15 PM PDT