Customer Discussions > Graphic Novel forum

New to Marvel universe. Need suggestions.

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 23, 2012 2:36:54 PM PDT
Luvlee says:
I'm kind of new to the Marvel universe. I've decided to start reading some of the stuff because I love the Avengers phase one set of movies. I have Captain America Winter Soldier and Black Widow Deadly Origin. What other titles would you guys suggest.

Doesn't have to all be related to the Avengers can be any other Marvel universe character.

Posted on Jul 23, 2012 7:56:30 PM PDT
Esgaldil says:
The Ultimates is a retelling of the Avengers story that requires no previous experience with comics. The movie actually takes a lot from The Ultimates - the look and role of Iron Man, Nick Fury, Black Widow, and Hawkeye, for example. It's got much more sex and violence and politics than most regular Marvel titles, and it's certainly not for everyone.

A different connection to Avengers is Joss Whedon, the director of the movie (and creator of TV shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly, and Dollhouse). He wrote a very fine run of Astonishing X-Men, collected in an Omnibus or as a set of four trades (just search for Whedon X-Men). If you've seen the X-Men movies (whether or not you liked them) you probably have enough backstory to jump in, although that series does refer back to many older stories, especially the Claremont and Morrison runs, which are worth reading for their own sake.

Posted on Jul 24, 2012 3:32:41 AM PDT
I second the Ultimates and also check out Ultimate Spiderman and Ultimate X-Men. With other Marvel comics there's a lot of history involved and it can get very tiring very quickly. Astonishing X-Men by Joss Whedon is in omnibus format and a definite pick. Classic Deadpool is good fun and they have 6 volumes out now in tpb.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 24, 2012 5:23:34 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 24, 2012 6:44:12 AM PDT