Customer Discussions > History forum

Lincoln (the movie)

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-21 of 21 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 28, 2012 8:14:57 AM PST
IGS says:
Has anyone seen this movie? What are your thoughts on it? Dramatically? Historical accuracy?

Posted on Nov 28, 2012 8:33:19 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 28, 2012 8:35:48 AM PST
Debunker says:
Hopefully you'll get some good feedback on the movie, but you can also expect a couple of knuckleheads to pop in with their absurd accusations of "tyrant" and "dictator".

Posted on Nov 28, 2012 9:06:53 AM PST
Palladin55 says:
I've seen the movie. Dramatically, very good. Daniel Day Lewis is great in the role. Historical accuracy? I'll leave to the history buffs on the thread.

Posted on Nov 29, 2012 11:14:44 AM PST
W.T. says:
I'm not a Lincoln expert, but it seemed to be generally accurate, though I'm not sure Mary Todd Lincoln was exactly portrayed just right. The cast did a really good job. Day-Lewis will probably win best actor.

Something about the design of the movie bothered me a bit. Rather than gritty "realism", the look of the film has a sot of ethereal quality to it. Something about the contrast, maybe. The figures are accentuated and pop out from their surroundings. I wonder what the film was shot with? Digital or film?

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 10, 2012 12:04:19 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 10, 2012 12:32:55 PM PST
bloomsday says:
Kodak film was specifically credited. The color timers were credited too...those are the visually ultra-perceptive people who adjust color to match appropriately from scene to scene and for final prints. I think Technicolor Labs was involved but the film was shot on color negative film, not in the now abandoned Technicolor process.