Customer Discussions > Home Improvement forum

Sanding Hardwood Floors

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 29 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 11, 2007 4:34:20 PM PDT
Jason Ross says:
The fir floors in my 1903 house need sanding and refinishing. I've never done this type of project before, but I don't want to shell out $5000 to have the work done. What tools do I need? What's the best sander to buy?

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 15, 2007 10:38:10 AM PDT
Don't buy one at all-- rent the Varathane unit instead. I did three rooms of oak a couple of years ago with it and was much impressed. It controls dust well, is relatively speedy, and avoided the problems inexperienced operators have with drum-style floor sanders. Our 1950s floors even had linoleum or carpet glued down in some rooms but this unit did a fine job after scraping.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 16, 2007 12:56:22 PM PDT
Jason Ross says:
Thanks for the advice. And what about finishing the floors? I've heard some of the finishes are pretty toxic.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 30, 2007 4:36:03 AM PDT
OldAmazonian says:
You're darn right some of them are toxic. Few bother to read the weasel-worded lawyer blurbs on the product labels, but they universally understate the toxicity of finishing products. Powered ventilation with outside air is essential while sanding, applying chemicals and during the first few days or even weeks of drying for both filler and finish application. It's best done in dry temperate weather. That may make October inadvisable depending on your location.
Green Guy is absolutely right about drum sanders and edgers. Using them properly requires some skill beyond common sense, and rental firms sometimes rent out machines with obvious mechanical defects like stripped retainer threads and severly worn backing pads that can irretrievably ruin expensive flooring or make the job far more time-consuming than it ought to be..