Customer Discussions > Kindle Book forum

Bad reviews are good for authors!

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 82 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 13, 2012 12:10:47 PM PST
LH Thomson says:
We all need a little more humility -- lord knows I do, anyway -- and if you read popular eBook authors right now like Joe Konrath and John Locke, one thing they all seem to agree is that bad reviews tell them more than mediocre ones.

If someone doesn't like something, it gets them a chance to actually interact with their readers and find out why.

It might be groundless, or just a matter of taste, but it could also be something that improves the next book, like pointing out odd turn-of-phrase or plot holes.

So do you skip the bad reviews and only leave good ones, thinking that's what authors would like to see?

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 13, 2012 12:26:29 PM PST
L.H. I don't write many reviews because I am not very good at it. But I think the most important thing is to write honest reviews.

I really think the reviews should be for other readers anyway. I would feel a bit er.. funny... thinking I was writing a review for the author. But if the author gets something helpful out of it, all the better.

Posted on Feb 13, 2012 12:29:36 PM PST
Iola says:
No - I review based on how I found the book, what I liked and disliked, and what I know other people (readers) might like or dislike about the book. I (now) give very few 5-stars, a lot of 4-stars, some 3-stars, 2-stars to those books I finished but didn't like, and 1-star to the DNFs.